We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”
Review of Villa La Mirabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa La Mirabella
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

How rare it is to have such an amazing experience, we loved everything about our stay. In a great location on the lake and the building is elegantly perfect. I could go on but I fear I would be writing all day. All I need say is I wholeheartedly recommend Villa La Mirabella and we will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Has to be overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    25
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
199
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Chose Albergo La Mirabella as main hotel for our family Nov 2013. Visited in April 2014 to confirm bookings as our daughter's wedding was planned for 27 June 2014 in Church of Ascension Cadenabbia. We could not have chosen a better hotel on the lake shore with breathtaking views. Hotel itself beautifully furnished in perfect Italian traditional design.Hotel gardens speak for themselves ; meticilously maintained landscaped terraced gardens with swimming pool. Everyplace inside & outside speaks of the excellent maintainance & quality of care given by this amazing family circle. One felt you were a treasured guest while staying there. Paolo is par excellence, always there, willing to deliver quality service with such grace & style; from service of early morning breakfasts to late night dinner. As a family staying before & after wedding it was a delight & suited each of my families needs.For once in my lifetime everything was perfect & not a grumble from any member of family. We were valued guests& treated as such. Family dinner x14 served the night before wedding was superb; menu selected with Paolos guidance was delicious, delightfully & professionally served. Dining Room & table set the scene for a truely enjoyable meal. Paolo had ordered specific wine on my request & served @ correct temperature. Nothing was too much for him & everybodies needs satisfied. That is not always easy to deliver. Day of wedding Paolos attention & efficiency was constant. An air of peace & calm reigned throughout. Dawn & John were welcomed back to their suite on wedding night to chilled champagne.!! How delightful, thoughtful & generous. Sadly Sunday arrived too quickly for us all & we were all bound in different directions. Our stay there @ La Mirabella was an oasis of peace calm & magical memories to cherish. Thanks to Paolo & family. You deliver the best & I hope you reap your just rewards with a well deserved & thriving family business. Would I go back of course I would in the morning.

Room Tip: Lake view / garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Driving down the lakeside from Sorico to Como you can see many villas and hotels lined up on the road. Plentyto a really nice hotel.
Apart from perfectly furnished rooms you have a swimming pool and a terrace just above the lake shore. In summer it will be quite hot our there unless the two huge umbrellas will be accompanied by a few more to give more shadow than at the time I have been there.
The rooms are not really cheap but within the range of the competing hotels nearby.
Should you choose to stay in the Villa la Mirabella you must pay a visit to the Villa Carlotta just 250m further down the road. A real ocean of flowers - at least in the spring when I have been there. You can spare the restaurant of the Villa Carlotta - there are many more and better ones near by.
Planning a family get together for a wedding or birthday party - the Villa la Mirabella is the place to be. There is a nice winter garden for the buffet and as I mentioned the huge terrace.
Just a few meters north - opposite of the ferry landing there is an Anglican church - one of 4 in Italy. Early tourists from England fleeing the fog of London built it and a priest from Australia is today taking care of the 7 members of the church - I believe this is a perfect job to have.
If you are looking for good English paper backs - in the church you will find a huge variety at 1 Euro/pc. - guess who brought all these books to Italy?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our five night experience at Villa La Mirabella was one of the highlights of our Italian holiday. The villa was everything we hoped for in this beautiful part of the world. The entire villa was immaculate, our room was beautifully furnished with breathtaking postcard views from the balcony. Our breakfast was a perfect start to the day, and the intimate evening meal was superb. Paolo is a warm and generous host and made sure our stay in Lake Como was memorable. It's the little things that make a big impression and we will be back one day! This truly is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanddeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from 6 nights at Villa La Mirabella on Lake Como. We had a fantastic time.
Paolo & his family, who run this hotel take great pride in everything & it shows. The hotel is immaculately clean, the rooms are really good, views to die for, lovely garden & really excellent food.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APHCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

When we first researched going to Cadenabbia on Lake Como and looked at the reviews for Villa La Mirabella we were rather sceptical that this Albergo should get so many excellent reviews. . however after talking to and emailing Paolo we booked to stay here.
From the first evening we understood why all the good reports were so good.
The family work so efficiently to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Everything is done so peacefully it is like second nature to them.
Seeing our room, No 11 for the first time was wonderful, a view of the lake a balcony, a King Size bed, a full size bath and with antique styled furnishings in keeping with the overall glamour and authenticity of a villa built in 1860.
Any traffic noise was completely cut out by closing the double glazing and using the AC
The whole villa has been tastefully renovated to a very high standard to give the guests high quality accommodation with all modern facilities. Our room was spacious and the cleaning and supply of toiletries was of a good quality. WiFi worked most of the time in the room, on a few occasions when the weather interrupted the quality of the signal, communication was always then available in the lounge.
Because of a tiring journey on the night of arrival we ate in the villa’s Dining Room. And then the next evening as we found the food so tasty and well prepared In fact we ate in every night.
The breaded veal was the best I had ever tasted and the chicken cooked in a wild mushroom sauce was divine. My favourite desert was the ice cream coated in meringue. All the starters were excellent but the ravioli filled with ricotta and sage was the best pasta ever. We also had Perch from the lake,, thin fillets cooked in breadcrumbs with cauliflower cheese. Again very tasty We are very particular about our food and we found every meal perfect. And what a beautiful view over the lake to Bellagio from both dining areas.
Sweet breakfast was served in the conservatory with a good choice of fruit juices and hot drinks,, the home made croissants with white peach preserve were irresistible. There was a wide choice of breads and crisp breads,Panatone, rice cakes,together with a variety of spreads.Also cheese, ham, and yougurt. Certainly much more than enough to last most of the day.
The hotel is conveniently placed for many attractions, the local villages of Bellagio and Menaggio and beautiful Griante just a half mile away. The Villa Carlotta 200 metres away and the Villa Balbianello easily visited by boat.The latter has a large disount for National Trust members
Paolo was very helpful and informative and recommended some excellent walks for us. Public transport in the form of boats and buses are close by so you can if you wish leave your car at the villa. We travelled by public transport to and from Malpensa Airport and found the services very efficient. All time tables were available on line.
Although we have only been home a few days we are already planning another visit to Lake Como and obviously staying at La Mirabella

Room Tip: A Lake facing room,, but with such a lovely garden and surroundings it's not essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently had the pleasure to stay at Villa La Mirabella on Lake Como. Everything about it was perfect. Paulo is the consummate host...friendly, knowledgable, helpful. This is a true family affair, and the passion they feel for this great inn is very clear. The villa has been beautifully restored and decorated. The food is wonderful, with Paulo's father, a professional chef, manning the kitchen. The views from the villa are incredible, and it is conveniently located within walking distance to the car ferry, and the passenger ferry that stops in all of the towns along the lake. There is no better place to stay during a visit to Lake Como, and we hope to be back!

Room Tip: We loved the La Mirabella suite, located on the second floor with a beautiful view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,047 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,931 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Mirabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Mirabella

Property: Villa La Mirabella
Address: Via Regina 13, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa La Mirabella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Mirabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Mirabella Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Villa La Mirabella Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing