We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this.”

La Cucina della Marianna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$60
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
worcestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The great strength of Ristorante La Marianna is its brilliant host and chef,Tiziano. The setting is beautiful, right on the shore of Lake Como, with meals outdoors on the terrace in good weather, and the staff are friendly and helpful. But it is Tiziano with his imagination, inspiration and industry who makes this a restaurant like few others. Don't expect a choice from a dozen pasta dishes; Ty will explain to you with mock regret that "This is a non-democratic menu - you can eat anything you like, as long as it's what I give you." Don't be put off - what Tiziano gives you are the very best of local ingredients, beautifully crafted into the most imaginative interpretations of traditional dishes. Nothing is ever the same twice - Ty will blame this on 'unreliable suppliers'. But it's much more to do with his inexhaustible imagination and incredible knowledge of just about everything there is to know about food. Each evening (closed Monday) there is a different themed menu: the lake, the countryside, the garden, Grandma's kitchen . . . Ingredients and dishes change as the seasons change. Each course, every dish, is an experience. Some are simple and instantly recognisable - but perfectly prepared and presented - others are so subtle and unexpected, you just think "How did he do that ?" (And if you ask him, Ty will take pride and pleasure in telling you: he wants his customers to love their food as much as he does - and he speaks at least four languages.). Did we mention wine ? Ty must be the terror of the local wine merchants, with his relentless search for exactly the right selection at the most reasonable price. Again, just ask - he will offer you the best wines to complement your meal, without any expectation that you should buy the most expensive from the list. Our best advice is - Don't be put off by the unusual format of the menu, just let Tiziano guide you through it. Try everything. Go back again. And again ! Every night !! The best way to do this, by the way, is to stay in the lovely little B&B above the restaurant, run by Ty's wife Paola, who must be the kindest, gentlest, most helpful hotel manager in the world.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandaWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    39
    4
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menaggio, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A touch of class!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I try to come here at least 3 or 4 times a year. It is, in my opinion the best restaurant on the shores of Lake Como. Every day of the week there is a different set menu, which changes according to the season. All products are sourced locally and Ty, the chef knows exactly what he's doing in the kitchen. Ty also likes to bring some of the dishes to the table and offers some friendly talk to his guests, which is a beautiful, caring touch to a fantastic meal.

The set menu, isn't cheap; but, for 4 courses of pure delight, with and aperitivo beforehand, you are left feeling satisfied; but, not over full.

Great for families, even better for romatic dinners on the terrace in inside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcugnano, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“one of the best meals of my life”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I first discovered this location upon the recommendation of a friend, in 2008. Since having returned four times, it has become somewhat of a tradition. There is simply no other place to experience gourmet & fine dining in all of Italy, or if there is, I have yet to find it.

The most recent experience lived up to and even exceeded my expectations, of which normally I try not to have. This particular visit was for the epic meal of la notte di San Silvestro, which for 80€, seemed a low price to pay for the quality of the entire evening's experience.

Greeted at 8:30pm, after coming downstairs (we are staying at the same albergo) we are immediately offered prosecco and aperitivo. No ordinary snacks, but miniature quiches and home-made crisps bursting with flavor.

Dinner begins at 9:00, water and amazing selection of wine presented according to the set menu. Different tastes at the table were accommodated without issue, and everyone's unique pallet satisfied.

For a total of seven courses, all locally sourced, and painstakingly planed from the best menus of the previous year, prepared by the expert resident chef and owner Tiziano, there was no disappointment. Each and every plate over the course of 4 hours, with a break to ring in the new year with fireworks over the lake and champagne, tastes and emotions not available to be experienced elsewhere.

Attention to detail, quality over quantity, uniqueness of every item a total surprise to sight, taste, touch, and smell. Nothing lacking, left only with the desire for the experience not to end.

However in the end, totally satisfied, completely full, warm goodbyes, and best wishes for the new year, we hope and eagerly anticipate to return and experience again Cucina della Marianna.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aguamaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local dishes served in an amazing location”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It was a quiet night in October when we visited La Cucina and so we couldn't take advantage of the amazing terrace on the lake. Inside it's very cosy and we were greeted by the chef who explained that there was no real menu choice as it's a set menu themed for each day. As it was a Friday, the menu was fish based and called the Lake Menu. What you could choose was the amount of dishes in your meal. I chose entree, pasta and main and my wife had entree, pasta and dessert. They do have a separate children's menu of 3 courses (pasta, main, dessert).

We were given a free welcome drink (a little sparkling dry wine) and an amuse-bouche called a 'fennel creme caramel' which was savoury and delicious. The three courses were inventive and used local produce such locally grown stuffed onion and pasta missoltino with broccoli. The main course was a fish cassouela using locally caught shad, tench made into sausage and eel. This was quite incredible, the flavours intense and the fish texture delicate in a rich thick broth of vegetables with pieces of polenta to soak it all up.

Wines seem well chosen and the white and the red we tried were both in good condition and complemented the food and there was plenty of variety both in styles and in price but overall I would say the prices are very good value

This isn't fancy by any means but it felt authentic and well judged and the cooking was very good. Service is friendly and delivered with humour and interest in how you're enjoying things. If there was anything I would question it would be the value of the full menu at €50, it just seemed a touch too much but really it's a minor thing compared to the overall experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheQuaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Beautiful food, locally sourced, perfectly prepared and a divine setting. It was everything I was looking for. And, the menu (there is only once set menu per day) made the experience even better as you don't have to pour over menus or have the hassle of choosing. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and the chef was charming and obviously loved the food he created. The whole experience was just wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cucina della Marianna also viewed

Tremezzina, Lake Como
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 
Cadenabbia di Griante, Lake Como
Cadenabbia di Griante, Lake Como
 

Been to La Cucina della Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing