We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Britannia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Allington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Britannia”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel over the Christmas period. I was a little concerned as to what to expect after reading the comments for the hotel. My own views are: The hotel situation, decor, bedrooms and overall ambiance are excellent. We were in room 600 on the top floor with views over the lake, (Tower crane) and the surrounding hills. Those booking through Shearings should upgrade at the hotel as Shearings upgrade chargers are higher although in the 2014 brochure they are more inline with the hotels charges. Our biggest gripe was the quality and seclection of the food, very limited in both cases, Do not be influenced by other comments saying it was good that it definitely was not. Limited choice and poorly cooked, Although most of our time at the resort was spent under low lying cloud even so the area has a beauty all its own.
We went on a number of bus trips with Shearings while there visiting Bergamo, Lugano Milan and Como all well worth it. Unfortunately our trip on the Bernina Express was cancelled due to bad weather. Would we go to this hotel again NO, mainly because of the food

Room Tip: Upgrade on site. Higher rooms give better views. Room numbers 400 to 411, 500 to 511, 600 to 611.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    900
    669
    368
    396
See reviews for
428
1,652
127
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

we have been to this hotel on at least 5 other occasions but we had only ever visited in the summer

this was our first xmas away from home ever and itr was wonderful

on arrival from the airport we checked in but immediately upgraded our room . we had a lovley room on 5th floor over looking the lake we paid 50 euro
it was a wonderful room spacious and the bathroom was of a good size
we had brittish tv chanels and although we didnt watch much tv i did however enjoy xmas carols programmme whilst my husband was getting showered n changed

it also allowed us to keep in touch with uk weather situation

our room was lovley and warm and the room although looking out over a biusy road the noise wasnt intrusive in fact i didnt notice it at all and my hearing is good

the food was great a real good choice and we found it plentiful
the only negative comment io would make was that at breakfast the porrige was not very hot

yes they did serve porrige and i did eat it even though it wasnt very warm
there was plenty of seating in the dining area we never had a problem
we arrived on sunday 22nd and left fri 27th

the weather was wet xmas eve and xmas day but i had my wellies so it didnt really matter
we didnt expect sunshine


we went to milan on xmas eve and enjoyed the visit there was a brilliant leanardo da vinchi exhibition on near the cathedral which was fabulous it had life size reconstructed models of some of his inventions with info and interactive modern tecnology where you could touch a screen and see the model layout in 3 D and rebuilt it from components usung easy touch screen the exhibition was as you go into the shopping centre where they have the bull on the floor where you are supposed to spin your heals on its whatits

the exhibition is as you pass through this shopping area and you are just about to exit by the big statue opposite the scala opera house
it was up on the first floor there was a lift and a sign with a gentleman directing you to the lift

it cost 12 euro and was worth it very good if you have children they will love it
if you are thinking of going to milan then look online to book a time slot to visit the last supper in the little church in milan you cannot just turn up and i believe time slots are sold out well in advance

we didnt not go to see this as the tour company we booked our holiday with did not tell us which day they would be doing the milan trip and please note the church its housed in is not open on a monday .
the xmas lunch was wonderful it was many courses over 4 hours and i enjoyed the atmosphere of the guests and the staff
there were 495 i think all seated for xmas dinner and the staff worked hard
the hotel gave each person a gift which was was lovley surprise
there was a wonderful menu for the meal
if you are going out to this hotel and have from your holiday company a trip for st moritz please be aware it may get either cancelled or re sheduled

we missed out as boxing day there had been an avalanche and as we were to fly home on the following day we didnt get a chance to go later


i was dissapointed but we understood it was an act of god and not the companies fault
at this time of year a lot of the shops closed as out of season so not a lot open
we didnt expect there to be much open as the season was long since finished
we werent able to get over to belllagio as the ferries had finished from nearby the hotel but as we were only away for a few days we found other things to do like walk up to capella allpini and san martino church
we did these both on the one dry day we had

we had packed lunch and had a lovley picnic on this occasion

i wont go on much more as you can see my previous in depth reviews of this hotel from previous visits
it was a lovley xmas and i enjoyed meeting poeple and talking to poeple
its an ideal holiday if you are alone at xmas as folk are friendly and will readily engage in conversation

Room Tip: upgrade on arrival or at least be incontact with this hotel online prior to holiday to ask or mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank radleyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated at the water's edge half-way up the west side of Lake Como. No matter what time of the year - the views are simply stunning. We arrived by taxi directly from Bergamo airport as trains pass only through the city hub of Como in the south. A bus service runs along the lake, but running times are somewhat erratic in winter. The best option is to hire a car - it's easy to drive in the whereabouts as there is only a single lane road joining all the villages along the lake. The hotel is one of the largest in the area - honestly we wondered how they cope in the winter season as it was practically deserted in December (the whole region goes in hibernation during winter - in summer it's a different story altogether). The lobby is welcoming and has a grandeur setting, with ornate furniture all around. The staff at the reception was cordial but would do with a bit more professionality. We were given a room for 4 on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking the lake. We passed through a myriad of corridors until we eventually managed to locate it (and got lost each time we tried). The room was quite huge by today's standards but in need of an upgrade. No fitted carpets, but uneven parquet flooring with some loose boards. Old furniture didn't help the cause either. No coffee-making facilities in the room - just an empty fridge. In contrast, the bathrooms seem to have been recently refurbished. And no wi-fi service anywhere except for a free hotspot (with a good signal) near the lifts down by the lobby. The breakfast room is simply enormous - can literally accomodate hundreds. Pity that on our first morning we were seemingly the only patrons in an otherwise empty hotel. The breakfast display dishes were bare except for the odd cereals and ham/ cheese stuff. We asked the only waiter in sight if we could have bacon and sausages (as promised at the time of booking) and he duly obliged by ordering some from the kitchen. In all fairness, the following mornings were a different mettle as a full-blown English buffet breakfast was served - but the hotel was then bustling with activity as a large delegation had arrived for a stay. All in all, it was a pleasant stay. The hotel's location must be the envy of others, but it needs an upgrade. You don't usually get much better for a 3-star place. It is such a big place that the maintenance costs are surely prohibitive (they could possibly close during winter to recuperate some of the losses, maybe). Surely in summer it is more vibrant, but we enjoyed the quiet break just the same.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We returned to this fantastic hotel again this year; what has changed? Nothing but the same incredible service from the most attentative of staff who could not be more helpful. the food is excellent and the rooms with a view over the lake comfortable and inviting. We stayed for four nights in November and recommend this as an ideal base for a short stay. close enough to visit across the border to Switzerland.....do as much or as little as you please. thoroughly recommended for couples, families and groups.
A superb family run hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lake, this is a must....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephena609066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights on a coach tour. A hotel from the Belle Epoque era of the rather grand hotels, but upated for more modern needs such as extra lifts for the disabled. We went for a room with lake view and balcony which was well worth the extra cost as the views across Lake Como are incredible. A very, very large hotel and I'm not sure I'd enjoy visiting when at full capacity but in December it was fine. I had my doubts that the self service buffet area would cope when it was fully occupied. Our room was comfy and the food was OK but considering how few guests were staying it was a bit mass produced and bland and on a menu describing one course as "meat" seems a bit poor and useless! The staff were helpful enough but just had a slight missing edge of real care and concern. The village in which the hotel is located has few facilities if staying out of season.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroleburrows9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were a bit worried about staying at this hotel after reading some of the reviews but needn't have worried. The room (No. 449) were tastefully decorated and well equipped with a fridge, free safe and temperature control (we took our own kettle and tea bags and the we used water from the tap which was tasted fine). The only thing it could have done with was a decent chest of drawers. We were in a standard room that overlooked the hills at the back - it was a lovely view and we didn't feel the need to upgrade. The room was cosmetically clean but very dusty under the bed and clearly hadn't been cleaned for some time.
There was plenty of choice of food and there was a good choice of salad, fish and meat and freshly cooked pizza and pasta.
The only disappointment was the poor Internet access which was always very patchy in the hotel. At times it was not possible to get any Internet and it was always slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My friend and I spent 3 nights on an all inclusive basis. Hotel in nice and clean. Rooms are big and the bathroom is big. Walls are a little thin! Shower is nice and hot and powerful. I found the beds too hard for my liking but my friend loved it. Food was nice but not much veggie option so my friend lived on pasta with tomato sauce!! Good location to visit neighbouring towns like Menagio and Bellagio. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelp30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
984 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,048 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
826 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
11.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Property: Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing