We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Recently returned from wonderful trip to Lake Como with Shearings. On arrival I chose to upgrade to a lake view room with balcony and I'm so glad that I did as the views from my balcony were quite splendid. The room itself was very big and well heated and the food was plentiful. The hotel also provide free packed lunches on request. What most surprised me was the unlimited amounts of free alcohol available from 8am till midnight. Couldn't believe it - we were drinking Prosecco by the gallon during our entire stay and still can't believe that we didn't have to pay any extra for it. The ride on the Bernini Express was fantastic even if St Moritz was geared towards millionaires. The scenery was spectacular. Also went to Milan and looked around La Scala and the Duomo. Other trips to Bergamo and Como Market were very good also. Got the ferry across to Bellagio which is very picturesque.
My only annoyance was the door key which is one of those silly swipe cards that constantly malfunction so that you sometimes cannot get into your room without security having to come and dismantle the door's mechanism to let you in. I do think the hotel should go back to using normal keys instead of these daft electronic swipe cards as it is very frustrating and time-wasting when the silly card malfunctions.
Apart from the key card annoyance I cannot fault this hotel at all and would recommend it to anyone thinking of going . It is in the perfect location for exploring Lake Como and the surrounding areas and I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday and I will definitely return there again sometime next year.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view with balcony upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 830pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    882
    647
    354
    383
See reviews for
414
1,609
126
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Shortly after arrival on the 16th February we reported that the towel rail didn't go lower than full whack, the air con only did hot air and the fan was broken! We left out the blatantly dusty floor. 4 days of asking for updates on the repairs we demanded another room or our 40 euro upgrade money back as we were not getting extra comfort! The gentleman (I use the term loosely) on reception argued with me about why it was a problem, maybe a language barrier but his fed up tone and regular use of "si si okay okay" made his customer service skills apparent. On return of daily excursions we had to open both balcony doors to get some heat out and air in. Until day 5 when they finally fixed the fan we had to leave a balcony door ajar to stop us cooking in our sleep, rain or no rain. For the last few days of our sub-tropical hotel stay we had no choice but to keep the fan going as the towel rail and air con had still not been looked at let alone fixed. I am now full of a heavy cold/flu like symptoms and can only blame the draft of the fan that is above the bed and/or the balcony door(s) having to be left open for our own safety. It's a good job I'm mid 30's and not one of the more vulnerable elder residents. If only they fixed the towel rail, problem solved, happy customers, happy feedback! Thanks to the excellent service provided by the rest of the staff, food and ambience of the place I have not rated this hotel as terrible!

Room Tip: Check appliances on arrival and if repairs are needed don't be as lenient as we were as I am now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rea1princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently returned from a Shearings coach holiday at this hotel and had a fantastic week there. The hotel is well-situated for the Lake and nearby walks as well as near the bus stop to go into Como town. There was a wonderful selection of food including traditional Italian pastas and pizza as well as a variety of fish and meat dishes and salad. The staff in the bar, restaurant and reception are all friendly and helpful and the hotel has some lovely furnishings. The only downside of the holiday was a (thankfully) small collection of British people on holiday at the hotel also who complained about a range of things from the quality of the packed lunch which you got if you requested one (it was fairly simple but satisfactory) and the hotel's lack of an indoor swimming pool (the elderly, rotund lady complaining about this didn't look like she had swam a metre in her whole life). An upgrade is available for a Lake view superior room at 40 euros and the room can be kept on your departing day for 30 euros.Well done to the hotel and Shearings especially the coach drivers' Karen and Bill for an enjoyable week at Lake Como. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

we stayed at this hotel for a week from February 16th.
We stayed last year and this year was even better.
Took our teenage son and was worried he would be bored but we were so wrong.he loved it their were other teanagers for him to talk to and we felt safe enough for him to have his own space.
We travelled with Shearings our Drivers Karen and Bill could not do enough for you they made our holiday great.
Overall fantastic hotel,food location and very lucky if you get Karen and Bill as your Shearings Drivers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunyates52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carms.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed in the hotel on the 9 th Feb 2014,. I was on a Shearings coach holiday. I have been on the same trip before 4 years ago and loved it. I was not disappointed it was every bit as good as I remembered. The rooms were brilliant staff courteous and always friendly. The hotel is alongside the Lake so most rooms as did mine have beautiful views.

Room Tip: Some of our group paid for upgrade for a room overlooking the lake, I didn't but could still see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carms_Eleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Nice hotel located in great place... really nice view over the lake. Spacious room, good breakfast, very friendly staff... We stayed here almost a week during our trip to Italy, Switzerland... and it was great time.

Room Tip: Lake view is great. Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank West90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

shearings overnight coach,great drivers paul n uncle bob,,,,very knowledgeable of EVERY place we went through. Very quick check in,deluxe room that we had pre booked was ready immediatley and what a room! Huge,a large double bed for us and 2 singles together for my adult daughter,2 very good wardrobes with drawers AND hangers!!! extra pillows and clean sheets,,good spacious bathroom but no bath just shower in ours but that was ok for us,plenty of lights and bedside reading lamps on bedside tables,plenty of mirrors and good hairdryer in bathroom, fan in room helped as room was very warm at times but had 2 balcony doors aswell,good uk tv channels, clean towels were left every day on stool at end of bed,maids were lovely and worked very very hard,room wasnt fantastically cleaned but it was fine for a holiday in! dining room was good plenty of seats never struggled to find somewhere,waiters were very efficient,perhaps too much,taking my plate and drinks before we had even finished but did have a laugh about it! food was ok'ish,,breakfast at 7,there was porridge(very nice) toast, cereals, boiled eggs,ham,cheese,rolls,preserves and then at 8 they put out HOT food,streaky bacon,sausages(not english),beans,mushrooms,very yellow scrambled egg!! but it was all fine if you want cooked breakfast,,lunch was choice of meat,fish,pasta, bit of salad,potatoes of some sorts and dinner was of much the same just different meats and fish,desserts were same kinds of cake all week but a great variety of ice creams!! tea n coffee served at the tables arent too good we used the machines to get cappachinos,lattes,chocolate,tea e.t.c. Make sure you get your all.inc wristbands on check in as we didnt and at dinner my husband was asked to got to reception to sort it out before we could eat!! The trips with shearings were great fun even though it rained on couple of days,,the bernina express upto st. moritz seems like alot of money and we had to budget for that but it was absolutely fantastic,the whole holiday was worth it just for that one trip! it was magical,,weve never seen snow that deep before,it was deeper than the coach in places,we saw the skiers,the snow gliders and walkers on the frozen lake,in st.moritz we saw the millionaires shopping with thier security guards and the shops are amazing although most of them we wouldnt have even been let through the door!!! the snowy scenery is breathtaking,,its just unbelieveable but the roads are completely free of snow as they keep everything clear,even the shop roofs are swept of snow so it doesnt drop onto the customers! be sure to take some kind of packed lunch as theres no shops (unless you take your american express) ,the packed lunches from the hotel are edible,we didnt have them but lots did,they consist of couple of rolls with ham or cheese but no butter on from dinig room a bottle of water and pre packed chocolate croissant,,theyre worth getting just for the water! there is a small cheap cafe next to the train station where you can get a coffee n cake or similar if you get time to keep you going. Dont be afraid to go on the train up the mountain if your scared of heights because you wont actually see how high up you go unless you look down in certain spots, its all flat so you dont actually feel like your going uphill and upto the top its all pretty little villages covered in snow. there no nightly entertainment which is a let down really but the bar is big and as paeaceful or loud as you make it,,you can read a book in there at any time or have laughs with others without disturbing anyone else,, the all inc. drinks are good measures and as many as you want including tea and coffee machine in there. theres nothing much to do outside the hotel apart from walk up and down the dark waterside street,theres no shops really maybe 2 tiny ones and a makeshift supermarket shop round the corner for essentials,,theres a nice little pizza place on the opposite corner to the hotel which is cheap n good food and atmosphere. we walked to mellaggio,turn left outside the hotel and keep walking for about an hour and you cant miss it,theres nice little shops and cafes there. the trip to como market was good,theres bargains to be had on there and shops around,,make sure you get receipts for absolutely everything n anything from every shop you go in as the plain clothes police have a new habit of stopping you on the spot to check youve got receipts to prove the shopowners are paying taxes on what they sell and not pocketing the money!!!! cant really comment on the boat tour of the lake cos it threw it down with rain so we couldnt actually see anything through the boat windows but it wasnt that great anyway,we went half way up the lake which we'd already seen from the coach and then across to spend an hour in bellaggio standing about in the freezing rain waiting to get back on board, didnt think it was worth the money but might be better in the sun!! all in all we really enjoyed the holiday,please tip the maids and waiters they do a good job,some of them do 3 or 4 jobs a day,,,well done shearings AGAIN

Room Tip: we had a deluxe room but if you do have the budget i would suggest a deluxe room with lake view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank helderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Property: Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing