We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location very bad sewage smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Location very bad sewage smell”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were booked in for a week on arrival we had a very nice room at the side of the hotel with a view across the lake after are first shower a very pungent sewage smell came from up from the pipes, we complained the the next morning and they said they would sort it out. On arrival back from a day trip where we were lead to believe the ferry was free to bellagio when it wasn't - not until the summer and we had to pay 9 euros each which made a few crossings very expensive over the week as there is very little to do in Cadenabbia with one shop a bar and one restaurant close by. I did notice on my return from Bellagio workers outside the hotel down in the sewage system which I thought was efficient as I only complained in the morning, on returning to our room we bumped into the cleaner who gave us a can of air freshener to mask the smell. After spending another sleepless night in the room due to the sewage smell, I was starting to feel very unwell with respiratory problems. I went back to reception and told them I would not be staying in that room and need to be moved elsewhere or to a different hotel. The only good thing was the hotel owner offered me a new room which was upgraded to the front of the hotel as far as possible to where the original smell came from which is on the right hand side of the hotel, I did hear many other customers complain about the smell and also a couple in our party was also moved due to the smell. Further more the all inclusive drinks in the hotel were very poor and the food was mediocre. Finally the evening entertainment was absolutely a joke some guy playing a electronic organ singing very badly I was disappointed they didn't get the bingo out as it felt like I was staying in a turkey and tinsel hotel in Blackpool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevensgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    882
    647
    354
    383
See reviews for
414
1,609
126
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second holiday at the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior and it certainly lived up to our high expectations. Any location on Lake Como is stunningly beautiful, but what sets the family-run Grand Hotel apart and in a league of its own, is the warm welcome of the staff, the attention to detail and the high standard of cleanliness and cuisine. What is more, is the high level of investment since our first visit in an amazing floating swimming pool and the creation of an amazing Lido experience. Our meal with 30 others in the Lido was awesome... the food, the views, the music, the dancing, the craich! ... an unforgettable evening. A hidden gem: after trips to Bellagio, Varenna, the Villa Carlotta, get the walking guide for Mennagio and take Walk 3 which is 4 1/2 hours into the hinterland leading to an amazing agritourismo restaurant La Vecchia Choderia and order the trout from the trout farm behind the restaurant. Off the tourist trail... just amazing... and cheap! Make a point of meeting the owners Ross and Doriana and son Tom... lovely people with the interests of their guests at heart. Witnessing a young man proposing to his girl friend ..on one knee, on a bench opposite the Grand Hotel... said it all. Grazie mille, ciao and arrivederchi. We will return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank garryhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in April 2014 and had a lovely holiday.
This fabulous hotel is in a wonderful position facing the lake and has great views looking across to Bellagio and other pretty towns along the lakeside.(It is a 3 star hotel but was better than some 4 star hotels we have stayed in.)
The hotel is furnished very stylishly and has a rather grand aura throughout. The front entrance opens up to display a wonderfully impressive chandelier and the reception area has a grand piano which adds to the ambiance of the place.
Our room was on the 6th floor and we paid 40 Euro supplement for an upgrade to a lake view and balcony. It was well worth it. Our room was also furnished in keeping with the style of the hotel and it all looked very ornate .It was very clean and had very comfy beds.
The sunny and bright dining room was very large with lovely big windows overlooking the lake.
We were on an all inclusive deal which was one of the best we have had...even speciality coffees included.. It was a buffet service in the dining room ..very popular. The food was always tasty with loads of choice... plenty at breakfast, soup, salads, pasta , pizzas, a choice of 3 meats/fish for main meal with vegetables at dinner and lunch with at least 6 delicious Italian ice creams to chose from or pastries and cakes and fruit for desserts... Everyone on our coach said the food was amazing.
The bar area is on the lower floor and it is here we spent most evenings. Some nights there was a singer/ musician on to provide entertainment. The drinks were served quickly so not much waiting around. We could not fault the service from all the staff throughout the hotel...they were always very polite and helpful and seemed very happy to be working there.
The hotel has a swimming pool/lido just a few yards from the hotel but the hotel opened up a 2nd new floating swimming pool on the lake just before we left..it was a very ingenious piece of engineering with floating decks with sunbeds and parasols and a bar shaped as the front of a ship.,,it will be very popular I am sure.
So all in all we had a marvellous holiday at this hotel...met some lovely people and made some happy memories....the only bugbear was the journey on the coach and ferry to get there which was a bum numbing 25 hours in total ! But we would do it all again to stay here.
Loved it...Go there... you will love it too....

Room Tip: There are at least 3 lifts for the less mobile...so no problems getting to your rooms. The upgrade i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janbilly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The position of this hotel is lovely - beautiful views, close to the ferry across to Bellagio. We had a lovely room on the fifth floor (500) with views across the lake and also to the side looking up the mountains. It is an all inclusive hotel so you get all meals and drinks included. The drinks were OK - slightly watery but then we are not great drinkers. The food, however, was difficult as we are vegetarians. The options for both lunch and dinner were pasta with tomato sauce or a few salads - not many as they seem to hurl ham, sausage and fish into most of the dishes. Every day was the same for vegetarians so we went out for a couple of meals. We walked down to Tremezzo and there is a very nice restaurant called Helvetia with very pleasant staff.
Back to the hotel, we stayed last weekend (11-14 April 2014) and although we had been promised entertainment every night, they only had a singer on the Friday and nothing on the other evenings. We were also told that there was a free shuttle ferry across to Bellagio but that also was not working until later in the year so we had to use the public ferry at a cost of 9 euros each (no reductions for seniors at the weekend).
There were dead flowers and used glasses and crockery in the corridors when we arrived and they were still there when we left.

Room Tip: We upgraded with our travel agent and were very pleased with room 500. Fellow travellers had not up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed 6 nights in March on an all inclusive basis. Prebooked a room with balcony and lake view which was fantastic. The room was set back from the road so traffic wasn't a problem and the views across the lake to Bellagio were stunning. The room had three beds, a fridge and plenty of space and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath with air and water jets and lighting…
There was plenty of food and drink available, with lots of choice. It wasn't inspiring and a bit monotonous but perfectly adequate. Service was good.
This hotel is a good base for excursions round the lake, and to Milan, St Moritz, Como, Bergamo etc.

Room Tip: You pay more to prebook a balcony room with lake view, rather than pay 40 euros at the hotel, but pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank baronio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Well, what can I say, first time with Shearings, overnight stay on coach just bearable but well worth it for the hotel and it's magnificnt views over Lake Como. We had upgraded upon arriving at the hotel for a front room view with a balcony, well worth the 40 euro's. All the staff were excellent apart from the cleaner's could do with giving the bedroom floors a sweep throughout the week and a change in bath towels woudn't go amiss, but apart from that, nothing else to complain about. Food and drinks were readily available. You wouldn't die of starvation. It was nice to see the pizza's cooking in the oven and the pasta being made and a buffet bar to suit all palates, home from home cooking. Decor of the hotel was exceptional. We will most definitely go back to this hotel, well worth every penny paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a front bedroom with view of lake 30 euros, with balcony an extra 10 euro, worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shammy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Good in parts, in other words. We stayed 4 nights in this hotel on a recent all-inclusive holiday with Leger. It's a strange hotel, in some ways. Rather grand and ornate in the lobby, dining room and public areas, but the rooms and upstairs corridors have seen better days. Our room was huge with a small balcony overlooking the lake, but the lighting wasn't adequate, we had traffic noise outside and you could hear the people upstairs and in the next room quite clearly. If you're looking to plug in anything electrical, forget it. Only the light sockets are available. The decor is old fashioned and we had odd mismatched curtains! The bathroom, however, was clean and modern.
None of this mattered too much as we were only there a few days and spent most of the time on day trips. As a base for exploring the region it was fine. But Cadenabbia itself is very small and there's one cafe (very nice) within easy walk of the hotel, one very small bar and a pizza restaurant in the hotel next door. So you don't have a lot of choice of where to drink and eat, hence the all-inclusive regime I assume.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the food isn't great - we ate out at lunchtime where we could to avoid the free for all in the hotel. The hotel was very full with lots of other coach companies so there was often a struggle to find a table, a lot of jostling during self service and not enough seating in either the lounge or the basement bar. Its probably better during the summer months when the lakeside bar is open and it light and warm enough to enjoy a stroll or a boat trip to another town. Waking up to that view over Bellagio, however, is almost compensation in itself. Stunning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top follow probably have better view, but rooms at the back are likely yo be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atkinsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Property: Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing