We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic Italian location, but questions regarding the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
highcliffe
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Iconic Italian location, but questions regarding the food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for a week at this hotel. The location is excellent, the Dining Room is very nice, the floating lido pool is also extremely good although the water was so cold that my wife and I were probably the only people to swim in it that week.
The Rooms although small (we had a deluxe with balcony) were OK, the bed was comfortable, but there was a shortage of drawer space. The accessories (soap etc.) were cheap.
We stayed "All Inclusive" the range of local spirits was OK (although I do tend to like a bit of edge to my spirits, and these didn't disappoint). The wine was OK at times. The included breakfast coffee and coffee from the machines were poor, but the coffee purchased from the bar was fine. The bar itself was dreadful (I understand it used to a indoor swimming pool). It was a horrible "L" shaped layout, poor décor, and lacked atmosphere.
Finally I come to the food. It was buffet style, and I really don't believe that it provided a true "Taste of Italy". The salads were not too bad, but the meat dishes were a bit bland. The pizzas, in my opinion, were equivalent to supermarket quality.
In summary; our All inclusive deal was inexpensive, and this reflected in the food, having said this, we enjoyed the holiday, and thought that overall, it was reasonable value

Room Tip: We had a side room with balcony which was OK. If your budget permits a balcony room at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrysview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    920
    679
    376
    409
See reviews for
453
1,681
128
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (972)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Brent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

brought a friend here for her 60th birthday and she loved it. i had stayed her before so knew it well our room had fantastic view was very clean and comfy. The hotel is in a perfect location and the food choice on our all inclusive holiday was very good. I will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: lake view is good but there is a busy road between the hotel and lake back rooms quiet with views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfect location, loved every minute, lake view room every time - it will take your breath away. The lido is fantastic, again such beautiful views, the bar & music is also a great shout! Love this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordanlucy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benahavis, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The only good thing about this Hotel is the view, but then you can get that anywhere around the Lake, totally the wrong side to stay, and in hindsight we wished we had stayed in Bellagio. The Hotel was a Butlins Holiday camp, the food was awful, couldn´t get a decent cup of tea or coffee. Could go on about this, but all in all it was just terrible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel and it was a brilliant experience

Our room had a lake view which looks straight out on to Bellagio the panaoramic views from the balcony were amazing, also from our balcony you could here the music from the bar and lido located just across the road. the room was huge and all clean and tidy, didnt have any problems with the room. We stayed on a all inclusive package and there is always a wide variety of food at breakfast lunch and dinner, on some days the cooked breakfast was not that good but with a wide selection of cold breakfasts this wasnt an issue.All the staff very very helpful for the duration of the stay, any questions i had someone at reception was always there to help as you would expect. We hired a boat one day of our visit, reception sorted this out for us and arranged for the boat to be delivered to the lido and this is where was had to return it. The location is perfect, there is a ferry point and shops all within walking distance making all other towns on the lake easily accessable.When i next visit lake como i will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is situated right in front of Lake Como and we got stunning views from our room. We didn't get a room with a balcony, but opening our big window, you could see the stunning view from your room. And waking up in the morning with that view, was just a magical experience.
The room we got was very nice. It had that old European decor, which made it very inviting and made you feel like you were a part of an European fairly tale. They also have a beautiful swimming pool right in front of the Hotel, which you can enjoy in the summer.
We arrived late at night, and asked the front desk for a place to eat, and they recommended this nice family run restaurant, right next door to the Hotel. It was a great experience, with great service and yummy food. Also very affordable.
The breakfast in the morning was ok, but the views from the breakfast room are spectacular.
There is parking in the back of the Hotel, and wifi in the lobby area.
Overall I would say a fantastic experience, with the stunning lake como as your background, you can't really good wrong!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCDesign29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Loved this hotel. We had a balcony on the 6th floor overlooking the lake. Fabulous views from morning till night. Typical Italian style . Some lovely chandeliers and furnishings. Room was mostly great. Small niggles. Hairdryer cut out every minute or so. Safe didn't work. Bit annoyed at having to pay 5 euros for an extra room key , not refunded, when my sister and I often go our separate ways . Also 5 euros to rent a beach towel. Pretty sure we could have bought one for less, Why not wifi in room and not just public areas? However good far outweighed these points. Lovely staff. Very helpful. Great choice of food at breakfast , lunch and dinner . All inclusive. Wine not great but everything else was super. Lady on reception from Dunoon was a gem. The pool on the lake was great with live music some evenings. Got a bit loud late at weekends. Bus stop , ferry point , supermarket within yards. Free hotel ferry to fabulous Bellagio.Trips arranged by Thomson were fabulous and reasonably priced. Rep was disappointing. Kevin talked the talk and offered endless help at the first meeting but totally ignored us for the rest of the week . He didn't break breath to us although we saw him in the hotel most days. Neither did he ask how our holiday was going or our trips. Not sure he even knew we were his customers. More interested in his food and his mobile phone and asking for good feed back so he could get a good resort next time. Seriously Kevin? Took me all my time to keep quiet about how ignorant you were. Hope Thomson suss you out.

Room Tip: As everyone says if you don't mind noise the lake views are fabulous and I love sitting out on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annebryceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
837 reviews
11.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Property: Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing