We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We booked this hotel several months ago as we wanted a base in Lake Como and this was by far the best value on offer. Because it was less expensive than the other options we booked a deluxe lake view room and we were not disappointed. I agree with a lot of the more recent positive comments, for example our room was of a better quality than most 3 star hotels having a flat screen tv, one of the best showers we have had in a hotel and comfortable beds to add to the gorgeous view. I appreciate that not all the rooms are as good as this but we did pay a supplement to get this standard of room.

The public areas of the hotel were also of a good quality – plenty quiet places to sit inside to stay out of the sun as well as the outside terrace. We didn’t use this as it was very warm as it got the sun most of the day. We didn’t use the lido but it looked clean and well kept and seemed to be very popular in an excellent location. The bar is in the basement so is a bit dark but it’s not something we tend to use so that didn’t affect us and it certainly seemed popular in the evening.

The main criticisms of the hotel seem to revolve around the dining room. Yes it is busy and noisy but it is a large hotel so that has to be expected. The waiting staff must cover miles at every mealtime and I think it is unrealistic to expect them to converse in all languages of the guests staying at the hotel (English, French, German and more) especially when Italian is not always their first language. We found them polite and helpful when you treated them in the way you expect to be treated yourself.
The food was far better than we expected from the reviews. We found there were plenty of options that suited us at dinner and at breakfast there were all the options you would expect, more than in some other Italian hotels we have stayed at.

The bottom line is that this is a competitively priced large tourist class 3 star hotel catering for a massive number of guests and that should be taken into account in your expectation, our expectation was exceeded.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    894
    659
    359
    388
See reviews for
421
1,634
127
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
torrevieja
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We arrived at the Hotel after 2 days hard drive. Check in was painless and quick. We locked our Harleys in the private car park (very safe) This hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and is extremely comfortable. The food is served by a chef at each station - it is freshly cooked for you and the wine flows freely. The team is young and energetic which shows and I do think they deserve every success.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harleyrider12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2010

firtst time to lake Como, the staff were all friendly and I enjoyed the pasta and pizzas. They were very good. I understand that the chefs came from southern Italy. We had a comforable room overlooking thge lake, very beautiful. Excellant plave to stay for day trips out.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerBob32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband whilst touring Italy and I can only say that we enjoyed our stay, the hotel itself is beautifully decorated, especially the lounge and dining areas. Although busy the staff are courteous and patient and every help was given to us when we asked. For extremely reasonable rates the food, accommodation and location of the hotel was excellent, the hotel is only yards from the ferry which will take you around the lake. the pool area is clean and a bar is availabe for those thirsty afternoons, so all in all I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandPatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

i came to the hotel in june because of i was told best time for weather and
relax me and my family. we were picked up from malpenza from a driver of the hotel a short 1 hour trip from the airport to the hotel, a relaxing drive with beautiful landscape along the way arrived at the hotel was helped with bags to reception and was met with smiling and happy staff helped us with our bags to are room. We stayed on the 5th floor with a amazing veiw right in front of bellagio.
i did not unpack went straight to the lido and jump in the pool and relaxed the day
and had a peaceful lunch with my family with friendly english speaking staff

Highly Recommend Stay !!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holiday5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Having recently having the displeasure of staying at this hotel, the aftermath is still on-going. Having asked to speak to the manager after an unfortunate incident that i cannot ellaborate on, and i quote from the manager - "should you wish to publicise this ‘opinion’, if there is no proof of such an act we would be obliged to take such action as necessary in order to protect our good name and that of our staff", i have been continuely ignored and lied too. Not once, twice but three times have i asked for the manager to ring me (at my own expense ringing from england) and each time i have been told i would receieve a call later that day, never once have i been contacted by anyone from the hotel, and it took an ill-tempered email to get a response, they clearly had no intentions whatsoever as to make an effort to contact me over what was a very serious matter, the attitude was nothing other than disgusting. Obviously i cannot go into great detail because of the threat of legal action from the manager but i will say dont be in any rush to leave valubles in your room, just use the malfunctioning safe insted, either way, dont expext any help if anything did go missing, another quote from the manager - " I now consider this matter closed and will not enter into any further correspondence regarding it".

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonny_p_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

To start the pictures that form part of your advert are incorrect as the swimmimg pool on the front of the Hotel no longer exists - there is now a small Lido Pool 100 metres down the road which we would not recommend.
The real disappointment was the Dining Room, which has now been extended into the area that was the outdoor pool, and in particular the evening meal performance which partially because there is a 2 1/2 Hour window for all 600 plus guests to have a meal becomes akin to feeding time at the zoo. The food is English based, generally one small Italian offering, was normally overcooked and we can't remember one meal that was fully edible. The Chefs were rude and aggresive, the dining/waiting staff were obviously paid a pittance and therefore were also generally aggressive and unpleasant, an example of this is that we could not leave the table together with food still on the table as it would dissappear irrespective of whether you had finished the plate or not. To be fair the breakfast and lunchtime service was much more relaxed but again the food was limited in quality, although the english breakfast offering was disgusting.
The shame is that this experience totally spoiled the stay on Lake Como which is a wonderful place, we actually ate away from the Hotel when we could, which made the trip somewhat more expensive.
The Hotel was booked via Cosmos/Archers Direct as an add on to a Tour of Northern Italy the previous week, which we enjoyed, and therefore to come to this place and the sub standard level of service was a great dissappointment, and just to note that our Cosmos tour Rep was a relative of the proprietor therefore any complaints were pointless, this we shall be pointing out to Cosmos, we experienced this first hand when a couple we travelled with the previous week were met very aggressively by him when complaining about the food and dining arrangements.
We are not particularly young ourselves but would point out that the Hotel is set up mainly for Shearings and Leger Holiday groups so perhaps this is the reason that the food offerings are what they are, although surely part of the point of coming to Italy is to enjoy the Italian food experience which surely cannot be more expensive to produce than the rubbsh they are currently offering.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
966 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,024 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
815 reviews
11.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Property: Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing