We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T THINK THE HOTEL TO BE OF 4-STARS STANDARD, JUST THINK "PACKAGE TOURS,CROWDED, TOURIST CLASS" INSTEAD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“DON'T THINK THE HOTEL TO BE OF 4-STARS STANDARD, JUST THINK "PACKAGE TOURS,CROWDED, TOURIST CLASS" INSTEAD!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hotel is like the "Curate's Egg" - good in parts and bad in parts!

The building was originally a very grand private villa right on the shore of Lake Como
immediately next to the famous Villa Carlotta with its wonderful gardens. Therefore, the situation
is excellent (despite a rather busy road between the front of the hotel and the lake).
The views are magnificent , and it is important to stipulate for a room with lake view and balcony.

The original building has been considerably extended to form the hotel and there is a fine
dining room with sliding windows and outside terraces at top level from which the view can be enjoyed.



THE BEDROOM

The public spaces including the entrance foyer and staircases, etc, are very grand, but by contrast,
our bedroom appeared distinctly "spartan" with walls that looked bare and colourless with no hanging pictures. The beds were actually quite comfortable although the bed covers had seen better days . As there were no proper chairs to sit on , we dragged in two which we found in the corridor outside our room. The only full length mirror was concealed behind the door (we had to be ever so careful not to damage it as the door handle touched the mirror every time we opened the door).

However, we did have a fine large balcony about as large as the room itself ! One afternoon, the gardener walked over the balcony to water plants, without giving us any notice, with a clear view into our room which obviously was an intrusion into our privacy. Help!

The TV in the room was a tiny (about 14") old-fashioned set with poor selection of channels, mounted almost at ceiling level giving one a cricked neck to look at and there was no free wifi or internet available.

The Lake View from the room, however, was breath-taking.

THE RESTAURANT

Really, our main criticism is the poor standard of food and variable restaurant service. We were on half-board. Breakfast was buffet-style. Quality of the food was often second-rate and frequently items on the hot plates ran out (see pics. attached) and they were not replenished. Coffee was especially awful , you may be wise to bring your own jar (from home or the supermarket)! There were almost always queues waiting to get in as soon as the doors opened. Dinner was also buffet-style for the first course and the dessert. The queues at dinner were even worse and the restaurant could get very crowded and noisey. The food was often not brilliant - and most certainly not Italian cuisine at its best! At times, although the wine price was fairly expensive, the wine service lacked professionalism (eg, once, they brought a bottle of wine with the wrong vintage . When we queried it and requested it to be changed, the senior waiting staff had a very poor and negative attitude, instead of apologizing for bringing the wrong wine ordered) . Frankly, meal times in the hotel was not an experience to look forward to and enjoy, but rather a necessary "fuelling stop" to assuage hunger.

OUR SUGGESTION AND ADVICE:

Our advice would be to opt for bed and breakfast only, with special request for a room with a lake view and balcony and to enjoy eating out each evening in a local restaurant. (One evening, we went out to a local restaurant -the "Red and White" -for dinner and we had a most enjoyable meal and the wine list was absolutely amazing.) . Also, do not think that the hotel is of 4 stars standard, just think "package tours, crowded, tourist class" instead. That way, you will be less disappointed !

Room Tip: Our advice would be to opt for bed and breakfast only, with special request for a room with a lake v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank sealandandsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    373
    209
    81
    42
See reviews for
144
528
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel has everything you want for a summer holiday. Terrific service in the restaurant, great room (recommend that holidaymakers upgrade to a Lake View room with a balcony). Friendly bar, and excellent service from the roof garden/terrace. This hotel has an outdoor swimming pool to relax in. It is appropriately separated from the main sun terrace so the peace and tranquility to be enjoyed on the sun terrace is unspoiled by swimmers.

The views accross Lake Como to Bellagio are spectacular. There's a busy coast road in front of the hotel, but on the plus side, it's a short (5 minute) walk to the ferry station where one can board a frequent service to several spectacular village/town locations around Lake Como. Plenty of off-road car parking is available adjacent to the hotel reception.

A splendid hotel. Worth trying out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Lake view, and a balcony. Well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markericsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Overall, a nice hotel, in a good position, and Lake Como is certainly very pretty.
The food is certainly satisfactory. It would be nice if the receptionists could learn to smile a little more. The waiters were all very friendly. Room was satisfactory, although could be better. Cannot understand the rationale of some of the recent renovations -> who would place a shower head in such a position that you cannot avoid wetting the floor, but not putting up some shower curtains?
Only real compliant is the fact that on the last 2 days of our trip (as part of >40 people with a Riveria group from UK), we found ourselves outnumbered by a huge German party (perhaps >300). Suddenly, almost every (>80%) of the tables in the dining room were marked ‘reserved’ for the Germans, and we were made to feel like second-class guests, and allowed to have tables at the periphery. When we complained to the head waiter (bless his soul), he asked us to take the complaint up with the management (would have got nowhere). I hope this entry on TripAdvisor is more likely to elicit some response. If you do not mind the germans taking every sunbed with placing towels at dawn, as they are well-known to do, then please do go to this hotel. Otherwise, be prepared to be treated in a similar manner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We have just returned from a week in this hotel. We were very happy here and were impressed by how cheerful and helpful the staff were. Our large room had a furnished terrace and had great views over the lake. Our bathroom was on a mezzanine floor which took a little bit of getting used to, but we did. Food was excellent, with plenty of choice, and efficiently and cheerfully served. The ferry service is just a five-ten minute walk and a day-rover ticket (12 euros - ask at booking office) lets you visit several lakeside towns. It can be difficult pleasing all clients in a place as large as this hotel but they certainly pleased us. Don't even think about using the mini-bar, a small bottle of water cost us 4 euros!! (about £6 a pint, for water but we were desperate!) Othewise highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueH062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Just back from a week in this hotel.Food and selection of was very good ,staff very helpful and friendly .Right along side ferries and bus stop outside the hotel.Hotel is lovely too room was to the side and looking over pool area ,dark but very quite and spotlessly clean .This hotel is in great location and fantastic views over the lake from the sun terrace or from the dining area ,where else would you get such ambience loved the views for breakfast and dinner and exceptional weather.Would definitely recommend .

Room Tip: Lake view room is a must !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coupleskilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oban
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

stayed at this hotel for a week in October 2011 booked through Riviera travel fantastic hotel everything you could wish for definitely a 4 star food and service excellent rooms and cleanliness excellent beautiful view across Lake Como from our room. The staff were excellent very professional and friendly couldn't do enough for you.The Riviera tour guide Pilar is very professional at her job although she was only filling in for tour guide that had to go home. Will definitely book up with Riviera Travel next year and do the 10 day best of Italy

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottyOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Had been warned about the basement and rooms to the back of the hotel. We were happy with our room on the side of the hotel, with small view of lake and quiet. The views from the resteraunt and terrace of the lake were spectacular. The dining room only opens for two hours in the evening which is barely enough time to cater for the large number of guests so go early. Our experience was slightly tainted by arriving late at 23hr and being greeted by a very rude waiter and not been able to get a hot drink such as tea or coffee! Villa Charlotta next great to visit and do shopping in Como town, much cheaper.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Property: Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing