We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fab Holiday”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We travelled with Shearings for a Holiday to Lake Como for Christmas and New Year. What a fabulous time we had. The Hotel was great - though I would definitely recommend a Lake View Room, we had a look at one of the others before choosing to upgrade and I am glad we did. The Lake View rooms are much more fresh and airy (and obviously you wake up to a stunning view to boot). The Staff are really helpful and friendly. Although we had organised Tours booked, you can easily get around on the bus and visit other towns along the lake. We took a bus into Milagio and got a ferry across the lake to Belagio there are some lovely little cobbled winding streets to investigate which hosts lots of authentic Italian cafe's. Its not expensive and a good way to visit different towns. The buffet style food service can be a bit off putting, but there is plenty of it and really tasty. We were served at the table for the Christmas and New Year Gala Dinners and with each one being 7 courses the Staff did a wonderful job getting everyone served quickly and with the food still being hot. I would definitely go again, I fell in love with the place.

Room Tip: A Lake View room is a must. You pay a bit extra for it but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    403
    221
    91
    46
See reviews for
157
571
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A large hotel - a little daunting at first. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bedroom very comfortable with a wonderful lakeview and balcony. The restaurant is something to behold - don't be put off by the size as the food is actually very good indeed.

Room Tip: Pay for a lakeview and balcony - it's worth it as the lake looks different every day and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

On your first visit to the dining area, you are apt to be dismayed by the appearance of the food served buffet-style, but be assured that some of it is glorious. For instance, I have never asted more delicious pesto than was on offer one evening. The mushroom pasta, full of exquisitely tender mushrooms, was comparably wonderful, and I also much enjoyed the grilled monkfish. The hot vegetables are commonly overcooked to the point of unrecognizability, so it's prudent to stick with the cold ones -- the sliced aubergine and artichokes, for instance. The cold fusilli salad, laden with olives and artichokes and hot peppers, was also delicious. (I don;t eat land animals, and am unable to comment on the pork, lamb, and beef, except to say, as above, that they don't look terribly appetizing in the huge trays in which they're offered.)

The dining room itself is quite magnificent, with a very high, very ornate ceiling, and a fantastic chandelier. And the staff, as elsewhere in the hotel, are immensely charming, with the exception of those who dish up the food. The latter can be downright surly.

I have a couple of wee gripes. In the shower (in which, wonderfully, there's abundant very hot water), there's no little shelf on which to put soap. And the WiFi can be maddeningly inconsistent. Moreover, the hotel ought not to present the same musician/sjnger, performing exactly the same repertoire, every night. However much we enjoyed him the first night, we were pretty tired of him by the fourth.

I should note that if octogenarians from Yorkshire aren't your cup of tea, you might wish you'd chosen another hotel. I have never heard "were" substituted for "was" so many times over any for-day period in my life. :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LordWallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We prepaid for three nights accommodationfor a wedding we were attending in early September. When we arrived, we were given a musty old room in the back basement which looked onto a sewer. When we complained, we were told that there was no manager on site and that no other rooms would be available until the next afternoon. It was shocking that such a room even existed, let alone offered to guests at a normal rate. We could hear the sewer water pouring down all night. The staff was super unfriendly and when we were given another room the next day, the AC did not work. If you enjoy spending $200 CAD a night to sleep in a sewer, then this is the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank DSel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel was built in the 1920s and looks quite charming and beautiful. Despite some small wear and tear to the hotel, we were quite comfortable here. Our room was on the first floor (just above the lobby) and facing the lake. Our room had a very nice large patio where we could sit and enjoy the view. We ate our dinners out here when the weather was nice. We had a great time here. We really enjoyed the breakfasts up on the 5th floor. The food and service were just right. We would highly recommend staying here. Most of the guests are from tour groups, many of them from Ireland or England, so it was quite fun and interesting to meet them.

Room Tip: choose first floor triple room facing the lake. The patio is huge. You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SHydeandLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

just back from staying at this hotel - laws with travel dept and where last visitors to leave before it closed for winter. dinner each evening was very good. extensive salad buffet followed by second and third served at table and then desert buffet. breakfast was ok but could have done with fresh fruit juice rather than concentrated

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susan_oflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel was ideally located as very close to ferries and bus stops. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I had a room with a lake view and I feel it was worthwhile to pay the extra for this as it was lovely to look at the lake at different times of the day.

Room Tip: Room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RenaGlennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,066 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
795 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Property: Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing