We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Competent rather than excellent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Competent rather than excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has two sides-one with Lake View and the other with jungle view.It is well worthwhile avoiding the jungle,where tour companies automatically place their clients.We would imagine the cost to be a fraction of lake view which is splendid.
The rooms were adequate for an ordinary 4 star,bathrooms ordinary with small showers.There were minimal bathroom requirements.
Food fairly good,but awful sweet breakfast juices.It was worth arriving early to buffets as many items were not replaced quickly when empty..

Staff in the restaurant were first class.A fair"tour" hotel

Room Tip: Pay extra for Lake View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRD807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    370
    206
    80
    41
See reviews for
142
518
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Strong recommendations from Milano friends to look at the western side of Lake Como led us to Cadenabbia. The hotel offered great views of the lake, access to some great local cafes and the ferry to Bellagio. Good onsite parking and breakfast buffet included were great benefits. Our large triple room was quiet - a great way to get over jet lag and sleep well. With great weather, the terrace quickly became a favourite place to relax after a day exploring the area, before dinner. The staff were friendly, providing prompt service with a smile. Well situated across from Bellagio meant that we planned a day there, another driving around the lake, a day trip to Lugano (for lunch) and easy departure when we sadly needed to say goodbye.
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia gave us wonderful week to relax and explore a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrollingFootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here with Riviera Travel and hotel was very busy with tour groups. I had not paid the supplement for a lake view and my room at back of hotel was so dark that the light was needed even in the morning. Reception was helpful and I was shown three more rooms, all different but all dark. I eventually was offered a room with a view of lake which was wonderful. Expensive but worth the money. People vary in their likes and some people on the tour liked their room at the back which were very peaceful.others complained about noise from the road at the front. I was on the third floor and the noise did not bother me. Food was good on the whole though some items like the fruit juice in the morning were poor. Starters for the evening meal were very good. The fifth floor restaurant had lovely lake view, was very busy but the staff were quite efficient.
The rooms all differ greatly. Some have baths with hand held showers, some have large shower cubicles but I had the smallest cubicle I have ever seen. I kept turning the shower off by mistake. The shower itself was excellent and had been replaced in all the rooms I looked at.

Room Tip: The lake view was so beautiful. Expensive but worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were here on a half board basis and we found you had to be quick of the mark to benefit from the full selection of the buffet meals. It may be an age thing with the majority of their guests but there were dozens of people waiting for the restaurant to open at 7am in the morning and at 7pm in the evening and they jostled to get the best seats and the full selection of food. The staff were very slow at replenishing empty platters and only really gave good individual service a couple of nights before they knew you were leaving.

Room Tip: Take your old age pension book with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harolddt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews on this site, checked in with a great deal of trepidation, particularly as we had booked through Thomsons and were their first guests of the season. Lake view room, with shared balcony, was clean, well equipped and decorated. Stunning views from restaurant on top floor. Food was average, buffet starter and sweets were slow in being replenished. Soon learned that it was best to eat later when the maddening crowds had died down. Restaurant and bar staff worked tirelessly throughout the day. Bar prices were extortionately overpriced and resulted in a lack of atmosphere in the hotel before and after dinner. Well worth paying extra for the lake view but be warned that the constant traffic noise does grind you down. All said and done this is an old traditional hotel a little tired round the edges but provides a great base for exploring the sights and delights of Lake Como and the surrounding areas.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dsll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Third visit to the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia di Griante (Previously Hotel Belle Vue) 7 nights in a Lake view room, Brilliant. This was an Archers Tour in June 2011. The food was perfect and the 5th Floor restaurant gave total view of the Lake. Easy access to Bellagio, Menaggio and Como via the regular car ferry. Even in June we had great views of the Lake and snow capped mountains. Ideal for a good walking holiday with a stout pair of shoes working up a good appetite. Plenty to see (including Villa Carlotta Gardens) take the slow Ferry from Como for the best views

Room Tip: ALWAYS pay extra for the Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Historyman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a Lake view room. Pay the extra it's worth it! The Hotel is starting to show its age but it is clean and comfortable with great views of the Lake and snow capped mountains. Easy access to Belaggio via the car ferry.
Not overly expensive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
#6 of 8 in Tremezzina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Property: Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing