We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent garden room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Reception area was impressive with a grand staircase. We had a third floor room overlooking the pool and garden with views to the lake and mountains beyond. We woke every morning to sun streaming through the windows and the birds singing outside. It was very peaceful. Our room was large with a high ceiling, well decorated and with a Juliet balcony. The shower cubicle was quite small but adequate. Views from the fifth floor dining room were stunning, overlooking the lake. Breakfast was ok but often a shortage of teapots! The evening meal was a bit of a scrum with too many people all trying to get in to the large dining room. Requests for gluten free options were met with disdain and, rather than offer alternatives, items were just removed from plates leaving very bland options, eg 1 slice of white turkey meat on a white plate with 1 spoonful of rather soggy spinach - not appetising. The sun deck was a lovley area with a shady loggia available although some of the decking was loose. Enjoyed the bar area in the evening - a good place to meet.

Room Tip: Third floor garden rooms have a distant lake view without having to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikerbillFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are just back from 10 memorable days at this hotel. It got off to a bad start as the travel agent had not passed on our room request but the reception staff were brilliant and gave us a choice of rooms on the second day. We ended up with a lovely big room on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the lake, a large ensuite bathroom and comfortable beds.(Top tip - take a travel kettle.) The food was amazing considering that the hotel is catering for 400-500 people. Dinner was a four course meal with a cold buffet for the first course, a wonderful (and different) pasta course every night, a main course with a good selection and puddings to die for. The restaurant service was excellent with food arriving quickly and piping hot and the staff were friendly and willing. Breakfasts were also superb. There is lots to do on the Lake and the glorious weather made our holiday. The only possible downside is the pool area which is a bit drab with not enough umbrellas to cover the sun loungers.

Room Tip: A balcony or terrace is a must if you can possibly afford it and higher floors are quieter as furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Travelled with Inghams Lakes and Mountains. I can honestly say the reps Ghislaine and Nic were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very old fashioned but very grand with lovely furniture and sculptures. Our room with a balcony was massive and the bathroom also very big. The large bed was so comfortable and the bed linen and soft towels were also lovely quality. all the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was very central for all amenities, the buses and also ferry boats. Also a few shops next to the hotel were very reasonable. The Victoria restaurant and bar overlooking the lake
just a few metres away was our stopping place every afternoon for afternoon tea for me and a beer for my husband. The owners Tina and Enrico were very friendly and always had time for a chat. also Evelyna the Polish helper was lovely. Also the beautiful Villa Carlotta a few yards away was breathtaking. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and the Victoria bar to anyone. A very memorable stay.

Room Tip: Book a lakeside view with balcony well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned today from a week at this hotel travelling with Riviera. On arrival we decided to upgrade to a room with a lake view terrace and got a really good deal. The view was amazing and definitely worth the extra cost. It was clean, the bed was comfy and huge, and the bathroom, though small, had a great shower.
The food was very good, if at times a little repetitive. The service was excellent and the view from the dining room superb.
If I were to make two suggestions that would elevate this superb hotel even further they would be: firstly to serve tea and coffee after dinner and secondly to provide some evening entertainment. The one night when entertainment was available the bar was packed, otherwise it was virtually empty. The prices don't justify drinking there when there is nothing to keep people entertained. The fourth floor terrace is beautiful but a totally underused space crying out to be a focal point for entertainment. Get some patio heaters for the cooler evenings maybe.
All in all a wonderful hotel. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony or terrace if you can afford to. Don't worry about the road noise you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Make sure you pay the extra for a room with lake view - well worth it for the panorama of mountains and water crisscrossed by ferryboats which can take you to all the picturesque villages and villas of Lake Como. Food good, but the restaurant is busy at times. Staff efficient and helpful. Some quality entertainment in the bar from a talented harp instrumentalist playing her own compositions - impressive. But no CD to buy, unfortunately. Adjacent Villa Carlota an absolute must with current exhibition of WW1 artwork. Also some good music, we were fortunate to enjoy a concert with gorgeous top soprano Clara Bertella which ended with huge applause from the audience. Our room had good high ceilings and was clean and comfortable, and the public areas are very smart.

Room Tip: 3rd. floor good because equidistant from top floor restaurant and ground floor, yet high enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Roy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has two sides-one with Lake View and the other with jungle view.It is well worthwhile avoiding the jungle,where tour companies automatically place their clients.We would imagine the cost to be a fraction of lake view which is splendid.
The rooms were adequate for an ordinary 4 star,bathrooms ordinary with small showers.There were minimal bathroom requirements.
Food fairly good,but awful sweet breakfast juices.It was worth arriving early to buffets as many items were not replaced quickly when empty..

Staff in the restaurant were first class.A fair"tour" hotel

Room Tip: Pay extra for Lake View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRD807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Strong recommendations from Milano friends to look at the western side of Lake Como led us to Cadenabbia. The hotel offered great views of the lake, access to some great local cafes and the ferry to Bellagio. Good onsite parking and breakfast buffet included were great benefits. Our large triple room was quiet - a great way to get over jet lag and sleep well. With great weather, the terrace quickly became a favourite place to relax after a day exploring the area, before dinner. The staff were friendly, providing prompt service with a smile. Well situated across from Bellagio meant that we planned a day there, another driving around the lake, a day trip to Lugano (for lunch) and easy departure when we sadly needed to say goodbye.
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia gave us wonderful week to relax and explore a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StrollingFootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,095 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: £88 - £857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing