We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good hotel, comfortable sleeping beds, nice rooms and bathrooms. Getting wifi is a pain because you have to go down to the lobby and pick up slips that give you a username and password that lasts 4 hours and then expires, and the tv is bad quality but otherwise good hotel

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Well placed for the ferries, and with an old fashioned but slightly tired air, it was agood value for what we paid.

Some disappointments.

The food was unexciting --probably the poorest cooking I have experienced in Italy --little flavour, and little Italian influence. The dining room had great views of the lake but it was very busy --with queuing after the first rush.

The swimming pool was quite dodgy -- difficult access in and out of the pool --so pretty empty

Staff were extremely helpful generally and room was pleasant.

Room Tip: overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely location beside the Villa Carlotta and ferry stops. Very nice reception area and dining room. My room had a lake view and small balcony. It was very clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable. Some rooms are however were very small. Bedroom furniture is basic. Our Air Conditioning was very effective and quiet. TV reception in room was unwatchable, even RAI stations Food for dinner was good, breakfast was average. Service was mixed. Wi-Fi is available in the Reception area but the service is very slow and unreliable. If you need Wi-Fi access try Ristorante Rodrigo, it is only a few meters away.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are noisy. Rooms at the back are mostly very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IstvanJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I paid the usual hefty supplement for a single room,however,this was at the back of the hotel,and extremely dark.Small window looked out onto the fire escape and tall trees.They do,apparently have a few single rooms in the front,lake view,but of course that comes with an extra supplement too.That said,the room was spotless,clean towels every day too.But,apart from the bar/fridge price list,there were no instructions for the TV or phone,nor for meal times.We were,of course,being on a Riviera holiday with a great guide,given these times,but anyone going on their own would have to ask.All of the staff spoke English and were attentive and friendly.The main course was always 2 meat choices and 1 fish,so if you are a veggie,you could have 2 of the "Prima Patti",which were invariably soup and at least one veggie pasta. Also,what I found difficult,as I don't eat meat or shellfish,was that a lot of the antipasti obviously had them in,but nothing was labelled,so I always took the plain things that I could recognise.That said,there was plenty of it,and also lots of sweet "Dolce" to choose from,that you could help yourself to.I don't eat much breakfast,but I could have done with a better choice of bread and rolls too,the offering was very poor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maribou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were told be Venere Travel that this hotel had wi-fi so we booked a family room for 4 with a balcony with view.
The hotel is located in a beautiful area of Lake Como, in the town of Griante. The view was absolutely stunning. The hotel is pretty old and most of the people staying there are older from tour groups. Our family room was absolutely Horrible.. the beds looked like they came from a prison ward. The room was clean though. We were 4 people and we all needed wi-fi. I personally was working and had something for work that I needed to get completed that afternoon. The wi-fi in the room does not work. They say it does but I went to the front desk and they said sometimes the old rooms, the wi-fi is not good so to come to reception area to use it. All four of us went downstairs and tried to use the wi-fi. it worked for 5 minutes then would cut out. Then we would try again.
I was upset because I needed to get something completed and to work that night and I could not use the wi-fi in the room and not downstairs in the lobby! Even our phone service kept cutting out.. kind of creepy. We finally called the Grand Hotel Tremezzo up the street and were able to book 2 rooms for 3 days. We literally ran up the block and had the porters at that hotel help us retrieve all our bags. I could not get out of that Hotel fast enough. I am never one to complain, but if you say you have wi-fi- have wi-fi.
We checked in and checked out the same day.
The hotel sent me an email saying they DO have wi-fi and will not refund my money.
Travelers BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marieclaire628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Despite having paid for a lake view, we found ourselves in a side room with a partial view over rooftops. However, after talking to the staff, we were moved the next day. This. was an unsettling start to the holiday. The room only had one chair, which we found inadequate considering the hotel caters for a more mature clientele. However the standard of service in the hotel was excellent. The staff were approachable and friendly. This was a Riviera holiday. We found the tours excellent and the guide outstanding. Overall an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in June 2014. It is supposed to have 4 stars but it really is a mixed experience and would not merit 4 stars in the UK. Plus points: fabulous lake side setting with wonderful views from the lake view rooms. It has a recently refurbished roof dining room and roof top bar and swimming pool.
Negative points: the rooms, even lake view with supplement are very basic. They were reasonably clean, though the wooden floor was gritty, with dated bathrooms. The wardrobe space for 2 people was tiny and there were only 2 drawers total so tight for space. The dressing table / desk was a Formica shelf with a mini bar fridge below. It had I wicker chair and I desk chair so no comfortable place to sit and read. The balcony we had was tiny but the view made up for it.
The breakfasts were poor, with very limited hot selection, a daily scramble to get a teapot for tea made with lukewarm water and no selection of breads and rolls, just sliced French bread and last nights dinner rolls. The evening dinner was a bit better. Towels were in short supply, we were given 2 'towelling' bath towels and an assortment on 'tea towels' for hands etc. The TV was an old fashioned portable set so high on the wall that the remote was ineffective and you couldn't read the screen. Only 1 English Channel, BBC World News.
Lake Como is beautiful and the hotel has a few pleasant bars and shops nearby to left and right.

Room Tip: Lake view room is essential. Rooms at the back face a steep incline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enjoyholidays33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
837 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: £163 - £872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing