We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior(Cadenabbia di Griante)
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riviera(Cadenabbia di Griante)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,410
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rusall(Tremezzina)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel La Darsena(Tremezzina)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Marie(Tremezzina)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Perla(Tremezzina)(Great Value!)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa La Mirabella(Cadenabbia di Griante)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alberghetto La Marianna(Cadenabbia di Griante)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,097 results
Traveller rating
283
438
231
93
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
438
231
93
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla carlottariviera travellake viewantipastififth floorsoup or pastaswimming pooltravel departmentbusy roadgrand staircasereception areaanti pastidining room islarge hotelstayed here for a weekeach eveningbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 1,097 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked a junior suite which was quite nice. But the rest of the hotel is totally run down. The breakfast buffet is one of the poorest I've ever seen. Internet access was painfully slow and complicated. Every 4 hours you need to enter a new access code which is given to you at the reception.
It's a real pity because the hotel is located in a beautiful place!

Room Tip: Junior Suite
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rekawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is set in stunning surroundings with lovely views. The reception rooms were beautifully decorated with interesting sculptures and art work. Our room was a decent size, comfortable and clean, with fresh towels and sheets every day. We were at the side of the hotel, but could still see the lake and mountains in the distance. The food was adequate, but disappointing. If you want to experience fine Italian cusine, this is not for you. Antipasti and desserts were good, though always the same. Main courses tasted like canteen mass catering, as the vegetables were obviously from frozen packets, and the meat was bland and tasteless. Our main gripe, though, is with the fact that staff at the reception will not allow you to print off your boarding passes, (essential for Ryan Air passengers) even if you offer to pay, and there is nowhere close by to do this. This is the first time we have ever been refused this service. We enjoyed our stay on the whole, but this was not a four star hotel by British standards.

Room Tip: Keep away from the front. The views are great but not worth the noise from a very busy road.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we stayed here at the beginning of July with Thomson.
The hotel was very clean, but certainly not 4 star as far as we were concerned.
The food was very average, bit like school dinners.
It's a shame, because we stayed at a fabulous 4 star hotel with Thomson at Lake Maggiore, so expected something similar this time.
Not awful, but difficult to recommend, although to be fair it wasn't hugely expensive, so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We decided to take a chance on it despite the low customer satisfaction rating. However, it is understandable why some folks write less than favorable reviews on the establishment. The positives of this hotel are the old styling, the views of and accesibility to the lake, and the views from the hotel restaurant. However, the staff need to do a much better job of keeping the place clean. It was necessary for us to leave our first room due to ants crawling en masse. Both of our rooms needed attention to walls, carpet, etc. We are travelers who appreciate simplicity and age in an establishment, but it is important for hotels to maintain exceptional cleanliness and this hotel will lose more rating points if they continue to fail to pay attention to details.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LLP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have recently returned from the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia. Disappointingly, on arrival no welcome from any member of staff. No help with luggage. The first night in the Restaurant - no Maitre D to be seen. No greeting of welcome! We were told "sit anywhere" by a miserable waiter who continued to be miserable throughout the whole of our 11 night stay. The buffet (being the first course each night) was very mean with limited choice. There were about 4 large platters of whatever was served had lashings upon lashings of mayo thrown over the food. The left over meat/fish from the previous night was then served the following night as a cold dish again with lashings of mayo thrown over. We usually had our evening meal at 7.30-ish (the restaurant opened at 7.00pm) and one evening I just managed to get the last couple of slices of smoked salmon - that platter was not replenished. A couple of nights, I did not want the fish on offer for the main course and without any problem they served an alternative. They do however cook fish extremely well. My husband's description of most main courses - was "school dinners" just so bland. We got the feeling that as the majority of guests were from the UK, the hotel thought that the food would do! Tea for two in the bar is charged at 8.eur - mostly served in chipped tea-pots. It also appeared that whatever time, we went in for breakfast - even a few mornings when we had very very early breakfast because we were doing trips - there were no tea-pots and we had to wait for them to be produced from the kitchen. We had a room with a lake view which was very comfortable and kept very clean, as were the public areas too. We did have a lovely holiday, we certainly did not go hungry, but unfortunately there was a complete lacking of public relations which spoilt it for us. We would not go back.

Room Tip: There was free wifi but as the hotel is a very old building - not available in the room Lake View is best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallypinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews