We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
327
481
250
100
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
481
250
100
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa carlotta travel department riviera travel lake view antipasti fifth floor soup or pasta floor restaurant swimming pool busy road grand staircase anti pasti reception area large hotel dining room is breakfast and dinner stayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Cadenabbia for our friends wedding. The outside architecture and lobby architecture is breathtaking. My teammates and I laid out at the pool for a little and it’s very nice. The food was exceptional too! The breakfast is top notch- the Nutella stuffed croissants and rice were my favorites! Make sure you ask for an UPDATED room! Our friends were in the room next to us, and they had wood floors and gorgeous tile- we had carpet. The balcony was gorgeous, and the bathroom was nice with a big bathtub but the room itself could use some updating. Overall it was a great stay, and for the money you really can’t beat it!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Tara,
Thank you for your positive feedback and indeed for choosing Grand Hotel Cadenabbia.
Hopefully we can cater to your needs again one day.

Regards

Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Initial impression exceeded expectations with a very nice reception area which is truly grand and was hosting an art exhibition of sculptures during our visit.
Lifts were roomy and modern but our garden view room was small and although being on the second floor the view was obscured by the steep land behind the hotel. The adjoining large bathroom was very well appointed and as we had obtained a very good discount from Inghams for the holiday we accepted the room's limitations.
The roof top bar area is very comfortable and has spectacular views and the restaurant also has a wow factor. The staff are very polite, efficient and friendly and the food very good. Contrary to earlier report, any wine left over from one evening was stored till next day. Pool was clean with plentiful sun loungers. Overall a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Courtauldbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Courtauldbowler,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia .
We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us , we are sorry the room did not fulfill your expectations but our receptiuon staff is always available to give you different alternative.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to lake Como.
Kind regards
Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This is one of the nicest luxury hotels I’ve stayed at. Everything about it feels very regal and yet brand new at the same type. Our palatial room was huge with a balcony overlooking the million dollar lake view, and overall just very comfortable.
We stayed five nights and had the delicious breakfast buffet every day in the restaurant which was practically a grand ballroom all dressed up in opulent white and gold. On our first morning, we were unfortunate to encounter a rude wait staff over a seating issue and who made us feel unwelcome. We informed the front desk of this guy’s behavior and were blown away when minutes later, Nicola from the restaurant arrived at our room with a chilled bottle of champagne plus a note of apology from the restaurant manager! Kudos to the front desk team and the restaurant staff (especially Nicola and Giuseppe) - they really went above and beyond to ensure we had outstanding service.
This property’s location was great for taking the bus along a very scenic route to Como, Menaggio, and Villa Balbaniello. The ferries to the other villages (Varenna, Bellagio, Bellano, etc) are just across the street. There’s also a speedboat rental nearby if you’re inclined to captain your own boat!
We had a fantastic stay and would love to return soon.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Lhaz,
Thank you for selecting Grand hotel Cadenabbia for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your kind words.
We are committed to providing the warmest of service and want to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay from the moment of arrival, to the time they depart so of course, it is with regret you felt otherwise.
So we are more than happy that our staff fixed the little problem you had at the breakfast time.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel just average at best. Room with lake room was newly decorated but was on the smallish side with little to no storage and a shower that only elves could shower in properly. We’d paid Half board but have spent only 1 night in the restaurant out of the 8 we’ve been here. Far to busy with a wait for the table, a wait for service and generally average food once delivered.
The staff try to do there best but are undermanned badly. There are better hotels locally and better areas to stay such as Tremezzo or Bellagio. Also wouldn’t stay there with children or are under the age of 75. Restaurant reminds me of gods waiting room.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tourist747830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear David C
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia.
Regarding shower in the room you were allocated in a room with a proper bath so not a shower ..this is the reason the headshower is 1,40 cm up from the bottom of the bath.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you had at the restaurant , your valuable comments on the areas of the hotel you experienced also encountered issues mostly regarding the service that was provided were not to the standard of a four star hotel .
Each of your comments have been communicated to management who are currently working on solutions to rectify these issues.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and reedem your opinion on our hotel.

Kind regards.

Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

The hotel is in a great position, with tremendous views over the lake. Our room was fine, with a huge balcony, which was extra. The bar staff were very efficient and friendly, as were the domestic staff. The big downfall was in the restaurant, particularly the poor quality of the food at dinner, especially the mains, and the slow service both at breakfast and dinner. It's never been my experience to approach the dining room at any other hotel with such trepidation. We were somewhat reassured by the intervention of Giuseppe, but he had a whole dining room to deal with. Could be a great hotel if the food at dinner was improved. One final point. In the nation that gave us gelato, why no ice cream?

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view but remember, it'll cost extra.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank GlesgaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor community.
Booking a room overlooking the lake is a must. Our hotel is in a really good position and there are many nearby restaurants and bars.
Moreover, our location is convenient as far as ferries and transports are concerned.
We are very surprised that our restaurant "Le Serre" did not please you and we are glad to know that Giuseppe reassured you in some way.
Kind Regards.

Daniele Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews