We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alfresco Dining Delicious on Lake edge”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a delight this was - so very reasonable and my Osso Bucco on polenta mash was 'to die for' - just as I had pictured for my Italian holiday - dining al fresco under grape trellis overlooking magical Lake Como, across to Bellagio. What a sight.
Waiter crossed the road from inside dining of hotel, but we Aussie ladies loved the outdoors.
My double room had views across the Lake, even from my bathroom.
Corridors furnished with lovely old fashioned side tables and chairs - and bus at door to return to Como station. Easy walk to magnificent Villa Carlotta. Do not miss visiting.

Room Tip: I would want to be at front of hotel - to capture the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a week at Lake Como.....wish I was still there! There were nine of us in our group, all friends. We all agreed Hotel Riviera was perfect for us. The family treatment is so much more than what a larger establishment can give. Andrea had great suggestions for us to do that will forever be in our best memories! It was very clean....and the view across to Bellagio with the mountains cannot be beat! The location is perfect for taking the boat or bus.
Go...relax, enjoy the beauty, and say hi to Andrea...he is the one who is always smiling!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TraceyClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It didn't start off to well(I'll explain later) but ended great. Andre ?? and his sister were the perfect hosts, very friendly and gave some good pointers for what to do. Also Cocoa was very friendly:)
Typical Continental breakfast which was great and lovely conversation with Andre at breakfast. Of course the rooms with a balcony are the best, but it was a bit chilly with the lake breeze. Absolute wonderful views. Our room #6 was spacious and clean. I would suspect that during the busy summer season that it might get a little loud facing the main road. Yes the lift was small but way better than dragging luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Due to there customs most business's close at 3 or 4pm and open back at 7pm for dinner. I loved the antique furnishings in the rooms and hallway . I can't say enough about the owners and their helpfulness , I became a little ill the last night and the next morning Andre accommodated us with water and crackers before the breakfast was available. He also escorted us to the bus stop outside the entrance, gave us specific instructions for the driver and even help load our luggage on the bus. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You !

Tip: If you plan on taking the train to Varonna and then the ferry over make sure you take the ferry that stops at Cadenabbia (the car ferry) other wise you end up 1/2 mile away at Villa Carlotta which the ticket guy said was very close to Cadenabbia. Dragging tons of luggage from there was NOT fun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

After traveling for 12 hours we arrived pulling our 24 inch suitcases a block from the ferry to the Riviera. From the moment we saw the building we knew it would not work out. We did check in however and upon the lugging our 24 inch suitcases into a tiny elevator, getting off in a dark, old, dingy hallway we proceeded to our room. The door was a double door but only one sue opened. We barely got our 24 inch suitcase through. The room had a double bed with just enough room to walk around, let alone a place for our two 24 inch suitcases. The bed was low to the ground with a cheap thin linens and bedspread.
We immediately went down and told the surly desk clerk that we were not going to stay. I informed her that there was no room to even open our suitcases. She responded by saying in a snarky tone of voice " then travel with smaller suitcases". Really!!!! She made other comments and charged us for 1night.
We ended up staying at the Brittania where we had a clean, much larger room. It is no Ritz and could use some updating, but it was 5 star compared to the Riviera!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Georgia924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Has I was a loleny traveller riding an old motorbike, the manager was nice and make me a nice price. All the staff speak english. The breakfast is very well for the price, Great scenic views. Road to noisy

Room Tip: Avoid noisy rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skywalker321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Absolutely loved, loved this gorgeous boutique hotel! Incredible value for room. Lovely, well decorated , very clean, great view of the lake.Very comfortable bed with super pillows! Good continental breakfast - croissants, fruit, cereal, toast, yogurt and large individual pots of coffee and/or cappuccino or espresso.
Our hosts Andrei and Sylvie went out of their way to make our stay the most enjoyable of our 16 days in Italy. Andrei even drove us to a restaurant he recommended and it was fabulous. He also opened early so we could have breakfast, before we caught the early morning ferry.
Ken and Lois Phoenix, Arizona

Room Tip: Close to good restaurants, also enjoyed the one with the hotel where we had good, friendly service b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Spacious, clean room. Balcony with a nice view of the lake. Modest continental breakfast provided. There is a lift. Family run hotel, the managers are friendly, helpful and speak good English. Bus stop is right across the road and Cadenabbia ferry terminal nearby. Sleep quality can be a bit poor for the following reasons: located right on the main road so can be a bit noisy with all the traffic driving past; one night we were woken at midnight by the manager’s barking dog that went on for half an hour which was VERY annoying; can hear toliets flushing and showers running in room next door. Despite this, it was a relaxing place to stay and we would visit again if visiting Lake Como in future. Am told that this side of the lake is more affordable than Bellagio on the other side.

Note: the restaurant is not managed by the hotel operators, but breakfast is served there. Service at restaurant during dinner is very poor. Lack of attention, took 20 minutes for waiter to give us a menu after we were shown to our table, and then again for our order to be taken; on second night, we left after being ignored again and waiting forever to get our menus. We ate at Ristorante Belle Isole instead – lovely meals and VERY attentive service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussy_traveller_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,162 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
955 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Regina 43, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: £72 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Hotel Riviera Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing