We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here whilst travelling around Italy and found it to be a fantastic little place. If you are looking for your cloned super euro hotel then forget it. It won't be for you. If you want quirky, quaint and oozing with character then you will love it. The rooms have lake views direct to Bellagio and the family that run it are super helpful. It is a great location to Base your visit to Como. If you do not have transport then the C10 bus from Como San Giovanni station Gets you right to the door.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Hannibal_biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Riviera in July. Initially we'd only intended a 2 night stay but the helpfulness of the staff and the perfect location convinced us to stay longer. The views are amazing and the staff went out of their way to make sure that our family group had rooms next to each other. Plenty of information and hints were also provided to ensure that our ongoing journey went smoothly.

Room Tip: A room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateGn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Overall fantastic locations, 3min walking distance from ferry to bellagio. 2 swimming pools in front of the hotel. Friendly staff. Very loud music outside hotel on daily basis. Avarage food. Big let down is out of date standard of the rooms( sort of 60'S decor). Our friend room was smelly, supposed to get fan in the room. Expensive price for this kind of rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great 5 night stay here. The location is fantastic right on the front, ask for a room with balcony is possible, fantastic views. Breakfast is more than adequate just continental, fresh coffee and loads of salami on request! The family who run it are laid back, friendly and helpful. We visited with friends and others who were part of a wedding party, we're made to feel very welcome. Rooms aren't too modern in decoration but have character and everything you need, bathroom was brand new. Would definitely recommend this place to others. You can use the pool at the hotel next door for a small fee. Fantastic holiday thank you!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank 1985anders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Super convenient to the the ferry. Can walk to Villa Carlotta with a short walk. Awesome view of Bellagio across the lake. Breakfast won't knock your socks off, but was certainly plenty. Simple decor. Like any hotel worth staying at in this area, it is right on the main street; as we had the windows open for the breeze off the lake, that meant there was street noise, but it was nothing excessive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rooindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Riviera is an excellent place to stay,- centrally situated on the lake, with a car ferry across to Bellagio regularly, and from there on to almost anywhere. The room was quite large, with a large and well appointed bathroom; breakfast was a very good buffet, and within an easy walking distance, there are a number of quite good restaurants, including the hotel itself. Hosts are friendly and helpful, especially Andrea. The only drawback is the noisy traffic, especially the motorbikes, which spoil an outdoor dinner. This subsides later at night , so sleeping is not a problem. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent a week at Lake Como with some long time friends. The trip was a wonderful experience and it was especially nice staying at the Hotel Riviera, we felt like family being there. Our host Andrea always offered great suggestions on where to go and what to do, and was always there to welcome us back from our excursions, with conversation and some stories. Our room had 3 balconies that overlooked the Lake, and what views of Bellagio and the mountains - spectacular! Also Andrea's sister was there to serve us all Cappuccino during the Continental breakfast. Now one must try the regional dish called 'Pizzoccheri' in the restaurant, along with other tasty entree's offered there. So try this Hotel, enjoy the views, and just relax with the family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,162 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
955 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Regina 43, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: £71 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Hotel Riviera Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing