We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Isola Rossa
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommend”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Helpful tour rep on arrival at airport. Took about an hour and a half to transfer to hotel but this gave us a great introduction to the island. Coach driver (and drivers in general over there) were careful and drove safely. Made very welcome at hotel. Great pool which never had more than 5 or 6 people in it. Food was amazing; the hotel switches between a buffet type service one night to a more formal waitress service the next. The upstairs restaurant is an absolute must and worth the extra 10 euros each. Well maintained hotel, very clean, very helpful, friendly staff. The whole place feels very secure and the use of free safes in the rooms enhanced this. If you want a negative about the place then it could only be the drinks prices. A beer costing 5 euros and a half decent bottle of wine costing 28 euros seemed a bit steep but then hey we were on holiday and everyone is feeling the pinch.

Excursions: Thomson offered four. We took the day trip to Corsica and the half day boat trip around the local coast. Both were great. Corsica: hour long coach tour in another direction. Again, a good view of the island and the coastline. Ferry ride to Corscia (another hour) then the day wandering around Bonafacio; a fantastic picturesque little town with plenty to see and do. The Thomson arranged boat trip was great. 12 people plus our rep on a Rib slowly cruising around the little coves near our hotel. Several opportunities to snorkel and swim (take your own snorkels) and the owner of the boat puts on a small lunch as well. Four hours well worth the 30 euros.

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brundlefly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    181
    52
    15
    8
See reviews for
88
412
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed in one of the two bedroom villas offered by the Hotel Relax. Villa was excellent with lovely views and well equipped (although no microwave was a shame when wanting to heat baby milk/food). The hotel has a wonderful pool and pleasant staff and if you are happy to do very little and just lounge in the sun, eat and drink it may well be for you. However, we had two young children with us and very much wanted great beaches and a good variety of restaurants, which is not something Isola Rossa offers. It's two beaches are average at best for Sardinia and I was a little surprised having read many good comments on here about them. But just drive 45 minutes northeast along the coast towards Santa Teresa and there are lots of stunning beaches with finer sand, more gentle sloping (good for small kids) and aqua blue water. So after a few days of being disappointed by the beaches at Isola and nearby by Badesi we spent the rest of the holiday driving 30-60 minutes each day to get vastly better beaches (thank goodness for the hire car). In terms of restaurant there are one or two decent ones in Isola Rossa but on a two week self catering holiday we soon found the choice somewhat limiting. Overall, a good holiday but not great and that's probably my fault for not doing enough research and choosing a better resort. 4 stars for the Villa/hotel, 2 stars for Isola Rossa.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank CheshamMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The rooms of the hotel are horrible, TV out of date, old and noisy AC, food really average, nothing to do in the hotel or in the town. And not too many choices for eating out also - there are 3 restaurants in the town I think. No beach, just rocks. Internet only at the reception and for a price - this is not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. Very expensive also.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ana0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diggle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here in Sept 2010. The hotel was lovely, conveniently located for local beaches and shops. The food in the restaurant was excellent. They have a large pool which was never overcrowded although was a little cold. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We went towards the end of season so the management were beginning to close things down, i.e. the evening entertainment and the roof top restaurant, however this wasn't a problem for us. The area of Isola Rossa is very quiet, ideal for relaxing and taking it easy, but not if nightlife is your thing. Also, another reviewer commented on the number of steps - they are right, there are steps to get everywhere, to rooms, to the pool, to the restaurant and some steep paths down to the rocks and the beaches. Definitely not for those with walking difficulties. Also, the hotel doesn't have its own beach, but there are 2 really good ones within about 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digglerjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We booked our trip through justsardina.co.uk and I must say we are so happy that we did. We travelled with our 2 year old. We stayed at the Villa Oleandri which is adjacent to the Hotel Relax Torreruja. So we actually didn´t stay in the hotel at all. We had our own 2-bed room house with two terraces. The view was amazing.

New and very clean villa. 4 star hotel, definately.

We could use the amazing pool with the view at the adjacent hotel and also have drinks there and use their wireless internet in the evenings for a small cost. The restaurant had only set menus for 50 euros each in the evening.

Isola Rossa is a very quite village and not much to do in the evenings. But for us it was ok. A car is a must to drive to other villages in the area.

I definately can recommend to book through justsardina.co.uk. They even gave us a goody bag with things you need + wine :-) when we arrived to the villa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icing70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. It's a short walk into the village with its beaches and shops. There's not a great deal to do in the village other than lie on the beach or do boat trips, so if you want to explore, you need a hire car (when we enquired about it at the hotel, it was very expensive – worth booking in advance to see if you can get a cheaper deal). On a few evenings there were markets on the streets, which were nice to look around.
Undoubtedly the best thing about the hotel was the food, especially the evenings when a la carte was served. Every dish was like something from Masterchef, cooked well and always hot. And there was plenty of it – you won't be hungry. Table service was very friendly and staff spoke English (although we made an effort to speak Italian to them, which they all seemed to appreciate).
The room was comfy and our balcony overlooked the spa. Yes, the television was old, but this didn't bother us, since we spent most of our time outdoors anyway. The only complaint we had about the room was that it wasn't well sound-proofed (as with so many hotels these days), so we'd always hear the tok-tok-tok of our neighbours walking up and down their room in heels at night.
But this was a lovely quiet and relaxing hotel and one I'd recommend – a nice change from the tower blocks you get in many resorts.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The setting of this hotel and the outside areas pool, gardens etc., and lovely but this is not a hotel for anyone who has a disability as there are stairs/steps absoutely everywhere. The rooms are clean and well attended but they certainly don't deserve a 4 star rating. The staff at the hotel are all very helpful and attentive. We travelled with Thomson's and are extremely disappointed that they list the spa, but don't anywhere mention that you have to pay 22 euros for half a day's use for this and the gym. My husband is a keen runner and likes to use the gym and when we book our holidays always look for these facilities and have never had to pay extra for any of these facilities. The food was advertised as buffet, which we had a couple of times during the week and then the rest of the time you ordered your evening meal at breakfast. The food of a good standard. Drinks very expensive at the hotel and as the week progressed they ran out of a popular wine that we had the first couple of days, some bottled lagers not available due the fact that they gearing up to close down for the season. This is a very quiet resort and you do need a car to get around as there is no local bus service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishyouwerehere12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isola Rossa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & SPA
141.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#3 of 5 in Isola Rossa
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
513 reviews
33.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
734 reviews
42.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa

Property: Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa
Address: Via Tanca della Torre, 07038 Isola Rossa, Trinita d'Agultu e Vignola, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Trinita d'Agultu e Vignola > Isola Rossa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Isola Rossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso And Spa
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso Isola Rossa
Hotel Torreruja
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa Sardinia/Isola Rossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing