We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice small family run hotel”
Review of History Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
History Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Valderice
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice small family run hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very clean and comfortable small family run hotel. The staff are very helpful, but don't speak much English. They serve delicious home in made cakes for breakfast - don't expect a healthy option! It is in a small back street in a bland small town, but very convenient for visiting Erice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    32
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TEL-AVIV
Level Contributor
180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We choosed it by chance and had no big expectation from a 3 stars. However it was a pleasantr surprise . Rooms are large enough and family is friendly and helpful though they do not speak English. Breakfast is small but suffivcient with no selection. Recommended when you go to Erice

Room Tip: Ask for a good restaurant for dinner there are not too many around
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BALDWIN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Extremely well finished and clean family run hotel. The rooms are nice, spacious and quite and have a nice good sized bathroom with sea view at a distance. The hotel is completely run by family members who are very nice, kind, helpful and always up for a chat.

The family can also cook for you on request. We had a great home made 4 course Siclian meal at a very reasonable price.

The Hotel has a 24hr reception and bar.

The only thing which I was not satisfying is the breakfast since they only serve various sweet pastries such as croissants, bread and butter, fruit juices and yogurts. I can;t say whether this is more or less than other hotels offer since more often than not we prefer to stay in self catering accommodation but I would've liked a little more option for breakfast.

Otherwise, I strongly recommend this Hotel.

The family is not strict on rules. There is no specific time to have breakfast and if you wish to bring in your own pizza and drinks they would allow you and even supply you with plates, forks, glasses etc..

The town itself is not very interesting but if you have a car (make sure you do) it is positioned in a perfect central location to explore the region of Trapani, just a 15 min drive from Erice and Trapani.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NevilleBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Good hotel , very nice family run and excellent food.They use only whats fresh from the market !One sorry point is the position : its hidden in the back streets of Valderice and not all the locals know the place,also Valderice is not one of the nicest of town but it is a good cheap alternative to visit Erice ,Trapani and so on.Can't fault the cleanliness!Enjoy!

Room Tip: sea facing are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baronv_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Second visit this year worth stopping off for a couple of days. Handy for Trapani airport, Erice, and the nearby coast. Breakfast spartan but the dinner well worth the wait. Just try it...Bedrooms very clean basic but enough to get by with and safes in room. Friendly, friendly, friendly!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valderice
1.5 mi away
Resort Parco degli Aromi
Resort Parco degli Aromi
#1 of 7 in Valderice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Torre Xiare Hotel Villaggio
2.5 mi away
Tonnara Di Bonagia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Ciuri di Badia
Hotel Ciuri di Badia
#1 of 1 in Buseto Palizzolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Zina Park Hotel
Villa Zina Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Custonaci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Centrum Hotel Residence
Centrum Hotel Residence
#5 of 7 in Valderice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to History Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about History Hotel

Property: History Hotel
Address: Via Salemi 5, 91019 Valderice, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Valderice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Valderice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — History Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your History Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
History Hotel Valderice, Sicily - Province Of Trapani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing