We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully quirky retreat”

Review of Terramare

the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the property
camelia the garden with palms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
the property
camelia
the garden with palms
the terrace
poppy
poppy
poppy
camelia
the property
camelia
iris
iris
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Valderice, Province of Trapani, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marky672
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quirky retreat”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful retreat, Phil and Roberta have created a quiet oasis full of charm. I stayed in the larger flat which has a large bedroom with its own balcony, where you could sit in the morning looking out over lemon trees and the massive rows of palms which trail up the drive to the house that sits ats the top of the property.
The homes form part of what must have been the gatekeepers lodge, and Phil and Roberta have built a stunning little refuge in the garden which is shared by guests and has a barbecue and chillout area.
You can spend days relaxing here, or you can venture out to the beach, visit the local sites or national parks. A beautiful spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The isolation, views and quietness
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice D
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely apartment and beautiful grounds to stay in. Enjoyed staying at Terramare very much, the owner Roberto was very helpful especially when my partner forgot his driving licence and we felt a little stranded without a car. She pulled out all the stops to get us help in getting around. The town of Valderice was lovely, we found the people pleasant and friendly and enjoyed our trips out to Erice and Favignana. Would definitely go back again! Sicily is a beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The terrace outside the apartment and the kittens
Liked least: Having no wi-fi which is being installed next year by Roberta
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainco...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding - a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed at many boutique hotels that could learn a thing or two from this place. We chose this place because it was convenient for visiting several different areas of Western Sicily but on arrival we were really surprised how nice the apartment was. It is quirkily furnished by someone who has a real eye for interior design. Interesting pieces are all around, and it is incredibly well equipped and clean. I loved that fact that the old pizza oven is one of the kitchen cupboards.

The real delight of this place though actually isn't the apartments, or the big terraces, or the Cabine (BBQ and general bo-ho chill out shack), its the two hectares of walled garden that you share with the other guests. You could be a million miles away from anywhere at times. Some is carefully managed and much is left wild to explore.

We travelled with our 18 month years old daughter. Roberta (the owner) could not have been more accommodating as we asked her to provide a travel cot. Sure enough, there it was. Our little one loved just running around and we could relax knowing that she couldn't get into too much trouble (or escape).

I wasn't sure about Valderice to start with. Its a sleepy village / market town but it really grew on me the more we strolled around it. It most certainly isn't a tourist town; this is real Sicily and has some wonderful quirks. Brilliant location as well for getting to Trapani Old Town, the beach at San Vito lo Capo, the ancient village of Erice, the astonishing Roman village at Segesta etc. Even Palermo was only 90 mins away and despite the fruity driving techniques of Palermo residents, its a fascinating town.

Overall, I'd love to go back to Terramare. We thought it was exceptional value for money; somewhere with a real character and a bit of luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment furnishing and the walled gardens
Liked least: The street signs aren't great but once you get there its an easy route to remember
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABRIZIO...
Orsago, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: la tranquillità del posto e vicinanza agli altri luoghi di interesse
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muratelli...
Selva di Altino, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonella...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina...
Monza, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in April 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Il bellissimo giardino e la possibilità di viverlo
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing