We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Rifugio d'Altri Tempi
Ranked #22 of 23 Montalcino B&B and Inns
Vinhedo, SP
Level Contributor
191 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Cozy”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I went to Montalcino and chose this B&B because of it's location. Right in front of the fortress, close to restaurants and to some wineries.
The owner, Claudia, is very friendly and invites you to enjoy her restaurant and to take a tour thru her family's winery.
Exceptional wines, great food and brethtaking views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    29
    15
    10
See reviews for
14
54
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The location was perfect and we took advantage of the free tour of the Padaletti wine cellars (within the town walls) and 10% off dinner at their local restaurant.

Room was small, door didn't fit the frame, bed was squeaky, bathroom small and shower stall very small. But, considering the location, the price was right. Slight inconvenience going to another Osteria for breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emmamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a long hard walk to Montalcino,particularly as Montalcino is at 600m altitudfe,this was the perfect place to rest our weary limbs,open the window and you look straight out on the Fortress,the town is easy to explore from here,and there are plenty of restaurants nearby

The room was spacious and as it was on the top floor there was an area on the landing with table ,chairs and seating,where we could relax

The girl who welcomed us was superb ,very welcoming and efficient

Breakfast had plenty of variety,bread could have been fresher

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WALKTHEWORLD187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The position is the best: just in front of the Fortezza, 50 meters from it! The building is old, well restructured, with small rooms and functioning services, cool during a hot August, with no mosquitos (probably for the high and windy site). In addition, it is relatively cheap: 60 € per night for one person. Unfortunately the owners are a bit dowdy. The breackfast is served normally late with careless service (one day there was no whyte yogourt, another day there were only few slides of ham from the day before, lot of industrial pastries). Some of the staff are not particularly available. There are no instructions on how and when the rooms may be cleaned and the towels changed. Hope they will take the necessary measures.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnzoCaputo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The location of this hotel is very good right opposite to the fortezza and the main shopping streets and restaurants. We had a nice and cosy double room with a tiled ceiling, wooden furniture, a french balconette and a big and clean bathroom. The hostess was welcoming and she helped us book a wine tour. There was no hair dryier in the room but after asking about it she brought us one.

Breakfast was disappointing. Cappuccino was bad and plastic packed croissants were dry and tasteless. Fruit juices and jogurts were good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerttuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Although we made our reservations 6 months in advance, we were unable to book several choices ahead of this hotel. The location is good - right across the street from La Fortezza and in walking distance to many restaurants and enotecas. The room, a triple, was nice and the bed was very comfortable. Before we arrived, the hotel staff arranged 2 private winery tours for us. When we checked in we were told that the front desk was open from 8 AM to 6 PM. However, there was no one at the front desk most of the time. The breakfast room was supposed to be available from 8 - 10. However, when we went down to breakfast at 8:10, the room was not set up. In fact, the employee arrived to work at around 8:20 AM. The worst thing, however, was the shower and state of the bathroom. The shower was extremely small and it was impossible to take a shower without flooding the bathroom. The staff made our bed everyday and replaced the towels, which seemed to be the extent of their housekeeping. They did not clean the bathroom at all, leaving a dirty shower. Nor did they replace the shampoo. On our last morning, we could not shower due to the lack of shampoo. There was liquid hand soap by the sink and no soap for the shower. The liquid hand soap just did not work very well. I do not recommend staying here unless it is your only choice.

Room Tip: We chose a triple room even though we were only two people. Having the extra room was very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montalcino hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Fantastic setting and staff, with rooms full of warmth and character and at an excellent price. Rooms with views of the old Fortezza and within 5 minutes walk of all the excellent wine related shops and restaurants of Montalcino. As a base for your holiday be it business or pleasure this is a perfect place to stay. In particular if you are there for wine you are within 15 minutes drive of all the important estates of Montalcino (Sesti, Poggio Antico, Gaja Pieve Santa Restituta, Biondi Santi) and Il Rifugio has safe free parking. Highly recommended and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view of the Fortezza. A pleasure to wake up to such a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winephilosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#10 of 17 in Montalcino
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
155 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
626 reviews
7.0 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Rifugio d'Altri Tempi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Rifugio d'Altri Tempi

Property: Il Rifugio d'Altri Tempi
Address: Via Panfilo Dell'Oca 3, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Rifugio d'Altri Tempi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing