We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even in the rain you will be in heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Even in the rain you will be in heaven”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My family took a week vacation to Italy at the end of May. Castiglione del Bosco was our stop between Florence and Rome. It is hard to describe how spectacular the stay was, it was really that perfect. We were unable to get regular rooms so ended up staying in a 3 bedroom villa a short walk from the main complex. I believe it could easily sleep at least 7-8 every room was extremely oversized, the kitchen and living room as large as those in my own home. The view from the pool and the villa looked like it was out of a painting. (It rained or was grey all 3 days we were there and it was still magnificent-in fact my holiday card this year is pics from this villa)

However, it is not just the accommodations that make this a special place. It is the staff that works there who bend over backwards to meet every need of ours. We took a pasta cooking class where we got many useful tips and we had a wine tour of the estate which was comprehensive and included incredible wines. Basically you never have to leave the property. We did for other wine tours but felt we should have spent all time there.

We ate every meal there. All the food and all the wine was superb. Even in a 3 day period the staff gets to know the guest preferences well.

Yes it is very expensive, but we will definitely go back-hopefully with a little sun the next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    12
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
55
174
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

What used to be an old village became one of the most charming and romantic scapes right in the heart of Tuscany. Awesome rooms, superb service and unbelievable wines produced in the property. The views are stunning and the surroundings are beautiful. There are a handful of famous little towns at less than an hour of the hotel. The golf course in the middle of the mountains is one of a kind! Great for a full week of relaxation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Mind blowing, spectacular experience that connects you with Old World Italy while pampering you with stunning location, feeling, Amazing staff that strive to make you feel at home. All this coupled with Ferragamo style, taste and thoughtful finishes and touches that force you to soak in the fact that you are in a VERY SPECIAL place. It is that perfectly correct. And.. No we have no previous connection to this fairy tale property and all it has to offer. But we do now and will be back As Soon As Possible. There aren't enough stars for this. Do yourself the favor of a lifetime. Book this property and look forward to memories you will never forget.

Room Tip: We did not go to the spa, so cannot rate it, but only assume it as phenomenal an experience as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBragg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It was, hands down, the best hotel me and my husband stayed in our honeymoon. The service is amazing, everyone knows your name, and your wish is a order... Great wine, great rooms, great view. The best hotel i know. It´s almost like another universe!

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luiza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in September and really didn't want to leave. This is a truly luxurious experience. The hotel, a restored and converted Tuscan village , complete with its own ruined castle and tiny church with a medieval fresco, is enchanting . The setting is magnificent amid the Tuscan hills and though remote ,it is still well placed for sightseeing, walking and wine tasting.
The service is impeccable throughout and the rooms , though a little short on drawer space, are spacious and luxurious. Nothing to dislike really.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

What can you say about Castiglion Del Bosco apart from wow. Firstly, it is an effort to get there, about a 2 hour or so drive from Pisa airport, however once you get past Siena the drive becomes scenic and a beautiful introduction to the Tuscan landscape. The resort itself is located atop a hill accessed via a long winding gravel road from Buanconvento in one direction or from Montalcino in the other.

Upon arrival the service is immediately impeccable. The concierge took our bags to our room and parked our car while we were shown round the resort.

The facilities are the epitome of Tuscan beauty. The pool overlooks the Montalcino valley, there is a beautiful Kitchen Garden where many of the ingredients for Il Drago and La Cannonica are sourced and the main village is immaculately presented.

Whilst staying we took advantage of the activities and did a wine tasting and look at the amazing cellars of La Cantina, the resorts amazing Brunello producing winery. Our host was lovely and the personal attention certainly made us feel special. We also tried our hand at archery which was great fun and a real treat considering the local traditions the sport has.

The food at the resort was amazing in both restaurants and at breakfast. Both serve local specialities as well as other Italian dishes such as seafood hailing from the chef's home area further south in Italy. The Senese prosciutto and salami was a personal highlight.

Our room was incredible, a junior suite, and one that we were delighted to spend time in given the weather was poor for two of our days. The hotel specialises in little touches that make a big difference. The bathroom is stocked with Salvatore Ferragamo toiletries, unsurprising given the hotel is owned by Massimo and Chiara Ferragamo, the mini bar of mostly soft drinks is complementary and regularly restocked, as are the delicious homemade biscuits, while there is a great selection of on demand movies that are, again, complementary, and perfect for a rainy afternoon.

The resort is beautiful, the staff are courteous, the rooms are immaculately presented, the beds are comfortable, the views are spectacular, the wine is magnificent and the facilities excellent. Sure it's pricey, we certainly had to save up to come here, but it was worth every penny. The resort caters to millionaires but makes every guest feel special. My one issue is perhaps the price of the activities, we'd have loved to have done a cooking class but balked at €200 a head.

Regardless, should you be able to save up enough to come here, do. It is worth the effort to get here and every penny spent doing so, as close to the perfect resort as we've yet to find.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisjg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Castiglion del Bosco is much more than a hotel. It is a universe! Located about 15 km from Montalcino, we reached the hotel by driving on a 10 km dirt road. And after about 5 km on that road we were already on the 4000 acre property. Owned by a branch of the Ferragamo family, the hotel was created to be a discreet hideaway for an elite clientele.

The main part of the all-suite 5 star plus hotel is the Castilion itself, an entire village built in about the 12th century. The village houses have been converted to luxury suites, the main building (where the lord of the village lived) houses a large “living room” lounge and a few suites and the gastronomic restaurant Ristorante Il Drago that serves beautifully cooked mixture of traditional Tuscan dishes and innovative “neaveau Tuscan” invention of the chef. There is a simpler restaurant next door, the Osteria La Canonica, that serves foods such as pizzas, pastas, salads and a few specials of the day. And then there are the spa, the ruins of a 11th century fortress (now partially converted into a villa) a swimming pool and fitness center overlooking a valley of olive grows and vineyards and the village of Montalcino in the background. But that’s not all! The Castilion has the small the Church of San Michele, with an outstanding 14th fresco "Annunciazione dei Santi" by Pietro Lorenzetti, one of the most beautiful golf courses in the world (only open to hotel guests and members of the property’s exclusive golf club). And, most importantly for wine lovers, the Castigion produces exceptional wines in its winery.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
383 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
602 reviews
4.2 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
4.5 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
126 reviews
15.4 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco

Property: Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Address: Loc. Castiglion Del Bosco, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the UNESCO-listed Val d'Orcia Natural Park and in the heart of the Brunello di Montalcino wine-making region, Castiglion del Bosco is a 5000-acre country estate.Today, Castiglion del Bosco is a unique combination: it's one of Tuscany's largest private estates; it's an elegant Tuscan home away from home with a range of elegant and spacious suites and villas; it's a superb culinary destination, an exclusive private golf club and a leading Brunello di Montalcino winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing