We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent 2 weeks in Italy and this by far was our favorite place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were like living in a very nice home. The dining room had an incredible view and the breakfast and dinners were perfect. We can't wait to return. I am confused by another review about the charges for water and delivery. We had a minibar stocked with water, beer, soft drinks, and snacks that was replenished each day. The day we left there were bottles of water and a bag of treats left in our car for us to enjoy! A very nice touch.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    12
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
55
174
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Being invited to join a golf trip at Siena, Tuscany, and stayed at CdB, Montalcino. It is a lovely and exclusive golf resort. Venue was great and the services were excellent. It is pricy but they do delivery exceptional services.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmtsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This place really lives up to the above description. One of the most beautiful settings anywhere in Italy. The golf course is absolutely manicured. The homes the villas in the Borgo are an architectural masterpiece. Now comes the flipside. The food is mediocre at best. The prices are extravagantly out of this world. There's service is average of a nickel and dime you for every extra. For example if you asked for a bottle of water not only do they charge for this an additional €10 charge for delivery. The golf course staff is probably the only five-star in the whole place. There is a double charge for just about everything. They supplied us with a distant calculator but that was an additional €15 per day we were there for six days we could've bought it, instead of renting. This could have been the stay of a lifetime, instead it was highly disappointing obviously because the management is more interested in small revenues than the overall goodwill of their clientele. I am positive that the owners, the Ferragamo family, is not aware of this because of their high reputation for value and goodwill to the clients.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I can't possibly manage to encapsulate how excellent an hotel this is. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been and, although I have only reviewed a couple of hotels on here, I have been very spoilt and visited many around the world.

The rooms were fantastic. We were in a Junior suite and it was positively palatial. The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in aside from my own, and a beautiful bathroom.

The food was excellent. Two restaurants; we ate at the same one both nights because it was so blinking good the first night.

The Staff are charm personified. Attentive, yet not obsequious.

They have a Golf course so beautiful that it inspired me, a 31-year-old man who has never touched a Golf club before in his life, to have a lesson.

My girlfriend and I are thinking of getting married just so we have an excuse to go back at the first available opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humphrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the dinner immensely. Pleasant atmosphere, great quality service, but most importantly - the food was delicious! Especially the tiramisu - if you haven't tried it here, you don't know what a real tiramisu should taste like!
Мы получили истинное удовольствие от ужина. Прекрасная атмосфера, великолепное обслуживание- но самое главное- еда потрясающая! Особенно тирамису, если вы не пробовали его здесь, вы не знаете вкус настоящего тирамису!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pakhulskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Where to start!?

I chose CdB as the location to propose to my girlfriend and what a place it was. CdB's Adrian was brilliant in helping me plan the proposal within the vineyard and had organised everything down to the last, meaning that when we arrived (very late due to traffic and road closures right next to CdB!) all we had to do was check in and Adrian and his colleagues took care of everything else in such a seemless manner that my girlfriend did not suspect a thing! the setting was perfect and my girlfriend, now fiance will remember the location and what the staff did for us that day forever.

We stayed in one of the Terraced Suites and it was immaculate, the level of detail in every part of the suite/hotel was like nothing i have ever witnessed, it had absolutely everything we could have wanted and more than we could have imagined! The service in the restaurants by Matias and the rest of the staff was world class and they looked after our every need, they were in a word, perfect.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and its staff, well done all.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure there arent any road closures as the reroute is a nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

To start with the positives, the quality of the resort and staff at Casiglion is off the charts. We stayed in the Oliveria Villa which had 3 bedrooms, a huge fully functional kitchen and a private pool not to mention many other amenities. The actual resort itself is stunning, with panoramic views of Montalcino including the town itself. The gym, sports facilities, hiking etc are all first class with no expenses spared. The staff including Silvia were fantastic and helped considerably especially in booking restaurants. We also took a cooking class with Andrea who was amazing! Definitely worth the money. The main issue we had is the resort is very secluded and the time we visited one of the bridges was under construction. This meant a lot of driving through dirt roads which were not well maintained until you reach the resort. Thus it was slightly inconvenient to leave in order to check out the surrounding towns. The staff at the restaurant were wondering but the quality of the food was not really that great considering the prices. I'd finish by saying that the kitchens in the villas are good enough so that there is no real need to eat out. We went shopping at the local In Coop and cooked the last night we were there, bought our own wine and had a great evening.

Room Tip: The villas are pricey but worth it. We thought the Oliveria was the best suited because it was close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
4.2 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
23.8 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
15.4 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco

Property: Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Address: Loc. Castiglion Del Bosco, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the UNESCO-listed Val d'Orcia Natural Park and in the heart of the Brunello di Montalcino wine-making region, Castiglion del Bosco is a 5000-acre country estate.Today, Castiglion del Bosco is a unique combination: it's one of Tuscany's largest private estates; it's an elegant Tuscan home away from home with a range of elegant and spacious suites and villas; it's a superb culinary destination, an exclusive private golf club and a leading Brunello di Montalcino winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing