We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscan Retreat”
Review of Suite d'Artista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suite d'Artista
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tuscan Retreat”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

In the middle of our trip touring Italy, we decided to unwind at this place, before we move on to touring Spain.

I found this place through Airbnb, however, after booking it, I realized they had their own website.

The grounds are beautiful. Well groomed, and an amazing view. The property has a tiny little pool to cool off, but it wasn't heated. We didn't go in, but it was nice to have the option. Any water around is calming.

We stayed in the 2nd suite, and the entrance had a large cactus plant (overgrown aloe plant if you ask me). Note to the owners, it must be groomed - if you're not careful, you could walk into it after a night of drinking all that wine.

The town is extremely quiet - even this is an understatement. Montalcino is a romantic little village, great for baby making, or unwinding by the poolside before you continue your tour of Europe. The village is all uphill and downhill. Wear comfortable shoes to walk.

Andrea and Lisa Jane were amazing. Great service, informative, and are always happy to suggest and help.

To get here: easiest way is if you rent a car and have gps. We didn't. But, it was easy to get here by train. We took a train from Florence (Trenitalia) to Buonconvento station. There was a stop in Siena. Note, these are regional trains and aren't necessarily punctual as the other trains in Europe. Give yourself time to catch the connecting train. Once you get to Buonconvento, cross the street and take Bus #114 to Montalcino. Lisa Jane and Andrea will help out with the rest of the way.

Room Tip: Take a wine tour. Buy some Brunello wine. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdakran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We found this Accomodation on the Internet after deciding we wanted to drive to Montalcino for a visit and then stay over night so as we could enjoy the atmosphere and the Brunello, especially the Brunello . We were med by Andreas very charmingly and helped us by showing how to get our Range Rover up the narrow passage ways and into his parking space . We stayed in BASILICO ( which I note that a previous poor review had slated . I note this is the only poor review ever received by the hotel) the room was actually lovely , well designed , very accommodating, bright , well fitted out ( even had a bath) and opened onto a lovely little piece of virtually private garden with garden furniture . The other owner or manager Lisa Jane half Nottingham, half Sienese was delightful , super helpful and really informative . It was our wedding anniversary and she advised and booked a romantic restaurant and told us the better Entoca's to buy our wines in ( hence the Range Rover) The suites are in easy access (5 mins) to the heart of town and well placed to get back at night from a night on the local Sangiovese . W slept really well , peaceful surroundings , good air conditioning , complimentary water and coffe for the morning . If you want to relax the zoned gardens , open plan but with each piece attaching itself to a room sufficiently to feel private we're perfect and the dipping pool was a little haven . Any questions were easily answered and I wished our little stay had been 3 or 4 days rather than 1 . For the record to harp back to that previous one bad critique , Montalacino was a lovely atmospheric hill town that despite inventing and monopolising one the Worlds great wines had remained totally charming not at all pretentious , not touristy( we found a locals market and bought cheeses, cured meats and clothes with banter and at local prices ) and certainly not a decrepit little peasant town as our earlier mentioned critique had described .
We are highly recommending to my friend who is visiting with his family in a month . I would love to return

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank siezahedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed in the Riddell suite for a full week, the largest at Suite d'Artista, and loved every moment. Andrea and Lisa are not just leasing agents, they are perfect hosts. Montalcino is a great home-base for day trips all around Tuscany - even the beach. We certainly echo the comments of others that loved the property, and truly hope to be able to return someday.

Room Tip: If renting a car, rent a small one, as the streets in Montalcino can be very narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuiteArtista, Direttore at Suite d'Artista, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you so much Richard, we appreciate your kind words. We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your time here with us, and it was a real pleasure meeting you and your family.
We wish you all the best and hopefully we'll see you again!
Ciao and Cheers,
Lisa & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We can only repeat what other people have said about this place: absolutely fabulous! We stayed in the DiSilvestre room, which had high ceilings, a well equipped kitchen with modern utilities and a perfect garden to have breakfast or lounge during the day and night.
Andrea is super helpful with every question you may have. He even came with us to show us the way, as driving in Montalcino is a bit of an adventure. Montalcino itself is a super cute town and everything can be reached within 10minutes on foot, though the streets are very steep.

You do your own breakfast here, but everything (bread, jam, coffee, tea, youghurt, milk) is provided. You can also pick the fresh herbs in the garden for cooking- wonderful!
Free, well functioning Internet throughout.

A true gem, so we'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Di Silvestre, if you like high ceilings and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fashionlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuiteArtista, Direttore at Suite d'Artista, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very nice review, we really appreciate it, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Suite d'Artista.
All the best, see you soon and cheers from Montalcino!!
Andrea & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I sort of hate to write this review because I don't want the secret to get out about this place. Suite D'Artista is phenomenal in every way! It's like having your own private flat in the gorgeous Tuscan hill town of Montalcino!

We rented the smallest guest room, the Basilè, for two nights. It was absolutely beautiful! This room is tucked away from the main area so you have a little private garden and gazebo right outside your front door. (See my photos, including the picture of the view from the front door)! The flat was tastefully decorated in a modern style with furnishings from Ikea. The room had a weird layout but it worked and was perfect for us. Internet was free, and the in-room refrigerator was stocked with a few essentials. The kitchenette was nice as well (a basket of snacks was also provided, as was an in-room Nespresso espresso machine).

The bathroom was modern and outfitted with pretty travertine stone. A rainfall shower head and large soaking tub completed the room and made for a relaxing time. It also impressed me how the owner thought of EVERYTHING -- our room had wine glasses, a bottle opener, paper towels, plates, a cheese knife, candles and matches....it was amazing. Everything you could possibly want or need was in the room! The windows opened easily for fresh air and the a/c unit worked great.

The property is very quiet and in an old neighborhood. I loved being surrounded by the brick houses and had fun watching the locals (and their dogs) go about their everyday lives. There are several fruit trees and an herb garden (guests were welcome to pick and eat the fruit and use the fresh herbs), a grill, and a washing machine that you can use for 5 Euros per load (no dryer, you could hang your clothes on the clothesline in the courtyard).

The property is at the bottom of a very steep hill. You can walk into town but the direct route is up a flight of VERY steep stairs. We needed the workout, but older folks should be aware of this. There's also a longer way to walk into town but it's still uphill and may prove difficult for some. Montalcino is a quiet, sleepy little town and is absolutely gorgeous. It really feels like you are in some sort of fairy tale movie!

The owner, Lisa, is a true gem. She is SO kind, caring and considerate. She is a wonderful proprietor and gave us great suggestions on things to do in the area. She welcomed us like members of the family and helped us when we needed her (yes, even when our car got STUCK on one of the town's hilly streets late at night -- she came to our rescue). Her demeanor was always SUPER positive and wonderful, I can't say enough about her and her property. She is one of the most genuine, kind people I have ever met anywhere in the world.

The biggest negative is this: the property is located within the old city walls. We had a rental car and driving is NOT easy. First off, the property is VERY difficult to find and the narrow streets are VERY difficult to navigate. In fact, the only reason I'd hesitate to stay here again is the driving. It is so stressful and parking is tough too. There's a very tiny lot attached but it fits only 3 cars; when it's full, you must find parking on the street out front. If you are not comfortable driving on VERY narrow and hilly streets (I mean SUPER NARROW, we got our car stuck a few times) and one-way / dead end streets, you might not be comfortable here. I don't want to dissuade anyone from staying at this property because it is so nice, but the driving is super difficult and people should be aware of that.

I can't wait to return to Montalcino. I will definitely stay here again in a heartbeat. It's one of the greatest guest houses in the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moviegal226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuiteArtista, Direttore generale at Suite d'Artista, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Louisa & Matthew,
More than a month has gone by since you stayed here with us, but we wish to thank you for your wonderful review. Your words have made us very happy. We contantly try our best to make our guests fell at home and reviews like yours prove that our efforts are paid back, and it's our biggest satisfaction.
Regarding our position, we are aware that it's not easy to drive in and out of Montalcino, the streets are norrow and quite steep, and if you are not used to it it can be challenging. Medioeval villages were definitely not planned for cars and this cannot be change. To find the bright side, we are so secluded that it's extremely peacefull and quite.
What we have tried to improve are instead our driving directions. They are very detailed now, with photos that show the entire itinerary inside the walls till destination. Our guest don't get lost any more!
So thanks again for your great review, we wish you all the best and hope to see you back here one day.....cheers from Montalcino!
Lisa & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our long weekend in Montalcino, Tuscany.  We were in town for the annual Brunello festival and stayed for two nights at Suite d'Artista.  Our family, with five adults and a newborn, stayed in the wonderful Riddell appartment, the largest of the suites on the property.  The accomodations were the perfect blend of rustic and modern.  There was plenty of room to simply relax and socialize.  We cooked a full breakfast in the beautiful kitchen and dined at the 8 person table.  The large soaking tubs were perfect for a warm bath after a day of wine tasting in the February cold.

Suite d'Artista is a five to ten minute walk from from the charm and conveience of downtown Montalcino.  Lisa was wonderful and worked hard to accomodate our large group, pointing us in the direction of several wonderful restaurants.  We plan on returing to Montalcino several times over the course of the next two years, and we look forward to returning to Sutie d'Artista.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wazup0555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJKnnini, Direttore at Suite d'Artista, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I really appreciate it. We are very pleased you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back here to Montalcino for more. Cheers to all of your family!!
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We were there for a week at the di silvestre apartment. The place is really nice the property sooooo cool and Andrea...awesome. Been inside the Montalcino walls it is great and an incredible experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaychi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJKnnini, Direttore generale at Suite d'Artista, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. I'm soooo pleased you had a good time here!! I hope to see you again.
Ciao da Montalcino, Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
451 reviews
5.8 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
145 reviews
7.2 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#7 of 17 in Montalcino
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite d'Artista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite d'Artista

Property: Suite d'Artista
Address: Via Santa Lucia 3, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite d'Artista is a perfect place to enjoy a relaxing holiday, combining the atmosphere of typical Tuscan countryside with Montalcino's amenities. Nestled just below Montalcino's historical centre, a peaceful spot with a large panoramic garden, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, gazebo, barbeque, wood oven and private parking. Overlooking the garden there are 5 different size apartments. Wooden beam ceilings, wooden floors. Some typical Tuscan style furniture and contemporary modern art characterizes our Suites. All the charm and comfort for an artistic stay in the heart of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Suite d'Artista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing