We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere ”
Review of Il Moro

Il Moro
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our first meal in montalcino here on a Saturday night. The food was good quality but there were only four tables occupied and the restaurant was silent and lacked atmosphere. Didn’t return.

1  Thank Stamford116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteilMor... M, Direttore at Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Im sorry,but sometime happen a quiet evening

a greeting from Montalcino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am traveling with my brother Iggy on our annual pilgrimage to Italy. We usually stay in the countryside, but based on TripAdvisor reviews decided to stay in the old town of Montalcino, in our minds, the Mecca of Tuscan wines. Late in the afternoon, we checked into the cozy B&B da Idolina, where the lovely owner, Fulvia, gave us three recommendations for our first night’s dinner. She said one of them, Il Moro, was right down the street, had great local food and wine, and was the type of family owned place we love. And was she right! From our server and host, Alessandro to the head chef (Mama Marzia), to the adorable little children playing in the entryway, it is a true family slow-food restaurant of the type you can find and cherish in Italy. The food was superb, and the local Brunello and Vino di Rosso Montalcino wines were out of this world. I’m sure that there are other fine restaurants in this charming town but our first meal was so nice that we ate 3 more meals (1 lunch & 2 dinners) there. Given the outstanding reputation of the local wines, we were expecting the town and the restaurants to be very touristy. This was certainly not the case with Il Moro and the B&B da Idolina. The fact that they were located right in the old town speaks volumes for the charm and appeal of Montalcino. We will absolutely be back in the coming years.

1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteilMor... M, Direttore at Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

hay .. hello, how nice to hear from you, thank you for giving us this beautiful review, I hope we will be there next year, I send you a big hello from all the staff (my family)
:) See you soon

a big hug by

Lorenzo, Lucrezia,Mirko,Aurora ,Marzia, Alessandro,Giulia e Franca :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a lunch. The staff was really stressed but we got our food quickly. Really cheap but the food was just averege and nothing i Will remember. Will not go back here next time in Montalcino

Thank Fanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteilMor... M, Direttore at Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

happen..
Im sorry, but i am sure you can find much better to this old restaurant

:) good continuation

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place where also the locals like to come. The pasta we ordered was awesome and very quickly presented to us! Don’t hesitate to enter this one...

Thank TomsterAndBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteilMor... M, Direttore at Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

:) Hi, thanks for have dedicated your time to my ristorant, i hope see again, a reetings from all the staff

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Great place. Try to come here. Book, though. Quite popular with locals. We (4 pax) took place in the rather humbly decorated main room and ordered .... and then came a flood of surprises. First we thought we were misunderstood when ordering (owner speak only little English) .... Wine after wine on the house , extra pasta plate, extra secondi plate... grappa bottle to serve our digestif and a Vinosanto to say goodbye. We were not misunderstood.... Amazing. Good food, good atmosphere . Thank you for this surprising and memorable experience

2  Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteilMor... M, Direttore at Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

:) hello, thanks for have try Il Moro, and for this beautiful review , it is an old place where we try to keep the old traditions, very often that some of the wines are combined with some dishes of the day :)

:) see soon and thanks

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Moro also viewed

 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing