We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip Off”

Caffe Fiaschetteria Italiana 1888
Ranked #47 of 70 Restaurants in Montalcino
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband with 6 walking friends visited this atmospheric café at the start of a walk. They decided to go to the bar and pay bar prices as they were in a hurry. After waiting several minutes they were ushered to sit in the bar area whilst the waitress served people outside at tables. This was on the understanding that they were merely sitting whilst they waited. After they were charged 4.50 euros each for the cappuccinos rather than the 1.50 bar price. When this was queried, the staff simply shrugged and pretended not to understand.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtandjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    70
    22
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok, not great coffee, a bit on the snobish side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've been here many, many times, usually because other places in town are closed. I usually don't feel welcome here, the staff has always been a bit attitude-laden, and my experience stretches back to 1995. These days they use ultra-pasteurized milk, I think, because the coffee drinks with milk have that odd flavor of that sort of milk. Not so great. It's a lovely space, but I just don't care for the staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SambaMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sovicille, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Normal breakfast, rip-off prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stopped on a quiet Sunday morning for a breakfast. Normal cappuccino, normal pastry, normal water, €6 per person (compared to €2 that you normally get charged). And I'm a native of Siena - I can't begin to think what they do to actual tourists.
This is all too bad as the cafe is very atmospheric and has a prime location in the centre of Montalcino.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“special expereince”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

A unique experience not to be missed. The cafè is loaded with history, a jewel for its decor. Can't say it's pricy, actually quite the contrary: ham sandwich 3.50 and nice it was. It is listed in a German book which gathers the most beautiful cafes in Europe. Teresa, the waitress, told us how it all started and of the many owners. Interesting to know is that it is a copy of the famous 'Florian' in Venice, where I'm sure the ham sambo is not 3.50!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank et0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overpriced, indifferent service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have no idea why you'd ever go back here. The habit of charging tourists and locals different prices, the indifferent, generally terrible service (how hard can it be to remember an order for 2 cappuccini) leave the definite impression of being ripped off. Compare it with Il Leccio just a few doors away. There, the ladies behind the bar are funny, welcoming and generally delightful, the pricing policy seems fair and transparent, and the coffee and aperitifs are wonderful. Caffe Fisaschetteria Italiana doesn't even begin to compare.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fosciandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Fiaschetteria Italiana 1888 also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Caffe Fiaschetteria Italiana 1888? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing