We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for lunch”

Caffe Fiaschetteria Italiana 1888
Ranked #47 of 70 Restaurants in Montalcino
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had lunch here while visiting Montalcino, I had the best bruschetta I have ever had and I have had many! The staff were not real friendly in our opinion otherwise it was very nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    70
    22
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably good if you only want a drink”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We couldn't get into Blu (which was suggested by Laura at Canalicchio) so tried this given the location in the main square. Pastas were forgettable and overcooked which I think is cardinal in Italy while the bruschetta with porcini had some sloppy sauce and only a few mushrooms. Nicoise salad was fine, but with canned tuna you can get that at any food court or cafe in the world. Go to Alle Logge di Piazza across the square, it is much better for food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree Corners, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon break”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch. The better dish was the salad with Tuscan beef - very good. Full of flavor, lemon squeezed over the top very nice. Bread was good. The grilled cheeses sandwich was not good. Service was average - not attentive but responsive once asked. The alfresco dining was nice in the square. Be sure to look inside at the wine library and the counters - very quaint. Bathroom was great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
776 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“More like a winery than a cafe”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We sat to have some brunch in this attractive place but we were not made to feel welcome.
A cafe full of Brunello, Bondi, Morellino and other wines with a lot of history. Some exhibits on the wall were telling their own stories. I liked the place but not as a cafe.
Their wine was also expensive, probably because it is very touristic area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panathinaikos-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband with 6 walking friends visited this atmospheric café at the start of a walk. They decided to go to the bar and pay bar prices as they were in a hurry. After waiting several minutes they were ushered to sit in the bar area whilst the waitress served people outside at tables. This was on the understanding that they were merely sitting whilst they waited. After they were charged 4.50 euros each for the cappuccinos rather than the 1.50 bar price. When this was queried, the staff simply shrugged and pretended not to understand.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtandjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Fiaschetteria Italiana 1888 also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Caffe Fiaschetteria Italiana 1888? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing