We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Barlanzone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Barlanzone
Ranked #7 of 19 Montalcino B&B and Inns
Leiden, Nederland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The apartment - from which you have a magnificent view on the Tuscan surroundings and the Fortress - is really fantastic. Very clean and luxurious with a very large terrace. The sunsets are amazing. All you need is there or (like the breakfast) in the streets nearby. As soon as we arrived we've got a very warm and pleasant welcome - with a glass of wine and a special surprise that we won't tell about (for then it wouldn't be a surprise). Simone (the owner) gives tips on where to go, where to eat and which wine (from his shop on the ground floor) to buy. Furthermore he always waves and smiles when he spots you. The town of Montalcino is small, but extremely lovely, with kind people that make you feel welcome too. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontelungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    32
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Two of us spent three nights here back in May. It was in a very good location facing the fortress, free parking nearby when you check in, and great service. They have a wine shop in the bottom floor and the staff was helpful with all our questions about the room or wine. There are only four rooms plus a suite on the top floor so it was nice and quiet at night. There are restaurants right nearby, and it's a very short walk to the town center. Fridge in the room was another positive. And best of all, it was very affordable. Certainly the best value for the money I stayed at in Italy.

Room Tip: Book early, they only have 5 total rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmille6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

There is really nothing negative to be said about the room itself or the service. The staff was helpful, the room was clean and the location is really nice, at least during the day. Unfortunately, both nights we stayed here were by far the worst of our 16 day trip. There is no air conditioning so the windows needed to be open to keep the temperature inside bearable. The hotel's location meant an almost unbelievably consistent amount of street noise throughout the night from people talking directly below your window to scooters to street cleaners at 4 am. The local jazz festival in the Fortress across the street sounded great unless you were trying to sleep otherwise you were left waiting until midnight for that to end.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhaulagiri247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed in the apartment at Il Barlanzone for several nights in early April. We had a wonderful time. The apartment is light-filled and spotless. The views from the terrace are breathtaking, 270 degree vistas of the beautiful Val d’Orcia, the Fortezza, and the ancient rooftops of Montalcino. Each night we sat on the terrace with a glass of wine and watched the sun set, a truly magical experience. During the day we took road trips to the beautiful hill towns of Tuscany. Simone and his mother were great hosts, pleasant and helpful. Simone gave us good advice about places to visit; his wine recommendations were superb. His mother baked us a delicious pastry to welcome us. We look forward to returning to this very special place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

We have rented the apartement at il Barlanzone twice and have really enjoyed it. Last year we were traveling with another couple so we booked the apt. plus a standard room. It is above the wine shop of the same name. . The location is great, the parking (free) is about 100 yards away which makes it easy to visit the other towns in the area. It is on the edge of town across a small street from the fortress. The main piazza is a 5 minute walk. Montalcino is a small town but has great tourist services. The quality of the shops and restaurants is first rate. Very near the apt. is the COOP and a laundrymat. Simone is a great host he has great recomendations on restaurants and things to see. A previous reviewer had a problem with their reservation, I would always recomend booking directly with the proprieter as getting a 3rd party involved leaves room for error.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hobbsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

We booked using Trip Advisor and received a confirmation however when we arrived there was no-one there and only after a couple of hours were we able to contact Simone who arranged for someone to come and book us in by which time it was about 5pm. However the room was clean and adequate. The town of Montachino is charming and close to many other great places to visit. Be warned - this is a room only, no breakfast or any kitchen facilities but there are plenty of places to eat within a few minutes walk. Also if you are not ready to have your room cleaned when the charming, Italian speaking lady wants to clean the room, it will not be serviced later in the day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

I have been visiting Tuscany (alone and guiding friends) for about a decade and I always base in Montalcino. Il Barlanzone is super clean, very easy to get in and out of, plus Simone is super friendly and helpful. You will get the best recommendations on wine, where to eat, and where to tour. This is the best place to stay in Montalcino.

Remember that affiticamere are different than hotels. You are renting your own flat with room cleaning service. There is no food service, but there is a cafe three doors away. The views and feeling of being home in Tuscany is SO worth it.

Also, this hotel is featured on the cover of Wine Spectator, as it is the palazzo directly in front of the fortezza.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.1 mi away
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#7 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Barlanzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Barlanzone

Property: Il Barlanzone
Address: Via Ricasoli 33, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Il Barlanzone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing