We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our European tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Barlanzone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Barlanzone
Ranked #8 of 19 Montalcino B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A highlight of our European tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We spent a number of days at Il Barlanzone during the Sagra del Tordo festival, booking the top floor apartment. What a great location as the festival parade passed directly below us. The apartment is clean, comfortable and modern, Early morning views from the balcony over Tuscany are beautiful and Simone is a friendly and helpful host. The welcoming torte from his mother was a pleasant surprise and the enoteca on the ground floor was an enjoyable retreat when the weather turned bad, particularly because the assistant, Gail made us feel at home. For accommodation that is comfortable, friendly and well-located, in this area it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: The top floor apartment is special. In bad weather it's no advantage but if it's not wet or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    32
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at Il Barlanzone in Montalcino. This small hotel sits across the street from the Forteeza, so it is in a perfect location in town. We were able to walk to dinner each night, which was convenient considering we were traveling with our 15 month old daughter. Simone is a gracious host, and gave us several excellent recommendations for restaurants and winery visits. He also has a small wine shop in the first floor, and his prices and selection are very good. He will also ship wine to most countries, and his shipping costs to the USA in particular are very competitive. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I would recommend trying to reserve the apartment on the top floor, it has a terrace with a very nice view. Unfortunately it was booked when we made our reservation, but we will try to reserve it next time we stay with Simone.

Room Tip: I would recommend trying to reserve the apartment on the top floor, it has a terrace with a very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at Il Barlanzone with our 2 adult sons. We had 2 of the double bedrooms/bath. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and roomy.
Our host, Simone, was very friendly and helped with suggestions of where to eat, and also places to visit.
Internet is available and also free parking.
All in all, our visit to Montalcino was Fantastic. We would love to return.
We would recommend Il Barlanzone to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy and John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

The apartment on the roof top of Il Barlanzone, is the next best thing living in Montalcino, this was our second stay and certainly not our last. The location is spectacular with uninterrupted views of the Fortezza and easy access to everything Montalcino has to offer. If you love your food, worship your Brunello and hence need to spend more than just a few days in Montalcino there is no better place to spend a week.

For those wanting to feel pat of a town rather than simply visit it, the apartment will deliver this without disappointment. Try to be there for a Friday, so you can take full advantage of the local market, nothing better than stocking the pantry with fresh local vegetables, Tartufo Pecorino and roasted Tuscan Porchetta. . .

I want to go to there . . . now.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerteminde, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Now we, my wife and I, three times have had a fantastic week in the apartment in Il Barlanzone, 2007, 2010 & 2012. Always fine service, free parking, a wine shop with excellent wines and serious advising, the apartment is nice and clean, Simone and his mother Paola are always friendly and helpful. Il Barlanzone has a perfect position in the town, and the view from the terrace is fantastic.
We can absolutely recommend Il Barlanzone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

In such a beautiful part in Italy, where you would go for relaxation, stunning views and great food and wine, to stay in such a place can be a let down. The double room given, was very noisy, and the bed uncomfortable. The views from some of the rooms I believe are great.
There is nothing provided in the bathroom except the towels -so bring your own shampoo and soap!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest level which would likely have less noise and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barlanzone, Proprietario at Il Barlanzone, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,
thank for leave suggestion and review about the Affittacamere.We are sorry to understand your stay was not like you expect.For sure,if you book room in centre of very famous and touristic town in the “hightest summer season” maybe you should sleep with the windows close…….Ours Building complety renoved in the year 2000 is certified for the noise ISO 2001
All the mattress are “new and orthopaedic”,just buyed last February at beginning of season,we are sorry if this is not your favourite kind.
All ours rooms are fournished of natural shower-shampo,sorry if this is not your favourite.
If you may had asked for a changing room,we had been glad to do all ours best ,but you diden’t…..
So please contact me if yo’ll be back,I’ll be happy to keep care personally your stay to us.
We want excuse again and we hope the rest of your Tuscany trip was great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania/Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I am writing this review from my private balcony which is part of the beautiful apartment on the top floor of Il Barlanzone. This is paradise with views of the fortress to my left and the peacful village to my right. The little hotel is situated just on the edge of Montalcino across from the fortress and is steps away from shops, brunello and the main piazza. Simone, the owner, could not be more pleasant and his wonderful mother even baked me an amazing torta to welcome me. I can't say enough good things about this peaceful little hotel. If you are looking for accomodations in Montalcino, I highly recommend Il Barlanzone! Ciao!

Room Tip: Top floor apartment is the best! Private balcony to enjoy your Brunello each evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobiesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.8 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#5 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#6 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Barlanzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Barlanzone

Property: Il Barlanzone
Address: Via Ricasoli 33, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Barlanzone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing