We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Le Ragnaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Ragnaie
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Nice room and ensuite - decent size and simply decorated. No view - which is a shame when staying near a hill top town in Tuscany. (It's not in Montalcino - it's about 2 miles (not km) out) Bathroom curtains so thin that, when dark outside, people can see in, so we showered in the morning (with the lights off!).
Nice guy who ran the place - perfect English.
Great coffee, but the rest of breakfast wasn't great.
Wifi sometimes drops connection and access is by using a 3-hour card with username & password - a pain if it runs out late at night when you're researching what to do the next day! (My iPad wouldn't disconnect, so the 3 hours were used up faster than expected). It would be better if you could just log on with a password and it's sorted for the rest of your stay.
Bed wasn't the most comfortable - especially the pillows.
Overall - a perfectly decent place to stay, but we'd say it's a bit over priced for what it is. We paid EUR100 a night for B&B in a room with no view.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms with a view. I suppose there must be some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvarinoflorence, Owner at Le Ragnaie, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a view, I guess that's common to all hotel and B&B though. I suggest when checking in to always ask if something better is available and we can try to accomodate. Unfortunately the law in Italy has all hotel guests checking in with password and passport registration, we are updating our system in order to have longer connection time with the same password and should be done soon. I am sorry you did not like ou breakfast , we try to keep it simple and fresh. Other places have a wider variety sometimes sacrificing quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    36
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at Le Ragnaie, wonderful setting just outside Montalcino. We had a one bedroom apartment with Kitchenette, and a lovely view of the Tuscan countryside from our Balcony. Excellent breakfast buffet, friendly staff, and a laid back atmosphere all contributed to an excellent experience. Would thoroughly recommend it! Wonderful wine tasting too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfhage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had a wonderful time at Le Ragnaie. We stayed in a small apartment with an en suite bedroom and kitchen/dining area. The view of the Tuscan countryside from the balcony was stunning. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety both savoury and sweet. The service was excellent, our hosts spoke excellent english and were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Le Ragnaie is only 2 km from Montalcino which has plenty of good restaurants. It's a perfect location for visiting Siena and Montepulciano, also the beautiful Val d'Orcia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank percehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Based on TA reviews, we stayed at Le Ragnaie for three nights. The room is very spacious (feels like you have a suite), clean, with great views! The robes were a nice touch and we definitely lounged around in them. Le Ragnaie is not in Montalcino, but very convenient. It's in between Montalcino (5-7 mins drive time) and Sant'angelo in colle. Kind of a nice mid-point for us as we had a couple of reservations for dinners and wine tours in Sant'angelo in colle. Breakfast is pretty good with good selections (& strong coffee). The property is well maintained. We sat outside to enjoy a bottle of wine with some cheese & meats. The pool is fantastic! It was very hot when we were there and we fully utilized to pool to cool ourselves down. At night, it is very quiet... you'll sleep like a baby. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWino76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We had a great fabulous time, the service the view the food and everything was as and more than expected , we love the brunello di montalcino , we had a rental car and when many other places , as Banfi

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saitame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent one night in the Tuscany wine country and it was the Azienda Agricola LeRagnaie, a short drive from Montalcino. We were greeted by the owner, Riccardo and he was gracious enough to upgrade us to a fantastic apartment at his working winery. The room was fantastic, the grounds were beautiful, the personal wine tour by Agustin and his recommendation for dinner in town at a most fantastic resturant (Osticcio) was perfect. In addition the morning breakfast made this overall a great stop on the way to Rome. We only regret we couldn't stay for a week!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Minter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

One of the advantages of a short road trip is that you get to sample short stays at different hotels and different restaurants. Inevitably standards vary and our experiences went from superb (in Florence and Siena) to rather poor - unfortunately Le Ragnaie fell into the latter category. It is in a nice spot just outside Montalcino but they have not got it right. In comparison to other places we stayed at, the check in welcome was non existent! We must have waited 10 minutes at the check in desk, rung the bell 4 times before someone turned up, not very happy as we had obviously disturbed him. I am afraid this tenor existed throughout our 2 night stay and frankly I was glad to leave. On the first night we wanted some wine glasses for the room (I was surprised there were not any there). I tried reception 3 times and each time it was locked. As there was no phone in the room you could not even ring. Eventually I got lucky and happened, on the 4th time of trying, to catch the same individual who checked us in, pottering around in the reception area. I got the wine glasses but was inevitably rather frustrated by then. The cleaning of the room in the morning left a lot to be desired as well.
I know it is not the owners fault, but there was heavy digging machinery working very noisily all day for the 2 days we were there, which did not do a lot to brighten my mood. It is a great shame because this could be a lovely place but I just don't think they get the concept of customer service. It was so far away from the outstanding service we received at the other two hotels we stayed in that the comparison was very evident.
There are lots of this type of place around the area and frankly I would try somewhere else until the owners realise they need to dramatically improve their customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Le Ragnaie, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Customer,
I am very sorry you had a bad experience at our place. We do indeed try to take care of our customers as well as we can. Again, we are a working winery and our reception can be unattended at times. Staff are instructed to leave notes with informations about their whereabouts and a contact number, sometimes they don't do it and for that I apologize. There is however no excuse for being rude, the person that checked you in was probably really busy and did not come across as very welcoming. Again that's no excuse and we will look into this matter with our employees. I hope you can come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.9 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#5 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#6 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Ragnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ragnaie

Property: Le Ragnaie
Address: Loc. Le Ragnaie, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Ragnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the hills of Tuscany alongside the historical village of Montalcino one can find Le Ragnaie. Located in the midst of the Brunello wine region Le Ragnaie has a rich history dating back to the 1700’s when early settlers were using the land to hunt and plant crops. The use of such materials as terra cotta, large cut stones and massive wooden beams along with the tasteful decoration of local antiques, helps to retain the rustic charm of days past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Le Ragnaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing