We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
97
49
14
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
49
14
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom apartment boiled eggs second story coffee maker nice spot olive trees close to town nice room wine and olive oil hot water small village wonderful view fresh fruit beautiful location tasting agriturismo tour
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by an Italian sommelier friend who accompanied us on our tour. The man who gave the tour was a wine maker from Argentina and he was hilarious and informative. He spoke both Italian and English so everyone could understand. The wine was fabulous. Even the table wine (€12 per bottle) was better than expensive bottles available in the U.S. Unfortunately, they were out of bottles available for retail purchase. We did buy a couple bottles of their famous Brunello (€40 per bottle). Also very good. Although we didn’t stay here, we saw the pool which was beautiful!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank skigal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

My wife and I wanted to do a few specific things in Montalcino. We also wanted to avoid a few things. Let's start with what we wanted:
We wanted to visit a few really great wineries. We wanted to taste some wonderful Brunellos. We wanted to meet some local people and just talk, hopefully while drinking wonderful Brunellos. We wanted to do some bike riding. We wanted to eat some great food while enjoying the spectacular vistas available in this beautiful hilltop location.
Le Ragnaie was absolutely great for all of these. We arrived during harvest, yet everyone we met associated with Le Ragnaie took the time to listen politely as we butchered Italian, and then spoke to us in beautiful English the answer to the questions we tried to articulate. Our room was on the second story, had beautiful views, including a long, not deep, but long deck that provided a nice table and chairs to lounge and watch the world from on high. The bath was narrow, but everything worked beautifully, it was stocked with everything we needed, the hot water got hot, the water volume was plentiful, and it was in great shape, and very clean. The shower was very snug, no twosomes, and if you are a bit larger, you're not scrubbing your toes. If you need to do that, or need some extra space in your shower, then you'll need to let them know and I'm sure other rooms have different size showers.
The bed was very comfortable. I could be mistaken, but Italians are not hung up on having super fat fluffy top mattresses and ten pillows. Throughout our stays in different establishments, this proved true and Le Ragnaie is no different. The bed was fine, and easier to get into as it was lower than a typical American bed, but we both slept great, and that's saying something.
The kitchen had everything necessary to prepare.......why the hell would you come to Italy and cook for yourself? They had what we needed, a hot pot, a little coffee maker, and basics to make a meal and serve it to four people, but really, go out, these folks can cook!
The grounds are stunning in a very Agriturismo way. Not overtly flashy, but very comfortable, and stunning vistas from vantage points that were thoughtfully preserved. If you took a basement room (I don't even know if they had one), you would be 20 feet away from a nice spot to set up appetizers, wine, and enjoy a Tuscan sunset in privacy. Seriously, the Le Ragnaie has plenty of areas to choose from to find your own little slice of Tuscan vistas if your room doesn't have the space or view you want. Not to say the rooms do not, as many looked to have large patios and views beyond description, but the option to set up an easy alternative is there.
Our hosts were accessible, even though they were working hard to get the grapes harvested, informative and seemed kind of relieved that I didn't need him to be my new best friend, just a couple of ideas on where to eat with a view. I think they would be amenable to a tour of their facilities, but it was obvious they were trying to get the harvest in. Ok, I wandered a bit. The food, breakfast was great. It was freshly prepared, tasty, and there was a wide enough variety for anyone to find a favorite and indulge. Fresh fruit, lots of different kinds. Cereals if you like that. Yogurt, sliced meats, boiled eggs, or prepared to your taste, cappuccinos, coffee, tea; really everything you need to fuel up and get your day going.
The parking lot was very big, easy in and out, lots of space. It's gravel, but this is a farm, right. Everything was just great here and we'd come back in a heartbeat.
Things we wanted to avoid: Aw, why even think that way?

Room Tip: If you are a bigger person, let them know you'd like a room with a large shower, or bath.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brixy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Lovely location not far from the village of Montalcino. The suite was very large and well equipped. We were there too late in the season to enjoy the outdoor pool, but it looked like it would be a great place to spend an afternoon. The breakfast was very nice. We tried but were unable to secure a wine tour and tasting on our trip, try to do this if you can. We learned later that Le Ragnaie is one of the better small vineyards in Montalcino.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Kimwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Ok we only stayed one night but this place is clean, quiet and very quaint. Plenty of parking, nice breakfast selection and helpful staff. One recommendation get a room in one story building or on second story of 2 story. Although our room was large and enjoyable the acoustic sound from the tile floor above is loud. Our neighbor had children dragging toys across floor, thankfully they retired early.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Wonderful view from this place - great pool area and spaceous apartments. We had a 4 person apartment but the one double bed was horribel and not even suited for small children. Apart from that our two days were really nice, great breakfast, nice wines and a very very nice and friendly manager - from Argentina.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karin Yan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews