We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Enoteca la Fortezza di Montalcino
Ranked #7 of 72 things to do in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Not only is the wine here amazing served up with the greatest of expertise in the ancient fortress of Montalcino but the service is wonderful. We went back three times and Sergio took great care of us. We took advantage of their free shipping to the United States on 12 bottles or more and are eagerly awaiting our case of Brunello back home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KikiofMontparnasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    101
    22
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experiance”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We found this place when we visited Italy in October. Good food, wine, and friendly staff. Fun tasting the wine's and the view from the outdoor restaurant area was very nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view and service!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Upon coming here this was our first stop in a line of brunello tasting tours and it did not disappoint! I was simply amazed as to first the view and then the complete level of astounding service we had. The staff took us through their years of wine, teaching up, tasting, and even after we ordered was still just so amazing to us. I feel in love with brunellos and Montalcino! It was simply amazing we ended up coming home with some really great wine and it even shipped withing 3 weeks!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Brunello tasting and scenic view”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Really good place if you want to taste some of the best wine from the region!
A little expensive, but when you're there you just forget the price as the wine is so good and the place is charming. Staffs know the wine and can advise you. They will try to sell you wine base on Bob Parker or Wine Spectator reviews but do not hesitate to challenge them and request a taste before.

And for 4 euros, the visit of the fortress is a must go/do once you are in there.

Food they serve is also good, so go ahead!

Helpful?
Thank Jacob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A must if you like Brunello di Montalcino wine”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Visiting the fortezza is a must whilst in Montalcino. The wine tasting is not cheap, one one might expect, but one has to do it. The walk around the walls of the fortress give great views of the surrounding countryside

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enoteca la Fortezza di Montalcino also viewed

Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Enoteca la Fortezza di Montalcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing