We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tuscany hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canalicchio Di Sopra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canalicchio Di Sopra
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Tuscany hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just got back from an 8 day stay at this beautiful property. This was our first trip to Tuscany, and will not be the last. We cannot speak highly enough of Canalicchio Di Sopra. The apartment is light and airy with a slight rustic feel, and has a fully equipped kitchenette. We cooked most evenings and ate on the patio outside overlooking the olive groves and vineyards. Spectacular views! The pool is lovely, with plenty of sun loungers to choose from. The location is great, a perfect base to explore the surrounding area. Montalcino is a pretty place, with several fabulous restaurants and bars. We managed to fit in a wine tasting with the lovely Laura, and were very impressed, the wine is delicious. Laura is a great host and was always quick to book taxis, and give recommendations. All in all a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 93LydG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Their wines are exquisite, but best when tasted in the modern, beautiful B&B with a great pool. This is a beautiful location for a rest after Visting Toscan Towns and vinyeards. Laura is a wonderrful host. Great place. Great location. Great chillout with stunning views

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Everything is perfect and complete. Location, panoramic pool; caring, friendly and efficient owners.
Beautifull well kept garden with laurel and rosemarin bushes and They serve a supplementary royal breakfast on request.

Room Tip: All apartments are well situated, with terrasses opening on the garden. The delicious suite with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiaRdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Whilst we didn't stay at the property (it looks incredible and the reviews here reflect this!!), we stopped by for a wine tasting. Canalicchio di Sopra's wines are highly related, and they were very quick to respond to an email request to set up a tasting for a small group.
We were warmly welcomed, and the wines were indeed excellent, and the views breathtaking. All done in a down-to-earth, genuine manner that made the visit all that much more special! Thank you so very much!! Bravo!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hongkongmui888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I only got to stay for one night but it was easily the highlight of our week in Italy. Our room was incredible - elegant, comfortable with views galore! Unfortunately the weather did not permit us to make use of the beautiful pool, but we look forward to lounging poolside next time. Laura and the rest of the staff were so welcoming. The highlight was getting the tour of the wine cellar by Francesco. He is THE MAN in Montalcino and is a fountain of knowledge for wine nerds like myself. We're allowed to bring in only 3 bottles of wine per couple to the US so make sure to get the Brunello or Reserva if they've got it!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have been coming to Montalcino for over 15 years and have stayed in the hotels in the city walls. This was an amazing find. The rooms are large, well equipped, and the beds are amazing. My room was like an US executive suite with a dinette table, sink, stove, living area couch, and stocked wine refrigerator. The suite also had a loft bed which would be perfect for a small family that wanted some privacy. I will be coming back this summer when the pool is open. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the city walls by car, so you are not far from local restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
455 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for nights (690E) and very much enjoyed the apartment which was very well appointed and comfortable. It had a lovely verandah with great views of the valley. Strangely the wall is very high so you can only see the lovely view when standing up not when sitting down with a glass of wine at sunset. The beautiful apartment has everything you need, but the hot water is in short supply if you have big families staying at the same time. 2 nights we didn't have hot water when wanting a shower at 7pm. On the third night we waited until until 11pm and it was nice and hot. The property can be a little hard to find, so I recomend pulling into the actual much larger winery on the left side which is easy to spot and asking for someone to take you up to the property.The walk up to the town is challenging but quite fun with amazing views, it's 25mins straight up, bring some walking shoes. Breakfast isn't included in the rate so we didn't try it, but there's ample equipment in your apartment for eggs, toast etc. I wondered over to the wine tasting room several times during our stay hoping for a structured wine tasting but could never find anyone there working. It would have been nice to learn about the winery since we were staying in it, but I wasn't quite ever sure how to do that. The wine was for sale in the room but I was keen to learn more, so that was dissapointing. I would recomend this beautiful property for families. For us as a mature couple we were hoping for quiet relaxation. When we visited there was 2 large families who completely took over the pool area, all the chairs and loungers gone by 10am, radios, pool toys galore, constant running, screaming, bombing in the pool with their many siblings. The noise was just too much and they took over the whole pool with games of water polo, making it impossible to have a little swim. Look I think that's fine, it's a good family relais, but for us we had to wait patiently until 5pm for them all to leave and get ready for dinner in town. Then it was quickly down to the pool where we could relax, enjoy a peaceful swim in the gorgeous pool, lie and relax in the setting sun. It was just bliss set amongst the olive trees and vines. We fired up the BBQ and had the best steak florentines in the whole holiday. We had the place to ourselves and it was the best 3 hours of our entire stay in Italy. If you are wanting high-end couple relaxation amongst the vines in a world renowed wine area, give this place a miss. If you've got a gang of kids, and want a secure, convenient, pretty place to vacation with a pool this is your relais.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
6.0 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
7.8 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.6 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
2.4 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#5 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalicchio Di Sopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalicchio Di Sopra

Property: Canalicchio Di Sopra
Address: Localita Canalicchio Di Sopra, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canalicchio Di Sopra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing