We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Montalcino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in Montalcino”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This charming hotel is just outside the city entrance of Montalcino . The views are to die for and the hotel owner was gracious and helpful. The rooms were decorated beautifully, the bath was large and they even had Kleenex - which we had not found in any of the other places we had stayed in Italy! The morning breakfast was ample- we were very pleased with our stay. The on,y thing we regret is we only stayed one night!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    48
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
97
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked this online having read all of the reviews on Tripadvisor. €190 per night seemed high to me and I regularly stay in London for £130-140 in 4 star hotels. That said it is a good location and we did book a grand deluxe room.

Parking is handy down a steep drive at the side of the hotel behind a security gate and the hotel is easy to find and well located for walking into Montalcino which has lots of great restaurants and wine stores. We didn't use the pool as like many European hotels is wasn't heated and in late September, was pretty cool. It also really only gets the sun in the morning so isn't great for late afternoon bathing.

Breakfast is pretty decent, but basic without hot food or hot options, but does have cereal, some fruit, croissants, breads, cheese, cold cuts and a toaster, jams etc. it's enough although again for the price I'd expect a wider choice.

Elisa and the man (I didn't get his name) on reception were brilliant, very helpful, friendly and booked a restaurant and a free wine tour for us and spoke very good English. We had room 7 overlooking the pool and it was comfortable, clean and had a good view of the valley. There wasn't any tea and coffee in the room and we had to pay for it on the terrace one afternoon, surprising these days as most hotels offer this. We really liked Montalcino and enjoyed this hotel, but I left feeling that it had been quite an expensive trip and whilst enjoyable wasn't great value for money compared to a lot of other hotels I stay in regularly. Maybe Tuscany can charge high prices because of it's popularity. A heated pool, tea and coffee and a upgraded breakfast would improve the experience considerably.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Vecchia Oliviera very much. The hotel is conveniently located just off the main road with ample parking just below the hotel and yet the lovely village is just a short walk away with great restaurants and wine bars. Our host was very helpful and friendly with good English and was a great help in giving us directions to Sienna for our day trip there.

The room we had was a superior deluxe corner room which was quiet, spacious and clean but the main attraction is the fantastic views out over the valley. We spent a lot of time just gazing out the windows at the beautiful scenery. There is also a small garden and patio with almost as good views which were great for relaxing in after a day touring the area or to sip a bottle of Brunello purchased in one of the enotecas in Montalcino. There was also a pool, although we did not use it during our stay, and lounges and games rooms inside.

Breakfast, although not extensive, was perfectly sufficient for our needs. The only reservation we have in what was otherwise a delightful stay was the bed which we did find uncomfortable even for a three star hotel. This has been commented on in other reviews and we hope that the owners will update the beds to something more comfortable before our return to Montalcino. If it were not for the bed we would have rated this hotel excellent as everything else was very enjoyable.

Overall a wonderful stay in beautiful Montalcino.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estevan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

While my room (#2) was on the small side, it was perfectly adequate and fairly priced. Staff was friendly and helpful--perhaps not as effusive as at other hotels I stayed at (Villa Marsil in Cortona, Hotel David in Florence), but no complaints. Close walking distance to several of Montalcino's best restaurants, and a magnificant view of the countryside. Decent (if very cold!) pool, a real plus in summer Tuscany. My one issue was finding the place; they really could use a sign, or some more specific and detailed directions on their website. Unless you know exactly where it is, you'll have trouble finding it by car. Once there, parking is free and relatively convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HooferNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera for 5 nights in July during our vacation to Italy. It was a perfect location for spending quality time in Tuscany. We took day trips and had a nice hotel in a lovely town to return to in the evenings. The parking lot was a huge bonus. After driving around Tuscany during the day, we parked the car until the next day and enjoyed dinners at the nice restaurants within walking distance in Montalcino. Our hosts were terrific. They responded to our emails while we were planning our vacation. While we were there, Sandro and Elisa helped us with reservations and driving instructions. The room was quite comfortable. The bed was comfortable. We had plenty of room for our luggage. The A/C had a remote control and it worked well. The bathroom was a nice size. The breakfast room was charming. The service at this hotel was top notch. We asked lots of questions and our hosts were ready with answers. Our room was on the main floor and we heard no noise from the lobby. Everything about our stay was perfect. I want to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmc4393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New York
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My family thoroughly enjoyed out stay at this lovely hotel in the heart of Montalcino. It is steps away from restaurants and shops. First off, our room was spacious. I was a bit concerned since we stayed in a quadruple since we were traveling with our children. We were surprised our room had space and charm (I loved the wood beamed ceiling). The view from our room and bathroom was breathtaking. What a wonderful way to start each day. The bathroom was of normal size, the only thing I would change is the hair dryer ( I have a lot of hair and needed something stronger than the built in that they had). The breakfast ( which is included in the room rate) was very good with enough variety to satisfy children. The owners were very kind and accommodating to any request. Finally, the hotel has a pool which was a huge hit with the kiddies. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

While conveniently located within a few steps of the old towne of Montalcino, and presenting a charming family-run facade, this hotel is sub-par even by European standards. The rooms are tiny, with barely any room to accommodate luggage. The bathrooms are small but sufficient. But the primary problem is the beds. At best, they feel like thin cots from a summer camp bunk. At worst, they feel like prison cots. They consist of only one thin, hard, box spring mattress on a metal stand. We could not sleep at all because do these beds. To make matters worse, you are provided only a thin top sheet with a heavy blanket in the closet. And the air conditioning units are so loud they will provide background sound while you lay in bed trying to sleep. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMag83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Sirs,
looking at the other reviews of your trip to Italy, we believe that your standards travel are higher those of a three star hotel. We believe a great hotel with nice rooms, to offer an excellent service and lots of comfort to our customers and especially we try to solve, as soon as possible, any problems that may arise ... obviously if we are warned ...but nevertheless we remain a three star hotel!!!
As you can see from our previous reviews, our customers appreciate both the rooms and the quality of our services. Our beds are measures of european double standards and the air conditioner has a night mode in the remote control, to be quieter but none had never complained of the noise, until today! Your room consisted of a two bedrooms (double bedroom and single bedroom) and the bathroom. The luggage space was generous had available all a single room with a closet.
And sorry but we did not understand in the bed in addition to cotton sheets, a bedcover and other blankets available in the closet of what you needed in July!
However, we want to clarify because we think that your claims are unjustified:
the real problem is that, unfortunately, the agency that arranged your trip, has chosen for you, in other stops of the tour, luxury hotels of 4 or 5 stars and you did not know that our hotel is of a lower category. Sorry about this but it is not our fault!
We write only a little difference, looking at the other reviews that you have written:
in the other hotels of your trip in Italy the price for a room for two persons, one night is superior to 350EURO per night in some cases is much higher to 500euro per night. In our hotel (MAXIMUM) 190EURO per night.
Certainly, what it offers the hotel from 500euro per night is very much higher at what provides our hotel... but you can not expect from us the same level of service and type of rooms.
However, we regret not being able to make for you a nice stay in Montalcino but we have the subjective opinion that the responsibility is not our and absolutely we dont deserve a review so negative.

Cordially

Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
655 reviews
7.0 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchia Oliviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchia Oliviera

Property: Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Address: Porta Cerbaia | Porta Cerbaia, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vecchia Oliviera 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel is situated at the gates of Montalcino in the province of Siena. A town of noble traditions, Montalcino lies at the heart of the Val d'Orcia and is the home of Brunello, the prestigious wine known all over the world for it's excellent quality. The surrounding landscape of charming singularity reflects the unaltered bond established between man and nature. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has it's home in a fascinating old olive oil mill that has been carefully renovated. Both it's location and considerate service make it a fully relaxing place to stay.The Hotel consists of eleven rooms: 4 Double Standard (bathroom with shower); 4 Double Superior with view (more spacious and bathroom with whirlpool tub, in some of these rooms you can add 1 or 2 extra beds); 1 Suite triple (one bedroom with double bed and one bedroom with single bed, bathroom with shower); 1 Family Suite (livingroom with double sofa bed and double room, bathroom with shower, 1 Single room (bathroom with shower). All room are furnished and provided with every comfort: TV, wi-fi, phone, safe, mini-bar, air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom with shower or whirlpool tub.The swimming pool, with hydromassage, is situated amid the greenery and perfumes of a panoramic garden that offers a delight to the senses that only such unique settings can provide. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has a private car park and lies at a distance of only 2 minutes walk from the main square of Montalcino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vecchia Oliviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchia Oliviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing