We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of Montalcino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Friends suggested we stay here on our first trip to Tuscany and are we ever happy we did.
We had a lovely room over looking Tuscan scenery You dream about in a beautiful Inn complete with pool.
Sandro and the staff were wonderful,even setting up breakfast early for us as we had an early morning departure for Pisa.
Charming and located in the heart of this beautiful town.
Great restaurants,250 wineries at your door step,lovely shops and a Friday market.
Not to be missed is the drive from Montalcino to Pienza and on to Montalpulcino.....a photographers paradise.
We were so content here we stayed an extra night and already wondering when we can return.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barniemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review and I hope to have you again in our Hotel.
Cordially
Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Located right at the entrance to Montalcino basically. Easy walking to everything in the town. Very close to the self-service laundry which was extremely handy. Having their own parking lot is another plus. Only issue we had is that we drove right by it initially and trying to get back to the hotel was a chore as trying to navigate the town the first at night on the roads is "interesting".

The hotel staff is wonderful. Does a great job taking caring of the guests, answering questions, and personalizing the experience. Every morning at breakfast, our table was already ready for us, including a high chair all prepared for our little one. Small but good cold breakfast food selection, highlighted by the daily fruit tart and the excellent drinks from their espresso bar, which the front desk staff also mans. And, the cleaning staff is efficient; each morning, right after we would return from breakfast, our room had already been made up by the staff.

Room had exceptional views out into Tuscany and was a good size. Wi-fi works well throughout the hotel and in the room. And the little one loved talking bubble baths with the jetted tub as the jets really churned up the bubbles :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxsteeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review and I hope to have you again in our Hotel.
Cordially
Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Vecchia Oliviera for three nights and found it enchanting --- warm, welcoming staff, quiet rooms, good breakfast and a gorgeous view. It's right at the top of the hill, steps from the main street through town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erbonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review and I hope to have you again in our Hotel.
Cordially
Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A great hotel at the entrance of this very hilly town of Montalcino. Rooms range from simple to deluxe. Simple rooms are small while the deluxe face the valley of the Val D'Orica and are of ample size. Breakfasts are wholesome and plentiful. This is a great base and good value for the money.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eva s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review and I hope to have you again in our Hotel.
Cordially
Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is my first time in Montalcino and Hotel Vecchia Oliviera. I'm only here one night but so far it's charming and a very authentic Tuscan hotel. The staff have been warm and inviting and although there is no elevator, at least none I could see, my luggage was carried to my room. I have a larger corner rooms with excellent views of the Tuscan countryside. I love deep bathtubs and this one has jets. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definitely stay here again.
Another bonus, the bedding (sheets and pillow cases) are crisp and fresh and in good shape. The towels are fluffy and large. And another bonus there is a fully stocked honor bar and bathroom amenities including toothbrush, toothpaste and shampoos. I am writing this review within the first few hours of my stay so cannot comment on the breakfast but I did see the setting and it too is lovely. I am looking forward to a great nights sleep at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two views of the countryside and I think are quieter. They're also very romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review and I hope to have you again in our Hotel.
Cordially
Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a lovely place, with a great breakfast and a pool! Sandro was a fantastic host, he was extremely charming and helpful. The hotel is very clean with good sized rooms and is in a perfect location - nice and quiet at night but close enough to walk everywhere you want to go. We definitely want to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review and I hope to have you again in our Hotel.
Cordially
Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I spent five nights at VO and had a great time. Something about this little hotel blends well into the fabric of Montalcino and the surrounding valleys - it isn't super fancy but it has a great sense of authenticity. Sandro and Elisa were both gracious and welcoming, even through the booking process, and were willing to answer all of my questions and make recommendations. My room was on the small side but the views were wonderful - including from the lovely patio - and I slept perfectly each night. Breakfasts were satisfying including and especially the endless stream of cappuccino! Also, the showers could use some updating but the water pressure/temperature was perfect. The parking was very convenient. I wandered into a few of the other small hotels in Montalcino and decided that I would definitely stay again at VO when I'm lucky enough to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review and I hope to have you again in our Hotel.
Cordially
Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.8 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
5.5 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchia Oliviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchia Oliviera

Address: Porta Cerbaia | Porta Cerbaia, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range: £102 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vecchia Oliviera 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel is situated at the gates of Montalcino in the province of Siena. A town of noble traditions, Montalcino lies at the heart of the Val d'Orcia and is the home of Brunello, the prestigious wine known all over the world for it's excellent quality. The surrounding landscape of charming singularity reflects the unaltered bond established between man and nature. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has it's home in a fascinating old olive oil mill that has been carefully renovated. Both it's location and considerate service make it a fully relaxing place to stay.The Hotel consists of eleven rooms: 4 Double Standard (bathroom with shower); 4 Double Superior with view (more spacious and bathroom with whirlpool tub, in some of these rooms you can add 1 or 2 extra beds); 1 Suite triple (one bedroom with double bed and one bedroom with single bed, bathroom with shower); 1 Family Suite (livingroom with double sofa bed and double room, bathroom with shower, 1 Single room (bathroom with shower). All room are furnished and provided with every comfort: TV, wi-fi, phone, safe, mini-bar, air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom with shower or whirlpool tub.The swimming pool, with hydromassage, is situated amid the greenery and perfumes of a panoramic garden that offers a delight to the senses that only such unique settings can provide. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has a private car park and lies at a distance of only 2 minutes walk from the main square of Montalcino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vecchia Oliviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchia Oliviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing