We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tuscan Wine Experience”

Enoteca di Piazza Wine Room
Ranked #16 of 72 things to do in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The first wine store in Italy where it possible to taste everyday wines from 100 different wineries using the drink card system. Choose the wine you wish to taste and insert the card in the tasting isle; the buttons will light up. Push the button corresponding to the chosen wine and it will dispensed into your glass. You will find in tasting not just Brunello and Rosso di Montalcino but also Nobile di Montepulciano, Chianti Classico and the most famous Supertiscans, all very well preserved with the azote system who preserve the quality of the bottles. Please, contact us if you need more information. Wine Room store will be open all days from 9:00 am to 8:00 pm.
Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best Tuscan Wine Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a truly great place to sample Tuscan wines by the glass or taste. There are more than 200 vintners within a 30 mile radius of Montalcino according to a brochure. If you like Tuscan wines, I don't know of a better place than this anywhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    4
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Extensive wine selection and even better advice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

if you are looking for a crash course in Tuscan wines stop here and stay awhile and taste. They know their wines and have a huge selection. Plus very friendly and great English. Note there are several "shops" by same name so be sure you find the one with the tastings by the card system.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MilitaryDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing few hours with Marzeena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We drove straight in from Rome FCO and rented a car to Montalcino. We only had two days so we drove straight here to taste thru as many Brunellos as we could before our next day of winery tastings. It ended up being the perfect strategy for us. This enoteca has most of their inventory online so I was able to research the wines with our local wine shop to see what was a good investment for us and make a shopping list. I cannot believe I got them all except for the Valdicava (which you can get at the Fortress). I even got the last bottle of the Wine Spector "Wine of the Year" the Casanova di Neri 2001 Tenuta Nuova. Oh joy to throw that one in the case for shipping home! By the way, shipping was much cheaper than anyone else has quoted. The guys there are super helpful and patient while you use the drink card system which ROCKS when you are new to a wine region. We will most definitely be calling them to make future orders!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank demastersd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Good Selection of Wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were in Montalcino for a day trip, and visited this Enoteca after having read the good recommendations on TripAdvisor. We were certainly not disappointed. The place has a good selection of wines. As we are not wine experts, the guy who serviced us explained the different wines, and recommended some wines for us to taste. We finally settled for a bottle of Brunello di Montalcino 2007. We will definitely drop by again if we are in Montalcino the next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
“Best wine tasting in Montalcino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The owners Nicolo and Linda were so kind to visit us at the villa in Montalcino where we stayed. We were overwhelmed by their expertise, kindness and service levels. All in all, we enjoyed a wonderful evening full of delicious wines and great stories about Brunello wines from Montalcino. BTW; their English is impeccable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enoteca di Piazza Wine Room also viewed

Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Enoteca di Piazza Wine Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing