We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, good location”
Review of Hotel dei Capitani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel dei Capitani
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, good location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are pretty basic and fancy but then the hotel itself faces the beautiful view of Montalcino, making the pool an excellent place to hang out. The staffs are very helpful and will go out of their way to recommend places to visit, where to park etc. good location with easy access to all parts of the city. The only downside for us was that wifi is only available so we can't go online in the comfort of our room. But for the amount we paid, all in all it's sill good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monfong24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    198
    57
    17
    12
See reviews for
51
246
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile,AL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at this property last month. I would definitely opt to get a room overlooking the valley rather than being on the street side of the hotel. The stunning view is the definite "highlight" of this hotel. Our room was clean and well maintained. The bathroom was small as was the shower. We did not appreciate excessive noise from adjoining rooms as other reviewers have noted. The wi-fi in the room was awful and I had to go out by the stairwell to even get slow rather than essentially non-existent connectivity. There is a computer on the lower level of the hotel that is slower than the wi-fi. If decent wi-fi access in your hotel is an important need then this might be a "deal-breaker" for you.
My wife & I are fit so negotiating the steep climb up to the center of the city might be of significant concern to those who have mobility issues.
We stayed at this hotel on two school days and the pedestrian and car traffic around the nearby school zone at the start and finish of the school days on this steep narrow road up to the center of the city was really impressive each morning and afternoon. If you are walking along this road at these times of the day you need to be particularly cautious.
We did not have any problems with the front desk staff during our stay but didn't find anyone to be particularly "welcoming".
The two breakfasts we ate ate the hotel were excellent.
Despite the great views towards the valley I would certainly opt to stay at a different hotel with better "creature comforts" if I were to return to Montalchino.

Room Tip: The main reason to stay at this hotel is to have a room that overlooks the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MobileResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel in March this year. It was a wonderful experience . Short walk up the hill to numerous restaurant El Grego was our favourite. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and nothing was to much bother. Be sure to get a room (we had 306) that overlooks the view it's spectacular. It really is magnificent. Most of the shops shut at around 1 pm and open about 4pm the supermarket does this to and shuts on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Room 306 is a really good room very spacious with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the end of April at this hotel.
Great location. We could open our windows and see the beautiful Tuscany vista - fields of grape vines , rolling hills, cypress trees. Loved it.
Room was great, clean and comfortable but the walls were paper thin and could hear EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a quiet room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madogmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It was my second visit and my friend's third visit. We were about to start our walk to Viterbo. Although the rooms are quite small and simple, they are perfectly adequate. It is the location and views that are outstanding. As it was the end of April (Easter Sunday)!the pool was still out of action but I did swim in it the last time. Breakfast was very good with a generous selection of sweet and savoury. The staff we met were engaging and very helpful. Would very willingly stay there again. As this was part of a package deal with ATG the walking company we couldn't assess individual value

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms outside and 'above' the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellioth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband I spent 4 nights here on our honeymoon in Oct 2013. The view from our room was amazing - I really enjoyed drinking wine and eating baked goods from the bakery while looking at the view.

Breakfast was typical. Meat, cheese, fruit, yogurt etc.

It was steps away from a few really good restaurants and included parking for our rental car. I would stay here again. Always ask for a room with a view!

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverKimYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel has a fantastic view of the hills of Tuscany. Other than that, it's pretty average. The staff didn't seem that interested in helping the guests. They weren't exactly rude but it just seemed like they were into customer service. The breakfast was not good. I would not stay there again if I ever went back to Montacino. Rooms were noisy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
1.1 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#10 of 17 in Montalcino
135 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
155 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Capitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Capitani

Property: Hotel dei Capitani
Address: Via Lapini 6, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Capitani 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in part of the eighteenth-century “Catasto Leopoldino” in the historic centre of Montalcino. The rooms at the back afford a splendid view, taking in the Val d’Orcia and the Val d’Arbia.Opening out onto this backdrop is a large, panoramic garden, where a swimming pool has been created to resemble a medieval fountain.In the remaining rooms, some of which are laid out on two levels, you can breathe in the typical atmosphere of an ancient Tuscan village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel dei Capitani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Capitani Hotel
Dei Capitani Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing