We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday. Hope to return.”
Review of Piombaia -Crocina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piombaia -Crocina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We visited Piombaia for 10 days in August as a family holiday. We had a fantastic time in every way. The farmhouse accomodation, although basic, had everything that we needed and anything that we required as an extra (such as a cot for our baby) was supplied.
The setting of Piombaia is beautiful. The views from every window are like looking out at a picture postcard scene of Tuscany. The swimmng pool is uncrowded and surrounded by lavendar bushes. The swimming pool is cleaned daily and topped up with fresh water.
The Rossi- Cantini family who run Piombaia were friendly and helpful. They came to chat and to check that we were happy, to recommend places to eat and to help us to make reservations. We did a cookery lesson with Cecilia which was great fun and she was able to cater for one of our party's special dietry requirements.
All in all, we had a relaxing holiday and would love to return to Piombaia if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Very attentive staff who were always willing to help us with whatever we needed. They were very nice and warm people, who really seemed to care about our holidays being good. If we had any trouble with internet or whatever, they were instantly responsive. They would make reservations for us at wine tastings, restaurants, etc, and they knew all of the good places to go. The rooms was spacious and the prices are extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dellios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We were in Piombaia just 3 days, and it was great! Romms are very clean and nice, the location is very calm and pleasant. Stuff was really friendly and we felt like at home. We are very glad, that we stayed in Piombaia. Looking forward to the trip back to Montalcino.
Dear Piombabia team, thank you very much! We wish you a lot of success in future.
Oksana & Thorsten

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oksana83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Our stay at Piombaia was part of our honeymoon, and it made our experience in Tuscany unforgettable. This is a cozy family owned property and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. But there were several other factors that made our stay here enjoyable. Although we did not spend much time in our room, it was quite spacious and clean, with a kitchenette and living room in addition to our bedroom. All the rooms including the bathroom had picturesque views of the Tuscan countryside. All that you would imagine you would see in Tuscany you could see from our room, with beautiful vineyards, farmhouses, and cypress trees dotting the landscape. We got a lovely tour and wine tasting at their main vineyard. We also sampled their organic olive oil and both their wines and olive oil were excellent. Piombaia is also located only a mile or two from Montalcino, and renting a car is probably the best way to get around, not only to visit Montalcino but other towns nearby such as Montepulciano and Pienza.

The staff is not present there all the time but they do provide a number if you need any service. We did not have a cell phone but it wasn't a problem for us.

We only spent two nights here but would have loved to spend more to be able to explore more of the surrounding area and spend more time relaxing at Piombaia. We traveled to other areas of Italy including Florence and Amalfi Coast in addition to Paris, but it is very hard to beat sitting in our room, sharing an excellent bottle of wine and tasty cheese while watching the sunset with someone you love. We will definitely stay here again if we return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We were a group of 16 people, 8 adults and 8 childern. Unfortunally, we stayed only for a week-end in Piombaia, but it could had lasted for weeks, as nice has the site been.

The agriturismo is really nice, cultivated and well-kept, located in the midlle of the region of Montalcino. The appartements are quite amply and well furnished. Just if you want to cook big menus on your own, the kitchen would be a little too small - but who wants to cook for his own if he could eat at the osteria of the agriturismo? The osteria was small, but also really nice and tipical.

I can also recommend the wines of Piombaia, the brunello is a great wine, not only for the taste, but also for the price. An the second wine "gatto nero" is really a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

This family villa in the heart of Tuscany is the perfect place to stay while enjoying the experience of Tuscany. The accomodations, the family, the restaurant, the ambiance of Tuscany was far more than we anticipated while on holiday in Italy. I will most definitely stay again on my 3rd trip to Italy. Viva la Piombaia!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janellelarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Lovely place perfect for making trips to wineries in Montalcino region and tasting Brunello or Rosso di Montalcino. Quiet place with very friendly service. The restaurant doesn't disturb guests and provides opportunity to enjoy a dinner with wine without driving to the city. We also like the wine Gato Nero.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman3297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#7 of 17 in Montalcino
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
480 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le 7 Camicie
Le 7 Camicie
#10 of 17 in Montalcino
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Le Benducce
Agriturismo Le Benducce
#22 of 56 in Montalcino
25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Podere Brizio
Podere Brizio
#1 of 56 in Montalcino
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agriturismo La Crociona
Agriturismo La Crociona
#2 of 56 in Montalcino
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piombaia -Crocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piombaia -Crocina

Address: Localita Podere Crocina 1 | La Croce, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Montalcino
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piombaia -Crocina 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Val d'Orcia, among the artistic itineraries of Sant Antimo Abbey, the historic and urban ones of Montalcino, the naturalistic ones of Monte Amiata and the thermal waters of Bagno Vignoni, you can find the Piombaia Agritourism. The agritourism started in 1995 in a traditional farmhouse which still conserves its rustic flavour of the countryside, but today is provided with every type of comfort and service quarantee its high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piombaia -Crocina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing