We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the most amazing experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford Surrey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Just the most amazing experience ever!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had looked at this hotel on line before a trip to Tuscany and discounted it since it was just so expensive. However, one lunchtime we found ourselves in the wine shop enjoying some tastings, chatting to the staff and soaking up the amazing views and enjoyed ourselves so much we thought, what the hell, went on the ipad using their free Wi-Fi and booked a room for the next two days (we had one night left at our hotel in Montalcino). I booked the most reasonably priced room that they had but cheekily said in the email that we were making the booking from their wine shop and was there any chance of an upgrade.

The next day we drove back feeling very excited (no problem finding it this time!) and checked in. Glass of sparkling wine pressed into our hands, lovely friendly staff checking us in. One of them said - we noticed you asked for an upgrade and we do actually have a better room available for the next two nights so we have put you in that one - I was surprised, very pleased and a little bit embarrassed, but hey why not!!

Our bags were taken care of and we were shown around the beautiful and perfectly formed hotel and grounds. On to our room - which turned out to be a fantastic suite of rooms - 2 huge bathrooms, a lovely sitting room and large bedroom with fantastic views. The fridge contained complimentary chocolates, half a bottle of sparkling wine and a sweet pink wine. We were also given a complimentary half bottle of red wine. I later found out that we had actually been given a triple upgrade!

Back to the hotel. The swimming pool area was lovely, nice seating, fabulous views. Complimentary water was available nearby. Breakfast was served near the pool and there was a fantastic selection - hot choices cooked to order - fantastic omelettes. At 7 every evening there was a complimentary wine hour in the library. A waiter was on hand to served red, white or sparkling wines, canapés were available. It was a lovely chilled experience - board games and books available - a nice way to spend a civilised hour before dinner. We had the tasting menu at the restaurant the first night - the food was exquisite - it was all just so perfectly done - the wine amazing. We decided to go back the next night because despite the cost we just did not want to leave the Banfi bubble until we had to.

It was a dream of a stay - when we left we felt like we had been there much longer than two nights - but not long enough! It was expensive but it was worth every single penny and I am so so glad that we stayed there. It is a hotel in a million - but it would not be the place it is without the incredible staff

Room Tip: they all look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank four-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
262
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

... and a cure for whatever ails you (and even if nothing does). We spent a delightlful several days at Banfi, arriving on the day that the hotel opened for the season -- although we never would have known that if we had not been told beforehand. It was running like a Swiss watch ... if the watch was placed high in the Tuscan hills, surrounded by breathtaking beauty. Our room was spacious, beautifully furnished and had a spectacular view of the countryside. And, of course, there are the wines ... Brunellos and Super Tuscans to die for, served up at tastings on request in the Enoteca, at lunch in the Taverna or, best of all, in the beautiful restaurant for dinner. The food is exquisitely prepared and served, and the kitchen is most willing to prepare off-the-menu dishes to suit dietary choices and palates. The staff is very professional and uniformly friendly, courteous and helpful, willing to arrange day trips on a moment's notice (we recommend visiting Montalcino, it's a perfect Tuscan hill town). From the moment we arrived and were greeted at the reception desk with a glass of sparkling wine, everyone treated us as as welcome guests. But, without the intention of slighting anyone, I have to single out Mirco and his assistant Gabriele at the restaurant for their incredible service and attention, Bernadette at the Enoteca for the spectacular tastings, and Francesca from the breakfast room ... they made a very special place that much more special. We left feeling refreshed and revived, with our only regret that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHS-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Castello Banfi was a beautiful place to visit. We went in late September when all the grapes were hanging on the vine and ready to be turned into wine. It was a pleasure walking through the vineyards and the woods. Rabbit, deer and pheasant were everywhere. The views from our room were amazing. The staff was very accommodating and the cooking class was great.
Breakfast was included and served in a quaint dining room overlooking the valley. Every meal was amazing...

The most spectacular thing about this hotel is the hotel itself and grounds. The Castle and grounds are so well preserved and maintained you feel like you are looking at the past and living in a museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

All I can say about this hotel is that is amazing. We booked for 2 nights and ended up saying 4!
Staff treats you very nice! Their wine shop is amazing. We have tried so many nice wines. It is a very exclusive small hotel and it does cost a lot of money but it is worth every penny.
I am definitely coming back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fufuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was a great experience, one of the best hotels I've seen
Only 14 rooms, all with different design
Great local wine - Banfi, free bottles in the room and also in the library
The restaurant is very good
There is a pool with a beautyful view over the hills.
Ideal place for a romantic and quiet getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena_R99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What an amazing place! Stunning typical Tuscan views of rolling hills, vineyards and olive groves. Every room is different from those with separate living room areas to the one opposite reception and up the stairs where I stayed which has a huge walk-in rain shower! We were so lucky with the weather for the end of October and enjoyed breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine. The hotel restaurant food is mouth-wateringly delicious and definitely Michelin star quality. We had the most melt-in -the-mouth home made porcini mushroom ravioli with potato cream and huge slices of truffle – absolute heaven. Each course was served with one of the estate wines and by their expert sommelier, Mirko. The a Cabernet Sauvignon, Summus is particularly good, but in fact all of the wines are excellent. A visit to the winery is a definite must, along with the obligatory tasting! Banfi are the largest producers of the famous Brunello di Montalcino wine and you can see why. Great location, fantastic quality and service. It is just my ideal piece of Tuscany heaven on a plate and I would highly recommend this boutique gem to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: The room opposite reception has a very romantic bedroom with steps leading up from the dressing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed as Castello Banfi for 4 nights and it was a terrific spot to use as a tour base for a Tuscan week. Albeit a bit hard to find in the dark, once there you will find yourself in a very luxurious property with views of the Tuscan countryside all around. Our room was wonderful and very comfortable with a garden terrace just outside which was the perfect spot to start the day with coffee or end the day with a glass or two of wine. The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff extremely accommodating. There is a very good restaurant on-site so its location in the countryside is not an issue. As it is owned and run by the family that owns the nearby Banfi winery (with a huge tasting room on site) you can take a winery tour as part of your stay. Very well worth the time spent. And, as mentioned, it is very well located for day trips to the Tuscan hill towns that dot the countryside. Would definitely return if we ever go back to Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.0 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
6.3 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
21.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#5 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Property: Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 2 Deluxe Rooms and 12 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing