We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom Around the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom
Around the house
Natural pool
The property in the evening
The bedroom
The bedroom
The living room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Park around the house
Pool at sunset
Hammock for your siesta
A glass of Brunello (with a sommelier advice from the owner if you want)
Around the house
Brunello di Montalcino
Around the house
Around the house
The twin bedroom
The ensuite bathroom
The ensuite bathroom
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Montalcino, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Hans-Jaco...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at Fonte Aulente in october and just loved the place. It's secluded, in beautiful surroundings and very close to the city of Montalcino. The hostess Alexandra was very helpful both before we arrived and during our stay. She gave us some great advise on places to see and things to do. The rental itself is very cozy with typical architecture for the region. I can highly recommend this place, especially for couples. We will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils
Liked best: Everything about the property
Liked least: We only stayed 2 nights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JaviVT
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to know Tuscany”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A great apartment next to Montalcino, very care and with an amazing natural swimming pool. Alexandra makes the stay very comfortable, caring to be comfy but without incommode.

The ubication is perfect to know the Tuscany, near the main villages and towns to do excursions and in the craddle of Brunello Montalcino, surrounded by vineyards.

A house and a host very recommendable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Con mi pareja
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJ M
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gorgeous place to stay in the heart of Tuscany.”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a sweet spot to get away from it all and have the view of Tuscany right out your window. This is by far the nicest place I stayed at during my travels through France, Switzerland and Italy. Very spacious and a kitchen to boot. Alexandra gives you tips on the Brunello wines of the area and Montalcino is just up the hill. The grounds are lovely and I couldn't stop taking pictures of the view as well as the dragonflies that welcome you as they zip by the water lilies. A place to put on my list to return to for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EverInTra...
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful base for your visit to Southern Tuscany”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely (albeit, short) two night stay at Alexandra's house outside of Montalcino. From the moment we arrived, she was very generous and helpful, including offering to meet us at a nearby gas station and lead us to the house, because the address can be somewhat difficult to find. The home is in a stunning location, the photos don't do it justice. These rolling hills are often painted with fog first thing in the morning and it is absolutely breathtaking--and that view is right outside of your bedroom window! The hilltop home dates back to the 12th century when it served as a watchtower for invading troops. The bathroom is very large and modern, and the kitchen is well-equipped for doing your own cooking or just (preferable) pulling together a lovely fresh Tuscan breakfast or picnic. I hope to return to Alexandra's house in Montalcino one day when we can spend more time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aigerber
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Montalcino”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Absolute perfection. The apartment is perfect - separate entrance with living room, kitchen, bath, private outdoor dining area, and one of the greatest bedroom window views imaginable. Location couldn't be better - 5 minute drive from Montalcino and easy to drive anywhere in Tuscany. We spent a day driving from town to town and couldn't have picked a better home base. Highest recommendation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florent G
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A true gem in the heart of Val d'Orcia!”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is very difficult to describe in a few words how perfect our stay in fonteaulente was, how delightful is Alexandra as a host (and her husband Michelangelo as well) and how magnifiscent is the estate. The appartment is cosy and functional, the view from the bedroom is just unbelievable, same for the table outside which is perfect for a romantic dinner with a glass (or several) of Brunello, or for a nice breakfast. We had a great contact with Alexandra who knows very well the area and is an expert in the famous wines of Montalcino.
We will stay in touch for sure and will come back, the fitness room is almost ready :) i would definitely recommend a stay in fonte aulente if you want to enjoy Montalcino, val d'Orcia and more over the brunello wine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing