We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Tuscan holidays”
Review of Borgo al Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Borgo al Cerro
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Unforgettable Tuscan holidays”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

A very very kind staff, lovely place, useful facilities... Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    48
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We liked:
- Free wifi. Free parking.
- The bread for the morning was brought to our door every day (if ordered).
- Location: the highway between Siena and Firenze was easy to reach.
- Clean apartment (4 on a scale to 5). Well equipped.
- Clean pool with enough sunbeds.
- Nice and friendly service/staff. Good at english!
- The price was fair.

Could be better:
- The road could be more signed, there is no Borgo Al Cerro sign on the road towards to Casole d'Elsa. Our navigation tried to get us through Casole d'Elsa. It was not possible.
- The matresses in the bedroom were extremely hard (italian standard?)!
- The access to private teracces/gardens was nice, but it was a bit public. We did not use it.
- The fitness area (which is mentioned on the website) was in a very low standard. Kids used it as toys. Useless for an adult man. The equipment should (when mentioned) have been better and should have been unavailable to kids.

- An idea: make it possible in the reception to buy icecream.
- A map to the local supermarket (coop in colle di val d'elsa) would have been nice.

We would like to stay here a again. And we can recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjoerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wells, somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This was our 6th year in Tuscany and the 5th time we have stayed at Borgo al Cerro. The accommodation is of a very high standard and set in its own grounds just outside of the lovely hill top town of Casole D'Elsa. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and only to pleased to provide additional details of the surrounding area. If you are going to stay in Tuscany and want a top quality hotel in a beautiful spot then I would give this a try - you will not be disappointed. This year the restaurant next door re-opened and we found it to be of the highest quality with great service and beautful food.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller9948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Completely peaceful holiday .......we were so sad to leave this place. Also big thanks to Pablo and Renzo for there tips and suggestions!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apex19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here during a recent family vacation. The place is absolutely stunning. The setting is nice and calm and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Pablito the manager helped us tremendously giving us tips on restaurants (he was bang on on his recommendations) as well as helping us with any extra things that we needed during our stay of 6 days/nights. Ristorante Il Colobaio has great Tuscan food with friendly staff and the local gelato place in Casole was great too.
The pool is certainly an added benefit as my almost 5 year old son enjoyed playing in the water. The apartments are nice and clean and well stocked with utensils and other things that might be needed.
Overall a tremendous experience. My wife and I always do a little quiz about whether we would visit a city again or stay at a place again or go to a restaurant again. For this one we would absolutely like to come here again!!
Ciao

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexicovisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had a lovely time. The apartments were clean and extremely family-friendly. The crib was already in place for our arrival and the grounds were fantastic for our 7 year old soccer player and his 18 month old brother. They made friends immediately with other neighboring families. Siena, San Gimignano and Volterra are all within 30 minutes and Florence was around 1 hour away. My husband wants to come back for his 40th birthday. The only advice I would recommend to the hotel would be to include a little olive oil/salt complimentary because they are not something you would buy in bulk for 5 days. Also, the manager was always accomodating giving us dishwashing detergent and trash bags. The place was beautiful and peaceful. What a pleasure!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mateo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlottePitt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

After an exhaustive weekend travelling around Tuscany looking at potential accommodation for our wedding we came across Borgo al Cerro and stopped looking.

We spent a week during August with our entire wedding party and it couldn't have been better.
The accommodation is traditionally tuscan. Clean, homely, comfortable and encompassed everything we required for our stay.

The level of service from the staff at Borgo is beyond that of any accommodation I have every stayed in. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they were always on hand if required. Both prior to our arrival and during our stay.

The grounds of Borgo al Cerro are beautiful and helped to create a wonderful setting for our evening wedding party.
The pool is very large with plenty of space for families to enjoy without encroaching on other users. In addition to this, each apartment has it's own garden space with tables and chairs.

The village of Casole d'Elsa is a short walk up a (rather steep) hill, however this can also be accessed via a longer walk along the main roads.
Borgo is a great place to stay if you are looking for peace and tranquility or a city break.
Siena, San Gimignano, Poggibonsi, Colle Valle d'Elsa are all close by.

There is a factory approx. 0.5Km from Borgo, but other than being unsightly on the drive up to the accommodation this bears insignificant to Borgo's beauty.
The factory does not produce any smoke or smells and can hardly be seen from Borgo once you have arrived.

Our holiday was wonderful and this is echoed by our wedding guests.
We shall return to Borgo in the near future to re-live our fond memories.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingNutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terre di Casole
Hotel Terre di Casole
#2 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
1.6 mi away
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
#4 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Antica Fonte Resort
Antica Fonte Resort
#5 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
6.4 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo al Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo al Cerro

Property: Borgo al Cerro
Address: | Localita Casanova, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo al Cerro 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 15 apartments of various sizes, and our 3 one-room apartments have simple and functional furnishings, but they are warm and inviting. All rooms have their original timbered ceilings and Tuscan terracotta flooring. The history of Borgo al Cerro is not easy to reconstruct, but from the old walls one can see signs of fortifications, which were perhaps justified by the fact that it is located on the old customs road for Casole d'Elsa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Borgo al Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Al Cerro Hotel
Borgo Al Cerro Casole D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing