We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent destination”
Review of Borgo al Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Borgo al Cerro
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent destination”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited last week for a family wedding - what a great location for a wedding venue!
Our apartment was large with a garden, the swimming pool and grounds were superb and the staff friendly.
My only slight negatives were that the Wi-Fi was somewhat erratic and our apartment didn't have air conditioning, but neither would stop me recommending it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    48
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
95
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great place for exploring Tuscany. Not so close to Florence, but well connected to the main roads (if you drive like Italian - fast :)).

Perfect place for families with kids. So the room was clean, equipped with necessary coffee machine and kitchen stuff. Pool is not the biggest in the world, but it's big enough.

Service is english speaking, so no problem with communication.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masuszki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Borgo al Cerro. The grounds were beautiful, with fresh figs ripening on the trees, bushes of rosemary and sage, and grapevines with tasty grapes. The Villa we stayed at had a nicely equipped kitchen (even had a dishwasher!) and was very comfortable. Management was very friendly as well as all of the other guests. Our kids had a blast at the beautiful pool and we enjoyed meeting and chatting with folks from many different countries. The outdoor kitchen area by the pool was fantastic - a nice big built-in brick charcoal grill and a decent sized prep area allowed for a fantastic dinner one night. Also, there is a very good restaurant that is adjacent to Borgo al Cerro, so if you don't feel like cooking or driving, a very convenient and tasty option.

The location was fantastic and we were never too far from most of the more popular hill towns in Tuscany. We can't wait to stay at Borgo al Cerro again and are already planning another trip to Italia

Room Tip: C2 is a two level villa and has five bedrooms and can accommodate large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The most ideal place for families. We were in Villa Number C2, ten persons. Spacious great. Equipped with all necessary things and beyond. The place itself wide open with a large pool, a great place to have a barbecue. Although it is not hotel sheets and towels are clean and can be replaced during the week. There is a daily cleaning service available in an extra charge but also has simple cleaning measures to keep the place clean.The owner of the place, Mr. Pabalito helpful and helps all you need. Fluent in English. You can and should shop nearby (14 km) supermarket then prepare breakfast every morning with well-equipped kitchen. The villa's location is excellent. Located at the midpoint between Florence and Siena in Tuscany so that each point is far from a half hour to an hour away. Great place for a fair price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baco76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our third visit to Borgo Al Cerro, the first though as a full family holiday including our small dog - who was made very welcome.
We love the location and the ambience of the Borgo. Pablito and the team make you very welcome. we were pleased that the very good restaurant next door was open this time and we used it 3 times in the week, very handy to walk to and a good choice of menu.
The pool and the gardens are kept very neat and tidy - guests are invited to pick fruit from the many trees for their own consumption and the apartments are well appointed and a good size. The shower cubicles are perhaps a little small for some larger guests but that is really only a minor point. Overall the Borgo is a delightful little gem which we are happy to share - with perhaps just a chosen few!

Room Tip: families may prefer the pool facing apartments - those wanting a more peaceful stay or more shade, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We discovered Borgo al Cerro a few years ago and have been coming back regularly since. For families with small or growing kids this place is ideal. The pool and its surrounding areas are fantastic. Very family oriented so the little ones always make friends and play in both the pool and the beautiful gardens. Moreover, every year that we've been has seen upgrades in the facilities and apartments. Pablito and his staff really go all out to make your stay pleasurable.

The apartments and grounds are superbly maintained and well appointed, and all the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and easy going and the location is ideal. 10 minutes walk up the hill to the lovely village Casole d'Elsa, a lovely restaurant within 2 minutes walk of the complex and views everywhere that are sublime.

We've already booked for next year and are already looking forward to it. We love it here!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool mean you can easier see your kids and still sit in the gardens if you like. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PWKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed four nights and found it offered great value. The host & staff were very friendly and helpful.We stayed in an apartment with breakfast included. It is like an apt without daily maid service. Breakfast (bread, cold meats, juice, coffee, cheese, cereal,yogurt, fresh fruit) arrived promptly each day. Plenty of room to move around, table, small sofa, small bathroom but it was fine and a good sized and comfortable bed. The kitchenette was OK, but I really didn't cook there. We were on vacation so we ate out, except for breakfast. They have pay for use laundry machines. We were there in early November so the pool and on site restaurant were closed for the season. Lovely countryside. Walk 800 meters up the hillside to the town for wonderful views and meals. I would certainly return and stay longer, if time permits.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 5, I believe. Roomy. If you left the drapes open the morning sun would great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terre di Casole
Hotel Terre di Casole
#2 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
1.7 mi away
Antica Fonte Resort
Antica Fonte Resort
#5 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
#4 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
420 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo al Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo al Cerro

Property: Borgo al Cerro
Address: | Localita Casanova, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo al Cerro 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 15 apartments of various sizes, and our 3 one-room apartments have simple and functional furnishings, but they are warm and inviting. All rooms have their original timbered ceilings and Tuscan terracotta flooring. The history of Borgo al Cerro is not easy to reconstruct, but from the old walls one can see signs of fortifications, which were perhaps justified by the fact that it is located on the old customs road for Casole d'Elsa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Borgo al Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Al Cerro Hotel
Borgo Al Cerro Casole D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing