We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice holidays”
Review of Borgo al Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Borgo al Cerro
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice holidays”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Very nice rooms in a very nice place for very nice holidays.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurent_de_lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    48
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zuidhorn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed for 2 weeks at Borgo el Cerro and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We only had one problem and that was when we had to leave....liked to have stayed all summer!
Beautiful place, nice people and not forgetting a swimmingpool without shouting people.
We come back for sure.
Ate Harsta-Zuidhorn, Holland

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AteZuidhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Stayed for a week in July 2009 and enjoyed every minute. Our kids are 8 + 11 and the setting is absolutely perfect when travelling with kids - they could run around as they liked and we thoroughly enjoyed the facilities around the pool in particular the table tennis and the table football, not to mention the huge BBQ which is at everyone's free disposal.
Won't hesitate to recommend this to anyone in the future - hope to be back one day myself.
Malou, Copenhagen - Denmark

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tildetilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We spent our honeymoon in tuscany and Borgo al Cerro was the place we started. We realy enjoyed the location which is in central tuscany. The pool was large and very clean, we especially loved the generous outside area of the apartment. We'll certainly recommend this location to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We booked Borgo al Cerro directly with them through theeir website. I had a couple of queries before booking which were answered promptly and in perfect English. The website is very good and gives a good indication of the layout and position of each apartment. As we were only two people we chose apartment C6 which was plenty big enough for two people. Despite the fact that there were quite a number of apartments occupied the site was calm and peaceful. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a track running alongside the Borgo which leads to Casole d'Elsa village, it's about a 20 minute walk, it is uphill, but worth it. The village is delightful, clean, pretty and lovely views. There are only a handful of shops but they include grocery stores, quite a number of cafes and restaurants and a really nice ice-cream shop that gives very generous portions! Just outside the village there is a small supermarket selling most provisions, It is an ideal spot for touring being pretty much in the centre of tuscany. We are happy to recommend both Borgo al Cerro and Casole d'Elsa for a relaxing holiday in Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardtoplease55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wells, somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Excellent service from the reception staff at Borgo al Cerro with friendly help and assistance on hand if required. Our first week we stayed in apt 8 which was a very nice room in a quiet corner of the main house. Our second week we stayed in apt C5 which is right next to the reception. Both rooms were excellent and very comfortable. Due to the quiet location of Borgo al Cerro a car is a must as there are many places to visit.
Great food can be had from the restaurant next door, the restaurant and pizzeria in the main street of Casole d'Elsa, and the restaurants in Mensano and Il Merlo.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller9948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Borgo al Cerro is in the country at the foot of the hill on which stands Casole d' Elsa, a 't'ypical' small Tuscan hill-top town. If you are fit you could walk up to the town but for most people it is a 4 km drive round to get there with the advantage of a lift up from the car park into the town (specially welcome on a hot day).
While we were staying the weather was full sun for a week with only 2 hours of cloud during the whole time. As people who enjoy warmth but do not like sitting in the sun we were delighted by the shade on the patio of our apartment (C5), and also by being able to sit in the shade by the large swimming pool, which is sensibly, but unusually, of a depth that means the average adult can stand up anywhere in it. If you had small children it could be a disadvantage that there is no childrens pool.
We received a warm welcome and the reception was always friendly and helpful.
It was the only place amongst many that that we have stayed in where we found no disadvantages for what we wanted and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForresterLedbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terre di Casole
Hotel Terre di Casole
#2 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
1.6 mi away
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
#4 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Antica Fonte Resort
Antica Fonte Resort
#5 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
6.4 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo al Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo al Cerro

Property: Borgo al Cerro
Address: | Localita Casanova, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo al Cerro 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 15 apartments of various sizes, and our 3 one-room apartments have simple and functional furnishings, but they are warm and inviting. All rooms have their original timbered ceilings and Tuscan terracotta flooring. The history of Borgo al Cerro is not easy to reconstruct, but from the old walls one can see signs of fortifications, which were perhaps justified by the fact that it is located on the old customs road for Casole d'Elsa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Borgo al Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Al Cerro Hotel
Borgo Al Cerro Casole D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing