We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo al Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo al Cerro
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Certificate of Excellence
Ardee, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

This was my fourth stay at the Borgo. I chose to stay in apartment number 1 as I had stayed there before and liked the extra space. The apartment was spotlessly clean and there was some new furniture, sofa, armchairs, coffee table etc in the living/dining area. The kitchen was well equipped, microwave, fridge/freezer, coffee percolator, toaster, lots of pots pans, in short everything needed for a comfortable self catering holiday. Upstairs, the bedrooms (one double and one single) were very clean and tidy. There were two new duvets and plenty of spare blankets. There are two bathrooms, both with showers. I found the apartment to be very comfortable and homely. If visiting in colder months there is central heating throughout. Because this apartment is on two levels it may not suit people with limited mobility but there are other apartments on one level. All apartments have a garden area with tables and chairs. Apartment 1 fronts onto the large swimming pool. Around the pool area there are lots of sun loungers, deck chairs, parasols, and tables. There is a keep fit area with exercise bike, weights etc. There is also a BBQ area with several ovens and an area to prepare and serve your BBQ. Adjacent to the pool there are showers with hot water and toilets. Although the pool is not heated I managed to spend several hours swimming each day. The grounds around the Borgo are immaculate. Lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers are all perfectly manicured. For those who wish to do their own laundry there is a washing machine (you can get a token and washing powder from Pablito) and iron with ironing board. WiFi is available throughout the property at a cost of €30 per week. There is ample free parking. The Borgo is an ideal base for exploring beautiful Tuscany. Florence, Pisa, Sienna etc are all within easy reach. Pablito is the perfect host and very knowledgeable. Anything you want to know about Tuscany, any trips you want to arrange, what the weather will be like tomorrow, absolutely anything, ask Pablito. The only bad thing about the Borgo is leaving, but then you have the joy of returning to a very sincere and warm welcome next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    48
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
93
48
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed here for five nights and loved it. Initially hard to find on gps but once we got closer to the town saw signs for the hotel and followed the signs. Perfectly located allowing u to do day trips to siena, san gimiano. Also we made use of the kitchen and cooked every meal in doors and enjoyed it outside on the terrace / deck. We had eaten out too many days. Can't remember the apt number but its the one for two ppl that is next to the apt that is right by the reception and it was perfect size and had everything one needed. There are a number of fruit trees on site that u r welcome to figs and grapes by the garage, apples near the pool and pomegranates by the entrance. We did get bitten by flies but a visit to the gardening supply store in the closest town to get citronella candles solved that. Also the hotel recommended the hot springs that is 40 mins away and we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed in early July as a family of 4 (with 2 children 4 & 10). The weather was outstanding. Our apartment (Siena) was on 2 floors and had a huge open-plan living/dining/kitchen & bathroom downstairs; and 2 bedrooms with a view of the pool and further bathroom upstairs. It was immaculately clean, and the manager was always to hand if we had a problem with anything. Its less formal than a four/five star hotel environment and slightly more rustic (we love it). They even have a masseuse that visits by appointment. So if you want to relax by the pool, take trips to quaint hilltop villages, or sample the delights of Florence or Siena, this is a wonderful place to come. We also came during Il Palio, so we went to Siena the night before the big race (too hectic for the little one on the day) and it was an amazing atmosphere. We would love to come back to Borgo al Cerro.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise_Airl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heyou2
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We have been to Borgo 6 times. It is a holiday for the soul with friendly staff and owners. Great central position for trips to the Tuscan sites - Siena, San Giminagno, Florence.
Casole D'Elsa is a charming town and the coffee in Il Barroccio is lovely in the morning with a crema cornetto.
There are plenty of restaurant within 20-30 minutes drive. Our favourites are Il Merlo for pizza and fresh seafood (a speciality) or Il Calandrinho in nearby Borgatello for great food and the friendliest service ever - smiles and politeness I thought had disappeared.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

the apartments very spacious and clean. the pool area was lovely and overall it was a perfect place for a relaxing break

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mischa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed at Borgo in August for 2 weeks with 2 other families with children between 8 and 17years old.We had a fantastic holiday.
Our family stayed in Apartment 7 -it was great for us -much nicer than it looks in the photos.The pool area was great with extra activities for the kids to play-table tennis,darts and table football.We all enjoyed using the BBQ and ate together at tables near the BBQ.Publito and Julia were very helpful giving us advice on carparks,routes ,which days to visit cities etc.We enjoyed a wine tasting evening they arranged with other guests- hosted by a local man who owned a wine shop.
Borgo is in a great,central location to travel to all the main towns and cities.
We walked from Borgo up the steep path to Casole during the day,but didn't try it at night as the path was quite rough for walking downhill.
We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We arrived with high expectations - reviews seemed good although in hindsight we should have picked up a few warning insights; the photoes looked great.
We stayed in Apartment 11 with a " well lit longe", " partic large bedroom" and " small private Garden" none of which we recognised.
The apartment is upstairs and therefore very hot.It is dark, facilities are very basic and the bedrooms sparten and certainly not large. The private garden is not private.
However the biggest issue for us was the lack of air due to the fact that either one opened the windows at night and got bitten to death by mosquitos or kept them closed and almost suffocated.I can accept that there was no air conditioning - although lots of other places we subsequently stayed had it as a matter of course - but equally there was no mosquito netting. Surely this would have been a simple thing to have built into the apartments. Our neighbours had aparently gone and bought net curtaining to act as a barrier! Furthermore there was one fan for the whole apartment - so we drew lots for who got it the first night!
As a result we felt we were renting a cave...and were further irritated by lights that had not been replaced and a fridge that wouldn`t close without taking out shelving.

There was no second night.
We explained to the owners that we were very disappointed - they seemed surprised - " this is Tuscany" was the retort. So we left with no further charge and subsequently found a great alternative around Chianti.
Maybe Borgo al Cero should be a little more open about the exerience - warts and all - then one can make an informed decision
Looking at the reviews again it is obviously much loved by some.
Borgo al Cerro has great potential - the pool area is lovely and the setting is very rural and peaceful. It would not take a huge amount of thought and investment to up its facilities.
All i would ask is that if it is not going to - then it makes it clear what the whole Borgo al Cerro experience involves. My holiday time and experience is precious - and it seems to me that making an informed decision based on honest straightforward information is key to this.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoalcerro, Direttore generale at Borgo al Cerro, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,
I am Pablito Portigiani, manager of Borgo al Cerro.
Unfortunately I was not present during your stay, and so my reply can only be based on what you have written, and what my colleagues have reported to me, but the tone of your comment makes me fear that, even had I been there myself, despite all my best efforts, we may still perhaps not have succeeded in ensuring that your stay with us was as agreeable and pleasurable as it should have been.
While regretting very much that you were disappointed (the satisfaction of our guests is our sole objective, and I bring a lot of passion and dedication to my job), at the same time I feel I must underline a few things which lie at the heart of our work, and which I cannot allow, in all conscience, to be called into question.
Our business has been going for 14 years, and in this time we have had more than 25,000 people as our guests. Ever since the very first day (before the days of comments on Internet), without anyone asking us to do so, we have always asked each of our guests to fill in a questionnaire about their stay with us, asking them for their opinion on every detail of their experience as guests staying with us (cleanliness, equipment and furnishings, level of comfort, maintenance of the gardens and apartments, staff etc, etc…). We read and assess these comments one by one, and I myself personally discuss all issues that merit review with the owners, both as regards practical measures and as regards any criticism of staff (who, fortunately, you have not called into question). As well as making these continual improvements, every year the company invests a variable percentage of income in purchasing items which are thought to be necessary for a general improvement of our establishment, and to replace obsolete material.
In this continual process, there are, however, some investments which we do not believe to be advisable, and the reasons may be either financial (the investments are too high, compared with the benefits) or because we do not believe they are really necessary, on the basis of our knowledge of local factors and of the needs of our guests.
The problem of the heat, for example, is limited in our area to very few days each year, and at the moment we do not believe it is worthwhile to invest many tens of thousands of euros to make large-scale alterations to our old, stone-built walls, which are traditionally designed to ensure a more or less constant and agreeable temperature during the summer months. True, there may be a few particularly hot days, or short periods, but in order to deal with these extremes we have purchased a large number of electric fans which we keep for the use of our guests. In your instance, if one fan was not enough, it would have been enough to bring this to our attention, and we would have supplied you with more fans: we have a store-room full of them! If our guests’ habits change, and we find many requests for air conditioning, it will be no problem for us to purchase portable air conditioners to distribute among the various rooms, in place of the fans.
The same is true of mosquito nets; our area is not, and never has been, an area infested with mosquitoes, but there can sometimes be very short spells, especially at certain times of the day, when they are to be found; in this instance, there is a negligible financial investment, but we feel that screening windows with mosquito nets would fundamentally impair the views over the countryside and the grounds, and this would not be worthwhile just to protect the house from those very few mosquitoes which may be present only at a certain time of year (if at all). There are methods that are a lot more “natural”, such as anti-mosquito candles, which could be a good suggestion, and which we would be more than happy to provide each apartment with, for this kind of occasional need.

Last but not least, we come to the information we post on our personal web site. All the content and photos have been written and chosen by me, and, before they are published, in order to prevent the worldwide circulation of information which could lead to disputes and claims they are inaccurate, I saw to it that all the material was reviewed by several persons (around 5 years ago). The quality of the photos of the interiors, as you will have seen, is poor: this is intentional. Indeed, it was my idea to deliberately give an impression of Borgo al Cerro that was inferior to actual reality. This has been confirmed on countless occasions by a very frequent comment that is made to me, over the years, by the hundreds of guests from whom I have sought an opinion on the content of the site, opinions which have been directly the opposite of yours: in other words, they have found our homes more attractive and comfortable than they appeared in the photos published on our site. Thus, your observation is a completely new one to me.
Nevertheless, we leave our guests in no doubt as to the size of each apartment, both inside and outside: on our site, each apartment has an accurate floor plan. It is hard to see how there could have been any misrepresentation over the size of the rooms; one can only conclude you failed to consult all the available information prior to making the booking.
One last thing, before I sign off: even though we would have preferred to be judged after at least two nights, allowing for a settling-in period and we would like to remind you that, by only asking for payment for the first night, we decided to waive the normal penalty that would have been due under the terms of the booking contract (writing off about 200 euros).
This penalty is not a way of extorting money from guests, it is a measure which protects everyone in the hotel and holiday accommodation sector against financial loss; in fact, in your case too, given the sudden nature of your departure,even being peak season, there was no possibility of letting out the apartment again, and, as you will understand, our financial loss was well in excess of the 136.00 euros you paid for your one-night stay.
It would have been nice if you had also mentioned in your list of remarks this demonstration of our goodwill and willingness to help you, at least financially. It is a shame that you overlooked this, too.
With great, sincere regret for your unfortunate dissatisfaction, on behalf of all of us here at Borgo al Cerro, I remain,
Yours,
Pablito Portigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
2.5 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terre di Casole
Hotel Terre di Casole
#2 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
#5 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antica Fonte Resort
Antica Fonte Resort
#4 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
19.2 mi away
Montaperti Hotel
Montaperti Hotel
#1 of 1 in Casanova Pansarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
10.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo al Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo al Cerro

Property: Borgo al Cerro
Address: | Localita Casanova, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
#2 Family Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo al Cerro 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 15 apartments of various sizes, and our 3 one-room apartments have simple and functional furnishings, but they are warm and inviting. All rooms have their original timbered ceilings and Tuscan terracotta flooring. The history of Borgo al Cerro is not easy to reconstruct, but from the old walls one can see signs of fortifications, which were perhaps justified by the fact that it is located on the old customs road for Casole d'Elsa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Borgo al Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Al Cerro Hotel
Borgo Al Cerro Casole D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing