We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but if I want to go to California, I just go there..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but if I want to go to California, I just go there..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Castello di Casole in July 2013. The hotel itself (buildings, rooms, view, pool area, etc.) is great and deserves full 5 stars. Everything is new, rooms are large, tastefully decorated and cozy, beds are suuuper comfortable, the infinity pool is beautiful, the views over Tuscan hills are amazing. Food is good (maybe not as good as in "real" Tuscan restaurants, but good enough). .

However, there are two things we did not like:
- first, the hotel is American and targets American guests. If you look for an authentic Italian experience, you are wrong here. At dinner, you can order Italian beef with ketchup and French fries, ice-cream with chocolate chip cookies, "drownies" and margaritas. At breakfast, you can have French toast with maple syrup, pancakes with blueberries and a cappuccino that tastes like a Starbucks latte. At lunch, you can have a club sandwich with fries and mayo with a Bloody Mary. Don't get me wrong - I looove all this food - but when I'm in California!! NOT in Italy!

In addition to food, there are certain things that work in the US but do not work in Europe like e.g. completely separate spa areas for men and women (separate whirlpools, relaxation areas, etc) or a restaurant that looks like a Italian gelateria with empty ice-cream trays - this is so fake and entirely unnecessary since there are tons of real gelaterias in the next town. I understand that in the US it is normal to sometimes make new things/places look "old" and "authentic" - it totally works there. However, in Italy there is no need to do this - there is enough authentic stuff around, everything else just seems fake. Maybe American guests feel like home here, but wouldn't they also like to experience real Italy, not Napa Valley?

- The second thing I didn't like was the service, which is rather European, not American. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant twice and twice my husband received a dish he did not order. Then there are small things like forgetting to bring the coffee we ordered at breakfast, not putting salt on lunch or dinner tables, pepper mills not working, etc. Hotel employees are also not particularly friendly - for instance, when we tried to ask for late checkout, the lady at the reception got quite rude, did not even bother to look into the system and told us that the hotel was fully booked. At the same time, we knew from another employee that the hotel was only 30% occupied at the time.

That said, the points above are relatively minor - in general, the hotel, the views, everything is absolutely beautiful and worth a stay. The price is also ok relative to hotels of similar quality and style.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view, not all rooms have one and some are dark. Also, our TV wasnt't visible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    32
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
63
189
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purchase, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you want to feel like a princess, this is the place for you! Try to get an Oliveto suite and stay out of the main courtyard rooms, as they are a bit dark and have no terrace. Stunning property and fabulous views. One restaurant and one pizzeria, but so many charming towns nearby. Make sure you ask the concierge for their own GPS.

Room Tip: get an Oliveto suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnipitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel was unbelievably beautiful, really indescribable. It is so warm and welcoming and every detail is perfection. Even though it has only been open for a year or so, the staff is so knowledgeable and experienced that you would think it was open for decades. Our one bedroom suite was one of prettiest rooms we have ever stayed in. The food at each dining venue was out of this world, but our favorite by far was the more casual Pazzia, where I had the best baked eggplant I have ever tasted. The daily breakfast in Tosca was delectable. The infinity pool overlooking the Tuscan countryside is a wonderful place to relax in late afternoon after a day of touring. The fitness room and spa are gorgeous too!

A couple of suggestions: 1) We didn't realize it when we booked our trip that while it is close to Siena and other nearby towns, you really have to have a rental car. There is simply no other way to get around unless you hire a driver and that is a very expensive proposition. We wished we had known this before we booked, so we ended up having to book a rental car through the hotel and it was quite pricey and not available for our whole stay. 2) Bring lots of euros. It is a spectacular retreat but extremely expensive. My manicure and pedicure at the spa cost 110 euros before gratuity.

One disappointment: We unfortunately had to check out of the hotel a day earlier than we had originally booked due to an unforseen personal circumstance. I informed the front desk 5 days prior to when we would be leaving. When I inquired whether I would be charged the unused night, they assured me that they would check with the head of reservations. Since I never heard back, I assumed that it was all fine. Upon checkout, I was told that since I didn't give the standard 7 days notice, that they would charge me for the night I didn't use the room. I was not looking for special treatment, but it was something that couldn't be helped so I thought they might be more understanding, particularly given how much money my husband and I spent there and the fact that it is a brand new hotel trying to establish their reputation, but that didn't turn out to be the case in our particular situation.

Room Tip: If you are booking a one bedroom suite, inquire as to whether it is the larger or smaller suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

An amazing property in the heart of Tuscany. Everything was exceptional - from the service to the food, spa and amenities. A true 5 star experience. Great base from which to roam around Tuscany - close to Volterra and San Gimignano as well as Siena. We drove up from Rome and after heading out each day returned to relax around the pool. We golfed and went horse riding which the hotel arranged for us. All the accolades and awards this property are receiving are well deserved.

Room Tip: Limonaia Suites have direct access to garden area and are close to pool and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome awaits at this glorious Castello. Right from the start we were made to feel at home and cared for.
Our room was huge, as was the bathroom. The shower was large and fierce. Wonderful!
We ate in both restaurants. The waiting staff are lovely and very helpful. The food in both was very good indeed. The casual Pazzia restaurant is great for pizza/pasta and simple dishes and the more formal Tosca restaurant (in which we also had delicious breakfasts) was a superb dining experience. Even the prices compared favourably to restaurants in Siena.
The pool area is spotless and well laid out and very serene, looking out over the stunning Tuscan countryside.
I would urge anyone to give this place a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

THE highlight is the massive infinity pool overlooking miles of rolling tuscan countryside. The location is Ideal for a 'spoke and wheel' approach to tuscany as it is an hour or less from everything [bring a garmin].

My wife and i rented a car from rome airport and drove the 2 hrs or so to the hotel and used the car, over our 5 days, to visit chianti, montalcino, san gimimano, siena & florence and more.

Hotel food options are fancy [tosca] and simple food [pizza and pasta] at the hotel if you dont feel like taking a short ride to a quaint town [you should do both]. The breakfast was buffet but came with a menu where you could order a hot ala carte item [all included]. Food was excellent.

The rooms are beautiful. I have read some complaints about views of the countryside from the rooms and would say that short of a terrace how much enjoyment do u get from your view anyhow? We enjoyed the view from the many common areas and were very pleased...plenty of private nooks to cozy up in

35 year old couple from NYC who travel very frequently to hotels around the world at this price point

Room Tip: stay five days or more and your probability of an upgrade to a to a suite with separate living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DStrips98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This place is amazing, about 4000 acres anchored by a five star, 40 suite hotel and surrounded by about 15 farmhouses with multiple bedrooms and their own pools. Seems like one can stay in different areas (main hotel building, satellite townhouse type buildings or rent whole farmhouses for larger families and groups).

Two excellent restaurants (Tosca is fancy white tablecloth could go for a Michelin star one day) and the Pizzeria is al fresco with REALLY GOOD pizza "au feu de bois" and fresh ingredients in any combination. The F&B manager Frederico is really fantastic.

Has a good gym and a spa under construction, but massages available in room now.

Amazing decor. Fun bar named after Italian film director Visconte who used to own the property and hold orgies there or something like that (story gets a bit embellished).

We had a large group and stayed in the farmhouse La Casa, right below the hotel sitting in 50 acres or so of its own vineyards with olive trees, vines, fruit orchard, etc. Three separate houses gave all three couples privacy, and the meeting areas became the pool, the pergola and the lawn for sunsets

Highly recommend this place, convenient to winery tours and old walled cities.

Room Tip: Rent the farmhouse for real privacy then use the hotel's facilities. La Casa is the most conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
20.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
12.7 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
23.8 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
20.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa

Property: Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Address: Localita Querceto SNC, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
#1 Family Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a Tuscany, lives a vibrant and vital estate and in the center of that estate is a storied castle that dates to the 1100's. Here you will be welcomed to a five-star boutique hotel in the grand European tradition. Exquisitely appointed, its 41 private suites effortlessly combine Old World Tuscan charm with modern luxuries, elegance and sophistication. Throughout the estate live private farm homes and villas for larger parties to stay in. It is that secret place one might hopes to discover along a country road - a place with graceful and intimate accommodations, inspired cuisine, an inviting repertoire of activities, and above all, knowing and attentive service. Castello di Casole - A Timbers Resort, the very definition of Italian luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Casole Private Estate & Spa Casole D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing