We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscany at its best...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tuscany at its best...”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Gorgeous hotel in a splendid setting. Impeccable service, great amenities, fun and great restaurants on site... And what a view!! Dinner on the panoramic pation made for an enchanting evening. No wonder Visconti lived there year round...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre-1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    32
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
63
190
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wow! Thats all I can say. The setting, the service and the quality of the accommodations were second to none. There are only a few properties that stand out as truly one-of-a-kind and this is certainly one of them. This once was a Tuscan castle (Castello) associated with the village (Casole) of d' Elsa. It has been renovated into a luxurious estate with a variety of choices of guest accommodations. A full breakfast with both sweet and savory items is included each morning and there are lots of interesting activities to do within easy driving distance. Being on top of a hill, the views are amazing and the "mood" of the landscape changes throughout the day. Bring your camera!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My partner and I spent 4 nights at this hotel earlier this month. The property sits on a Tuscan hillside with commanding views of the countryside. It is conveniently located to explore the Tuscan villages by car. The hotel even provides complimentary TomTom's on loan, programmed with all top destinations, to get you to where you need to go, which I thought was pretty neat.

Overall, our stay was enjoyable and the property is beautiful, but I think they're still working through some staffing issues. Some examples:

1) Our check in took longer than expected because the front desk was understaffed (the receptionist explained that some staff unexpectedly called in sick; I'm wondering if they took time off to watch the World Cup :) We were offered complimentary Prosecco and asked to sit in the library while our checkin was processed. After waiting 10mins without having anyone check in on us, we walked back to the front desk where the receptionist seemed busy with other tasks (the check in desk also serves as the concierge desk and the check out desk).

2) At check out, our bill was overcharged by one night. We had a special rate through Amex where we stay 4 nights and only pay for 3. The check out staff seemed unaware of this offer and they tried to explain that perhaps our rate was already discounted to include the 4th night. I showed them our booking confirmation from Amex which said that this was not the case. The check out person had to call his manager and they eventually agreed that we were overcharged and said that they'll refund our credit card (which they did).

There were a few other minor issues, but overall, we had a lovely stay. And most of the staff are very nice and well meaning. The bartender makes a terrific martini!

The concierge recommendations for winery visits and nearby attractions were excellent and well thought out. I believe the concierge's name is Niccolo. He was very helpful in planning our daily activities. Just follow whatever he recommends. You won't go wrong.

I booked a massage during my stay which was very good (the spa was clean and fully equipped). The manager of the Spa, a German lady named Kris I believe, was from California (the hotel does seem to cater to mostly Americans, but I suppose there's nothing wrong with that). She was very nice.

The rooms are large and well designed. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. Our bathroom was very large too with marble, a soaking tub and all new fittings. Unfortunately, much of our view was of the central courtyard (the views out to the countryside were from very tiny windows which you could only look out from if you bent down).

The complimentary minibar was a nice touch. There was also complimentary wifi throughout the property which worked fine in the room and in the common spaces.

The pool area is beautiful (with the infinity edge flowing out over the countryside). The staff is happy to serve food and drinks above the pool area which makes for a perfect vantage point to watch the sunset in the evenings. Very special.

I think once the hotel has a few more seasons under its belt, this will be a great hotel. It's a good choice to explore the region and a beautiful property to unwind in the evening after a long day of touring and wine tastings!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psamtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We rented a farmhouse which was affiliated with the hotel. It was a large house with two villas and it slept 10 people easily. It had an infinity pool and it was gorgeous. This farmhouse called San Regolo included all the amenities from the hotel and a staf that cleaned daily. We all did our own cooking in a beautiful kitchen-- the entire experience was incredible. You need a car for this but it was so worth it to stay there. I highly recommend this -- however it is pricey so check out the fees-- wonderful!

Room Tip: we stayed in the villas so i do not know about the room. but we used the spa at the hotel which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackeykean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

A group of friends came for a week and stayed in Villa Paradiso, which is associated with, but is to the South, away from the hotel. Our concierge was always helpful, the maid service attentive, and the chef (available on request) made a marvelous meal for us one night. If you are looking for a quiet "home base" for day trips in Tuscany, you can't beat it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is an example that the beauty and quality of a luxury property can attract and even call one back again, but what remains after departure are thoughts about the details. That is the case of the Castello di Casole. First the good news. There are few places in which we have stayed that have been designed and constructed so beautifully and thoughtfully. The technology is state of the art but intuitive to use. The rooms are stunning and vast. The building and grounds are a delight for the eye. It promises so much.
But then the lack of really working the details in every area, every day begin to show up.We check in a bit early and are welcomed with a drink but our rooms are not ready. No problem. However, only after some time of waiting and checking at the desk are we told, yes your room is ready rather than being told. The staff service is not consistent. Some are simply wonderful in anticipating and fulfilling needs. Others act as if requests are mere suggestions and one has to follow up several times to have them handled. They do not screen all the extracurricular activities well. We signed for a grappa distillery visit that was so bad all we could do was laugh. When the concierge asked about our visit and was told the story how we wasted an hour or so going to and back, he said he was sorry and should likely not recommend it again. I made a joke and said it was okay and he could just buy me a nice grappa at the bar.....he completely missed the suggestion that a true luxury hotel would have made on its own.
Children are allowed to run free through the hotel. This is supposed to be a luxury vacation experience considering the price of the rooms and food, but every day there are kids kicking soccer balls in the piazza, yelling and throwing balls in the pool, and scenes of parents leaving kids on their own by the pool when they go off for lunch of some other activity. We had just come from the Schloss Elmau in Bravaria and they welcomed just as many families but that hotel was so thoughtful in how they organized separate child areas and activities that it was a delight to see families and couples each enjoying their hoped-for experiences without compromise.
In the four days we stayed at the hotel, we never once had a manager ask us about our experience. We never saw the hotel manager for that matter, and this is not so large a property that he should be invisible.
And last, practically all of the guests we saw were American. We are too, but it's always nice to be at a hotel that is a draw to a range of nationalities. It contributes to its interest and charm. When one looks at how this hotel functions, it is clear that the focus is on continuing the single nationality direction by the way the property and service is detailed. This can be a danger because we Americans love to roam and find new places and experiences if the same old one loses our attention because it gets too "familiar." That is the risk here because if one travels all the way to Tuscany to see the same people one does in New York or LA, how many will continue to think this is "special?"
The Castello is a beautiful and high quality facility for sure and we hope that one day, should we visit again (now our second time) it will have added the attention to detail in all the important aspects one looks for in a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: All sides of the hotel have different but equally stunning views...it's a matter of choice of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a warm welcome and an easy check-in but our stay coincided with Mercedes event which basically created a bit of chaos. The hotel was rented out to Mercedes for their marketing event for 2 weeks and I was happy to see them gone 2nd day of our stay- though the noise of cleanup remained for another day. the staff was wonderful, and Alegra the manager was incredibly nice and understanding when I complained to her about a couple of items. Overall, our room which was called Magnifica was very convenient to everything and easily accessible, but incredibly average with dark dark setting and no sun light. The best part of the hotel was the staff. they were all super nice and attentive. we had a really great time at the pizza making and at the pool. Food was way way way expensive but what other choice you have? well... nothing. Overall, I would say for the staggering nightly rate, I was expecting more. However, if you find a deal with this hotel, do it. it is worth staying here as it is really clean and calm.

Room Tip: we stayed in Magnifica suite. It is dark but large. very convenient to all the restaurants and main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcanax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
19.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
625 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
561 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
316 reviews
23.8 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
20.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa

Property: Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Address: Localita Querceto SNC, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
#1 Family Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a Tuscany, lives a vibrant and vital estate and in the center of that estate is a storied castle that dates to the 1100's. Here you will be welcomed to a five-star boutique hotel in the grand European tradition. Exquisitely appointed, its 41 private suites effortlessly combine Old World Tuscan charm with modern luxuries, elegance and sophistication. Throughout the estate live private farm homes and villas for larger parties to stay in. It is that secret place one might hopes to discover along a country road - a place with graceful and intimate accommodations, inspired cuisine, an inviting repertoire of activities, and above all, knowing and attentive service. Castello di Casole - A Timbers Resort, the very definition of Italian luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Casole Private Estate & Spa Casole D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing