We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh veggies from their own garden”
Review of L'Orto di Casole

L'Orto di Casole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$36
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We ate in this restaurant 3 times during our one week stay. Always lunch, no dinner. Menu was good, mentioning veggie and gluten free dishes, very much appreciated. All foods were tasty and good, sometimes portions good have been a bit larger. We especially liked the battered and fried veggies from their own garden, yummie! Also the grilled Scamorza was nice, but could have been served warmer! Like many restaurants in Casole und the nearby Colle they offered only naturalized water (as in tab water, yes - who wants to drink that?) but upon request they came up with at least plastic bottles of mineral water. Service was rather slow but still tolerable for vacation.

Thank MagicJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing with us your impressions about your experience at our restaurant where the relaxed atmosphere allows you to dine quietly in the terrace enjoying the breathtaking scenery surrounding the property.

See you soon.

Ristorante L'Orto di Casole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for L'Orto di Casole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were staying at Terre di Casole and had dinner at the hotel. Ordered the t-bone, which was perfectly cooked. Also, had the ravioli with goat cheese, also really delicious!

Thank manoelabrienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thanks for Your review! We're happy that You enjoyed Your dinner!!

Have a nice summer and hope to see You again!

Ristorante L'Orto di Casole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I like this restaurant because it ticks all my boxes.
Service is fantastic, all waiters are knowledgable and professional with a brilliant personality. The Chef (a woman) prepares the dishes not just to taste nice but to look even better.
Location....well there is an entire valley standing in front of you!
Food....very good, lot of choices. They have a private veggie garden where the grow fresh veggies and herbs. My favourite dish is definitely the Vellutata di ceci, chickpeas soup with bacon and prawn. Delicious!!!
Wine: great wine list, of course nice selection of local Chianti.
Price: Fair

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elpatojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thanks for the detailed review.
Yes, we're proud about our vegetable garden and FOR SURE also about all our Staff and the Chef Marianna that send to you her best regards.
Everybody is waiting for you here again very soon!!

CIAO ELISABETTA!
Ti abbracciamo forte e ti aspettiamo.

Ristorante L'Orto di Casole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The restaurant is situated in midst the Tuscan hills and has a nice panorama terrace. The decoration is classic-chique and the food is always presented in a very classy manner.
The service is excellent. The manager, Vito, is very nice and will give you all kinds of tips for your trips to Tuscany's cities.
The food is of high quality, they grow all their vegetables themselves and they taste fresh. The cook always comes up with a great way of combining different flavors and the dishes are just excellent. I would highly recommend the Calamari Fritti.
If you stay at the hotel (Terre di Casole) you absolutely must at least take half board so you can enjoy the great food (no buffet style).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UccelloViaggando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Vito and our Chef thank you, together with all the staff of L'Orto di Casole.
We are happy about your satisfaction and will always continue to do our best for our guests.
Hoping to see you soon again.

Restaurant L'Orto di Casole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The setting of L'Orto di Casole is stunning, with the Tuscan Hills presenting a real Tuscan calendar view. The selections offered are an excellent representation of the local cuisine of the area, and exquisitely presented. There is a good selection of wonderful local wines. Service is attentive and friendly.

Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for the beautiful representation of your experience at our Restaurant L'Orto di Casole.

We hope to see you again, soon.

All the staff greets you warmly.

Restaurant L'Orto di Casole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Orto di Casole also viewed

Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 

Been to L'Orto di Casole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing