We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Idyllic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo La Montagnola
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Charming and Idyllic”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We travelled to Torgiano for a side trip to visit the surrounding Umbrian hilltop villages. I booked a double room due to a promotion and the reviews. The room was large, comfortable with a separate modern bathroom. It is located within a renovated Farmhouse and there are various types of accommodation plus I think a few villa's on the same property. Our room did not have a kitchen, but if I stayed longer we would have probably booked a small apartment. The location is idyllic, on the side of the hill overlooking Torgiano and amongst the Olives. There is a pool and lovely areas to sit and read amongst the gardens. Outside our door was an outdoor setting under a canopy of grape vines. Highly recommend this accommodation. You will need a car to go shopping due to the hill and about 2 km from supermarket. Staff friendly and helpful but with limited English

Room Tip: Due to its location I would be tempted to book a small apartment so that you had facilities to prepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerrywithaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Large and comfortable well decorated rooms with spectacular views. Fully supplied kitchen with washer/dryer and wifi. Friendly and helpful staff. Located centrally to explore Umbria. Reasonably priced. You won't regret choosing it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I travelled to Umbria in July 2013 but only getting around to this review now. I had spent a week and half between Rome, Cinque Terre and Florence where three friends shared small hotel rooms. We were so pleased to see the spacious accommodations in the Blue Apartment of La Caprareccia. Each of us had a large bedroom with our own bathroom. It felt like paradise. The living room, dining room and kitchen were also spacious. The kitchen was well stocked so we prepared a few dinners at the house and enjoyed meals at our outdoor seating area with view of Assisi. The pool is shared with the guests of the Green apartment. Even though it was a warm July, the pool water was a bit too cold.

We had a delightful cooking class led by Carmela. She made an elaborate feast and made it all look so simple. She seems to take such pleasure in cooking and hosting. We were given a tour of the beautiful main house. Vittoria is a lovely hostess.

We took day trips to Assisi, Orvieto, Montefalco, Spello and a trip to Perugia for the jazz festival. I highly recommended taking in Umbria Jazz Festival if you are in town in early July. I shopped at a great ceramic shop in Deruta and shipped a mirror and table for my entryway from Maioliche Nulli. The wine museum and shop in Torgiano are a must. Orvieto was a wonderful surprise. The cathedral was so beautiful. I did take a trip to Chianti and to the Prada shop but I would skip it next time because the drive was very long. We rented our car and Florence and dropped it of at the Rome airport for our return flight. It was super easy. Be sure to bring food along for your first night or ask Vittoria to stock a few items. She took care of stocking our fridge with beverages but we should have asked for a few food items as well. We returned to the house late on our first night and many things were closed nearby and it was so dark. Our first dinner consisted of some chips, a candy bar and water. We didn't even have wine with us yet. Be sure to ask about the hours of the supermarket. There are two in the area and they both close really early.

The drive up to house is very steep so it feels incredibly long. I think I finally got used to it by the fifth day.

We would absolutely return to La Montagnola. You can't beat the price, the comfort, and beauty of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had the 3-bedroom villa with complete kitchen and beautiful living/dining room--terra cotta tiled floors, 2 full bathrooms (both with showers). Opened the gorgeous windows every morning to hear roosters crowing in the distance, rolling hills of green, occasional cow bell. It was divine! A magical stay! We had our 2 kids with us and my father---3 generations--it fit us all perfectly! A washer is provided on property, and a drying rack on the porch but we moved it inside when raining. The dishes, coffee pots/makers, silverware were so beautiful--the dining table felt like a farmhouse table out of an Italian novel. A very magical stay! We were in October so it wasn't pool weather, but can't wait to return to use the pool! We walked down there--gorgeous grounds. JUST SO LOVELY AND AMAZING!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Rooms are great (there's a range of 1-bedroom to 3-bedroom apartments/villas), views are fantastic and don't worry about it being Umbria and not Tuscany because there is plenty to do, lots of great food and wine to try, only far fewer tourists. Just ask Vittoria, the owner, for tips if you don't know where to go. You don't speak Italian? No worries, Vittoria speaks English. Plus she's a prize-winning producer of olive oil. Overall, this is a zillion times better than the overpriced fancy villa outside Siena that I rented with friends many years ago. And far more affordable. Now if only rosemary would grow like that at my house ... And a pomegranate bush too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princetonarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was fortunate enough to share this piece of paradise with a yoga group from the U.S. and Europe. The rooms, the countryside and the food were amazing, but the wonderful care that we were given by Vittoria and Carmela made the week long stay worth every minute. They were patient with our Italian, knowledgeable about more than the immediate area and had great humor which we all loved! I would recommend La Montagnola to any size group, from anywhere as you will most likely have a first class experience in a warm setting in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPierson46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

After traveling around Europe for 2 weeks we arrived at La Montagnola for our final week of vacation and all I can say is WOW!!!!! This property is simply amazing!!!! We were a party of 15 and our 2 beautifully appointed villas provided ample space and accommodation for all. It is a great location if you are looking for day drips to the neighboring towns and it is also perfect if you are looking for lazy days sitting around a pool surrounded by beautiful Italian views. We did a little bit of both. This property is so amazing that many of our days in Italy we spent enjoying the villa. Our stay at La Montagnola was the perfect way to end our fabulous European vacation. Cooking class with Carmela was fun and enjoyed by all.
We looki forward to our next vistit to La Montagnola.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torgiano hotels
2.5 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Al Grappolo d'Oro
Hotel Al Grappolo d'Oro
#3 of 3 in Torgiano
168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio alle Vigne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Divin Casale
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Pian del Tevere
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Dante
Hotel Ristorante Dante
#1 of 5 in Torgiano
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Montagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Montagnola

Property: Agriturismo La Montagnola
Address: Via Roma 11, 06089 Torgiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Torgiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Torgiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the luxurious Umbrian hills sits the sprawling La Montagnola estate which is home to olive groves, an ancient Italian chapel, a fully operational olive oil mill, a lavish 18th century villa and so much more. The 600 acre estate offers a charming blend of medieval Italian history and luxury creating the perfect destination for both solo travelers, as well as groups, looking for a unique opportunity to experience the gentle magic of central Italy.The estate consists of an olive oil mill, three completely renovated farmhouses and a main villa. The main villa, now residence of the Iraci Borgia family, takes great pride in the original 13th century private chapel called the "Oratorio Pubblico della Madonna Immacolata" which is open to visitors. Near the villa are three completely restored farmhouses for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo La Montagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Montagnola Torgiano, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing