We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing collection - truly world class”

MUVIT Museo del Vino Torgiano Museum
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Torgiano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Certainly not just for its a collection of casks and bottles, the MUVIT Torgiano Wine Museum is an extraordinary time machine that guides the visitor along 5000 years of history of the civilization of wine, through archeological, artistic and ethnographic collections from the 3rd millennium B.C. to Picasso. Housed in the monumental 17th-century Graziani-Baglioni illustrates the importance of wine from Antiquity to today and the thousand facets of wine as a product of culture.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you have a spare 2 hours the Museum on Wine is a fabulous display of the history, production and storage of wine. The displays are professional and the audio world class. I strongly recommend this Museum for those interested in the Wine process or anyone fascinated by the history of wine in Europe.

Thank TerrywithaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fondazionelungarotti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at MUVIT Museo del Vino Torgiano Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Terrywith,
many thanks for your wonderful words, we read with pleasure your appreciations about Wine Museum displays and audio guides. Your review represent an incentive for our work animated by a great passion for art, wine and olive oil culture... thanks again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went to Torgiano in May specifically to visit this museum. The collection is amazing and we were pleased that an audio guide was included in the price. We we only charged 5 Euros per person since the Olive Oil Museum was closed that day. The price also included a tasting of two wines at the nearby Lungarotti winery store. We ended up buying both wines we tasted as well as a 15-year-old bottle of Balsamico.

Thank terwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fondazionelungarotti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at MUVIT Museo del Vino Torgiano Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear terwms,
thank you for your lovely review about Wine Museum and Osteria.
We are glad that you enjoyed the collections and the wine tasting experience and we hope you could come back to visit the Olive Oil Museum... maybe it could be a good reason to come back in Umbria!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My visit to Torgiano was not accidental and the intention was to see the Museo Del Vino Torgiano. It was splendid. My visit was recent, today, February 8, 2014. Letizia was the gentle voiced office manager. She provided us with all the information needed for a very informal visit to this charming museum. The nominal fee included a handset providing an audio tour of the many rooms, admission to the Museo Dell'Olivio E Dell'Olio, which was outside and just a short walk from this property.We received a coupon for complimentary glass of wine outside in an adjacent and separate building.
I spent a reasonable amount of time in the wine museum, moved along to the museum of olives and oil, and was then looking forward to the complimentary glass of wine and tasting sponsored by the Lungarotti family vineyards. Outstanding. Patrizia was the gentle, soft spoken and passionate hostess to a brief tasting of the company's product. We were blessed with a helping of pecorino cheese produced on the property of the Lungarotti family, as well as sampling of a Nocino liqueur and a local biscuit that I should have written down the name of because it was simply delicious. Not to forget the wonderful olive oil: 2 varieties. The Soft and The Spicy. Fresh Bread, a spoon of fresh oil. Parmesan cheese. It just is so good.
The day just continued to get better...........a must visit.

2  Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fondazionelungarotti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at MUVIT Museo del Vino Torgiano Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Ted, thank you for your beautiful review about Wine Museum, Olive Oil Museum and Osteria; your words gratify our work and support our mission based on the divulgation of wine and olive oil culture. We are glad that you enjoyed the wine tasting in Osteria and that you appreciated Lungarotti products.
So... your "Lungarotti experience" could be a good reason to come back in Torgiano and visit us again!
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We came to Torgiano late in the day after visits to Assisi and Spello. After checking a very old Frommer's we decided to visit the wine museum. We were met with a very helpful staff member at the ticket counter who offered us a reduction in the entrance fee because we had less than 1 hour to tour the museum. The museum is interesting to those who have only a passing interest in wine, but to those who are enthusiastic about wine and its influence on our culture it is nothing short of amazing. The time, effort and money that has gone in to assembling this collection of wine-related carvings, glassware, ceramics, books, and Antiquities more than justifies the admission price. A couple of hours well spent.

2  Thank dnd047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I was truly amazed by this gem of wine culture tucked away in the serene Umbrian countryside right in the center of Italy. Working in the wine industry, I have visited several wine museums and thought to have seen it all. So when after a pleasant visit at the Lungarotti winery, the staff proposed a visit to the wine museum, I must admit I was not too excited, already conjuring up boring images of the usual old agricultural tools, etc.. However, I was very pleasantly surprised and fascinated by the rich and splendid collection of objects relating to wine and presented in an intelligent and complete manner! I only found out afterwards that it is rated the best wine museum in Italy by the New York Times.

What appealed the most to me, is how beautifully the museum displays and explains the culture of wine through art and literature, and not only the exhibition of agricultural tools or technical aspects related to its cultivation or history. The exhibition is also set up in themes so you can understand wine’s role in culture, like Wine and Myth, Wine as medicine, wine as nutrition, etc.

There is a great wealth of rare objects with interesting explanations with the aid of audio guides and extra details in written captions and a book guide, just like what you’d expect in the finest art museums. The exhibition starts at the origins of viticulture and wine-trade, with ancient BC artefacts from the local Etruscans, as well as the Mediterranean and Middle-eastern trade routes. Furthermore, there are many objects from the medieval times and more modern times, especially from Umbrian origin.

A favourite of mine is probably the large collection of ceramics and crafts from the middle ages onwards, many made in the local area, Deruta, historical supplier of maiolica art to Assisi. Many colourful and beautiful jugs with interesting anecdotes entertained me a good deal of the time.

Furthermore there is a lot of drawings and artworks relating to wine (even a Picasso linocut piece). Also more contemporary art pieces. On the literature side there are amazing books from the Middle Ages and modern period ranging from religious works, farmer’s almanacs and scientific publications all linked to wine somehow. Mostly in Latin languages like Italian and French, and if you are proficient in those languages the age-old proverbs and poems are quite cute.

Be sure to leave enough time to fully enjoy the visit, I think an hour and a half at least to follow the audio guide. The ambience is calm and relaxing, a good retreat. Next time I would also like to go see the Olive Oil museum!

1  Thank Almuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fondazionelungarotti, coordinamento fondlung at MUVIT Museo del Vino Torgiano Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Almuccia, we read with pleasure the beautiful words you wrote about Muvit. We are proud of your wonderful review, careful and detailed, it does not happen often! We hope you could come back to visit the Museum of Olive Oil, we are sure you would find it equally interesting. Thanks and see you at MOO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MUVIT Museo del Vino Torgiano Museum also viewed

Torgiano, Province of Perugia
Torgiano, Province of Perugia
 
Torgiano, Province of Perugia
 

Been to MUVIT Museo del Vino Torgiano Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing