We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, not super”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“ok, not super”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

beautifully located, right in front of lake. 200 meters from Peschiera 'city', so easy to get to restaurants but no city noise
not looking very new, but everything perfectly clean and in working order.
excellent breakfast (parma ham or lookalike included)

but a bit soul/characterless
some of the breakfast staff unfortunate seem to breakfast on vinegar, tip for them: a smile costs nothing

rooms correct size, bathrooms have showers no baths. mattresses bit on the hard side (for me)

nice little swimmingpool (we did not try it out given it was oct/nov) but sandwiched in between road/hotel, and no privacy (nor sufficient place to lie in the sun really)

no restaurant

overall perfectly ok - lacked that little special extra which we always try to find, but ok, is not 5 star either

Room Tip: go for a room with lake view, and pick one on third floor: common terrace with great view of lake. f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovaniensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    81
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
61
84
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed 11 nights at the end of September with a friend and we loved it. It's located on the south shore of the lake with sensational views (when the weather is clear) and just a short walk to the centre of town or ferry terminal; the railway station is about a mile away.
Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with firm but very comfortable beds. We were fortunate to get a lake view. There was optional aircon but we didn't need it at this time of the year. There was a walk in shower which functioned well, no bath which we didn't mind but our only niggle was that the wash basin was too large for the room and we had to edge past it to reach the shower.
The bar is decorated in monochrome and in complete contrast, the dining room is brightly painted with a series of bright prints on the walls. Both worked well.
There's an outdoor seating area overlooking the pool and the lake.
Breakfast was a plentiful continental type with a good choice of cereal, fresh fruits, bread rolls, meat, cheese, yoghurt and pastries.
All the staff were all very friendly and helpful and never failed to greet us, even if we saw them in town.
Peschiera is a great base for a lake holiday. It's a pleasant historic town although not as picturesque as some on the lake but it has the advantage of a good ferry service for the southern end of the lake and a frequent rail service to Verona and beyond. Gardaland is about 4 km from the hotel. This is a seasonal tourist area with many restaurants and bars closing, or opening on fewer days from October until about the end of May. Ferry services are also reduced.
We would both return to San Marco without hesitation if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagacandidate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veenendaal
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

On our way to Tuscany we booked this hotel for a short stay (2 days). We choose Hotel San Marco for its location, close to Gardaland and the village center of Peschiera (a nice 10 minute walk). We didn't go to Gardaland (too hot) but choose to relax at the pool (not to big but big enough to cool down) and a nearby "beach" called Lido dei Capuccini (250m away).
Lovely view of the lake from our triple room, which was spacious and had airconditioning (which in summer is needed!) Bathroom OK aswell as breakfast, whith ample choose of cakes, bread and fruit. Few parking places (no charge) on the back of the hotel, arriving early we found place.
Nice village with historic centre with lots of shops, restaurants and ofcourse tourists. But then it was high season, so was to be expected but didn't bother us, we were tourists as well.....

Room Tip: Ask for lakeview, if you book early they will honor your request
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukkie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed for two nights with my wife, TRULY a great place Pechiera. The hotel was spotlessly clean, room was spacious, bed comfy we didn't have 'a lake view' but room 207 you look out the window fantastic view. Breakfast was very good lots of choices. The 'sleep quality' was downgraded a tad 5.45am cleaned with a giant hoover... but its wasn't the hotel fault....
We was coming back from Peschiara one night and got caught in a massive storm when we got back to the hotel we were soaked to the skin !! The staff brought us towels, coffee and brandy thank you indeed !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Beau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to visit the lake and surrounding areas. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the quieter side of the lake and is a 20m walk to the beach and restaurants. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, breakfast is awesome and the hotel is clean. We used this as a base to visit Venice, Milan, Verona and Rome with the train station 1k away. Only downside was that the beds were very hard and walls quite thin so you could hear neighbours and people above. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiaW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed for four days in July with my husband and my 8 year old son.
We had a fantastic stay and really loved the hotel.
Our 3 bed room was everything we needed, very clean and comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor where there is a lovely terrace with fab views of lake Garda.
Breakfast was very good value with a great choice. It was lovely to sit on the terrace by the pool for breakfast.
We had lots of fun in the pool. It was not huge but plenty of space to swim and play some games.
Parking was limited but we always managed to get a space.
It is a lovely 5-10 min walk into town. Lots of great places for dinner but check reviews first.
We would not hesitate to recommend the San Marco

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a great little hotel if you want to be close to everything. We arrived by train and the hotel was just a few minutes away by taxi. It is also only a few minutes’ walk along the side of the lake to the old town where you can find lots of little shops and restaurants and of course wonderful ice-cream shops. If you walk a few minutes in the opposite direction of the town from the hotel you will reach the beach area which is also well equipped with chair and umbrella hire and some food shops. If you are looking for something more adventurous you will find some theme parks within a few kilometers of the hotel. This hotel is probably the most affordable in the best location I have come across in a while. The staff was always very friendly and attentive at any time of the day. The reception is manned 24 hours. I will definitely stay here again if I visit the area.

Room Tip: Take note that rooms with lake views are limited and should be requested well in advance. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peschiera del Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#8 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#3 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acquadolce
Hotel Acquadolce
#5 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dori
Hotel Dori
#2 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Al Fiore
Hotel Al Fiore
#11 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Lungolago Giuseppe Mazzini 15, 37019, Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Peschiera del Garda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Peschiera del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marco Lake Garda/Peschiera Del Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing