We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good holiday. Constant pool closures not great though”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Puccini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puccini
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very good holiday. Constant pool closures not great though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Pros:

Lovely pool: very modern and clean with plenty of sun loungers for everyone.
Well kept grounds: lovely little grass area for toddlers next to the baby pool to play with parents.
Room cleaned well and beds made daily
Large family room: plenty of space plus a really handy fridge
Really good location: only 10 mins walk with little children, 5 mins for adults
Lovely bakery on the street around the corner
You can use the small supermarket/cafe next door at Cappucini Camping
Great pizza restaurant next door with 10% off for staying in Hotel Puccini. Best Pizza we had.
Really nice foyer, comfy seating area
Use of a computer downstairs
Friendly and helpful reception staff.
Good Air con

Cons:

The most expensive WiFi ever! 5 euros PER device per day.
No kettle in our room (not a big deal but would have been handy).
Pool only opens from 10am to 8pm so no early morning or evening swims
The pool closes at the slightest drop of rain because of laws about chemical levels. It seemed weird that all the other pools locally were open! (were the other hotels/campsites breaking the law?)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holsaway1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    92
    33
    6
    10
See reviews for
122
80
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We arrived here with out bikes and a long day on the ferry about 8pm and received a warm welcome. The hotel is very small but has a pool. Upon arrival we heard that the pool is closed 8pm to 10am, just the time we were staying. We got an ok to to have a quick dip still after 8pm. You are not allowed to take your room towels to the pool, but pool towels need to be rented. Ridiculous! Also funny things as you get the tv remote from the reception when you check in and have to return it there at check out. Also rooms keys need to be left at the reception when you go out of the hotel.
The rooms are ok a bit on the shabby side, bed beds comfy. Hairdryer in the bathroom is antique. Also there is WiFi but it costs 5€ per device per 24h. Incredible pricing considering WiFi nowadays is free everywhere.
Our room had a huge balcony, which is positive, but it was just above the parking area, so we did not sit there.
Breakfast was good and we even got to select how we want our eggs made and the staff there is really friendly.
Location is good, just a block from the lake. Maybe a place if you plan to stay longer, fill the fridge, buy towels etc. But generically not to my liking and we saw many hotels on our biking trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niinukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpuccini, Proprietario at Hotel Puccini, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ninukka,
The fact that you arrived at 8pm after one day on the ferry depends on how you programmed your trip it doesn't have nothing to do with our hotel. Our hotel is structured for guests that remains here for more days (one - two weeks etc.). Unfortunately guests arriving at 8.00 PM and leaving at 8.00 AM cannot find the pool open. Like in Finland a public pool can operate only with the presence of a life guard and only if the water chemical levels are checked every 2 hours. Sorry we cannot guarantee this service 24h. Is that ridiculous? Usually guests travelling to the lake or sea side take their own beach towels. Room towels cannot be removed from the room. In case a guest doesn't have beach towels, has the possibility to rent them. Do you find this ridiculous? If you were better informed you would know that Wi.Fi. is not free of charge everywhere (Finland is not the word) and in many cases, where it is free of charge the connection is very poor. In our hotel we have a cabled system (that had an important cost) with a server and many access points that guarantee a constant signal with a minimum band and a protected line everywhere in the hotel and the pool. As not more than 20% of our guests need this service (others have their own connection or use our free internet in the lobby) we cannot include maintenance and system costs in the price of the room. Practically you do not pay for Wi.Fi. you just pay to have a protected line with a minimum band wherever you are in the hotel and the pool. Do you find it ridiculous?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited the hotel for a five day trip to Peschiera. Hotel in a lovely quiet location within a ten minute walk to the town centre. Was greeted at reception by the lovely Lisa who was very helpful and efficient at check in. Got a huge family room on the 3rd floor with both pool and lake view which was heaven. The very helpful Peter was also on reception and he was also a 'tour guide' in disguise, with plenty of knowledge of the area and further. He had plenty of time to explain sites and restaurants. This is the perfect size hotel and I felt most suitable for both couples and families. Breakfast was plentiful with great supply and demand. Very personal hotel and felt completely laid back here. Would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Lake Garda.

Room Tip: Request the 'camping side' of the hotel on the 3rd floor as you have a vie of pool and lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent three nights with two kids and grandma mid-June. Excellent location, clean spacious rooms, nice clean pool area, AC which worked much better than in any Hilton etc. I frequently use for business travel and good basic breakfast (for extra cost but worth it as well). Do not expect luxury but this is definitely a great three star hotel which I would choose any time if/when visiting Peschiera. Worth every cent. You also get quick wi-fi for 5€/day which worked really well (there is also free PC for occasional surfing in the lobby). The staff is really helpful and they f.e. gave 10% discount to nearby restaurant which turned out to be the best place we visited and ate there last night as well. The place seemed to be packed every night judging by the amount of the cars we saw from our balcony. The more touristy places in nearby Peschiera oldtown did not come even close...

Warm recommendations from Finnish family from Switzerland!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This Hotel is located close enough to the central area to enjoy the main attraction the town offers yet far enough away not to be distracted with crowds and noise. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel facilites are very good and clean. We made the most of the pool which was clean and plenty of deck chairs to go around. Breakfast was reasonable with good fresh choices. The train station is a 10 minute walk and we made use of it for a day trip to Verona - which was only a short train ride from Peschiera.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Springtimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fantastic welcoming at reception, where we also got a comprehensive overview of the city, sights and good restaurant recommendations. Short walking to the city center and good parking for own car. Rooms are big and clean with big bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This hotell had a nice atmosphere, friendly staf, good and quiet bedrooms and a tasty breakfast - all priceworthy. We recomend it warmly!!! It is situated about 10 min nice walk along the waterfront from city center and very close to the bech.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AsmundL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peschiera del Garda hotels
0.8 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peschiera del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#3 of 29 in Peschiera del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dori
Hotel Dori
#2 of 29 in Peschiera del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acquadolce
Hotel Acquadolce
#5 of 29 in Peschiera del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Al Fiore
Hotel Al Fiore
#11 of 29 in Peschiera del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Olioso
Hotel Olioso
#6 of 29 in Peschiera del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puccini

Property: Hotel Puccini
Address: Via Giacomo Puccini 2, 37019, Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Peschiera del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puccini 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Puccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puccini Lake Garda/Peschiera Del Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing